We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get What You Pay For”
Review of Breckinridge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Breckinridge Inn
Ranked #73 of 102 Hotels in Louisville
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The bad:
This "Inn" is VERY old. I don't beleive it was dirty but because of it's age it comes across dirty. The rooms: Two small full size beds and the matresses seemed very worn out. Also, the rooms were very small. No minifridge and our toilet did not have very good pressure - you also had to wait for it to fill up again from the last flush (which took forever) before it would flush again. The fitness center equipment was very old as well.

The good;
It was CHEAP. We got a group rate of $69/night. However, if it was any more expensive, I wouldn't have stayed. The free breakfast was good and there was something for everyone. The pools were big, which was a benefit for the kids.

Summary: I would not stay here again - too old and didn't seem clean. My kids kept saying it felt haunted.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 421 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

It was very inexpensive. Has a breakfast included that was nice. There is a nice pool and hot tub. It is a short trip to churchill downs, downtown and the zoo. For two nights in Louisville and someone on a budget I thought this was a great place. The walls were a little thin and that could get annoying for a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConorTMcCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is disgusting. Our soccer team stayed here, and we opted to stay elsewhere. My son, however, came here to hang out with his friends for a few hours. During his short time here his cell phone, money and many other belongings were stolen. The doors locks don't work properly. The staff did not care, and did not cooperate with the police when they asked to speak with them regarding their maintenance man as well as their surveillance videos. They refused to return phone calls, and were incredibly rude.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahS5989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I've stayed here before, and booked a night this trip as well. I like that it's an independent hotel and quaint compared to the big chain hotels. It has that southern plantation feel to it. It's an older hotel, with a slight musty smell, but nothing overwhelming. The rooms are spacious, look fairly recently updated. An awesome indoor pool with warm water! It's easy access to the highway, and there are many choices of restaurants less than a half-mile down the street. Continental breakfast was pretty sparse, not even waffles, so we had to go out to eat. My only complaint on this stay was that there was a party going on in several rooms around us, which spilled into the hallway as well and people were yelling and banging on doors and talking loud and laughing all night until about 4:00am. Mangement quieted them down once, but they started back up again after about a half hour. The soundproofing between rooms is good at this hotel, but there is almost no soundproofing on the hallway side of the room, so any hallway noise is enough to keep a person awake. I will definitely stay here again though, just maybe not near the pool.

Room Tip: Try to avoid staying in the wing where the pool is, it seems that's the 'party' wing/eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NTW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed one night at Breckinridge Inn. It was wonderful. The huge indoor pool was heated to a very comfortable temperature. The exercise room was spacious and well equipped. The large king size bedroom was extremely comfortable with lots of soft pillows on the just-right-amount of-firmness mattress. There was plenty of hot water in the shower which had a nice, adjustable nozzle. The staff was attentive and friendly. If I'm ever in Louisville again this is where I will be.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CentralVASassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Took a chance and booked a room for my wife and I while traveling through Louisville on our way to Cleveland Oh, and glad we did. While this may be an older property, the charm and ambience offered were way above other hotels in the area offering the same rates. The rooms were very clean, and tastefully decorated, and the bed was very comfortable. The only negatives we would comment on were, 1. no elevator near our entrance, and 2. The morning breakfast could have been a little better. But overall, we would still recommend this to those who are on a budget, and are looking for an alternative to your traditional budget hotels.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank BobTrewyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My boyfriend decided to book the Breckinridge Inn based on reviews from other travelers and this is now the only place we'll stay when we're in town. The location is PERFECT, right off 264 (Watterson). The room was spacious, clean and reminded me of a southern plantation home. I still can't believe how inexpensive the room was for the value. We heard the pool is amazing but since we only stayed for one night we didn't get a chance to check it out, so it's on our list for next time. Louisville has so many GREAT restaurants and beautiful outdoor attractions (i.e. trails and hiking: Jefferson Memorial Forest, Seneca Park, etc)...I can't wait until our next visit so that we can stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
East Louisville
Best Western Louisville East
Best Western Louisville East
#39 of 102 in Louisville
502 reviews
East Louisville
Red Roof Inn Louisville East
Red Roof Inn Louisville East
#50 of 102 in Louisville
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Louisville
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East
South Side
Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo
East Louisville
Wingate by Wyndham Louisville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breckinridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breckinridge Inn

Address: 2800 Breckenridge Ln, Ky, Louisville, KY 40220-1498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > East Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 102 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range: $69 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Breckinridge Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breckinridge Hotel offers 123 guest rooms. We are a non smoking hotel located just six miles from the Louisville International Airport, Kentucky Fair and Expo Center and Kentucky Kingdom. We are also conveniently located to many restaurants, shopping malls, golf courses and hospitals. Only ten minutes from Churchill Downs, Louisville Zoo, KFC Yum Center and Louisville Slugger Field just to name a few. Enjoy a night at Jerry Greens & Friends with live entertainment, swim in one of our two large pools, relax in the whirlpool or get a massage at Body Integrations located in our Health Club area. Whether its business or pleasure we have something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Breckinridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breckinridge Hotel Louisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing