We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center
Ranked #41 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Skokie, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Repeat stay”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed here before and happily booked again. We were in a room about 5 from the elevator and couldn't hear that noise, however, there was about an inch space between the door and the floor so we could easily hear all the hallway noise. The walls seemed very thin, we heard entire conversations from the room next door to us. The pool was busy but our kids had a great time. We had breakfast at the restaurant, food was okay. I like the idea of a nightlight in the room but the light was so bright and reflected off the full length mirror that it was hard to get our kids to fall asleep.

Room Tip: We booked online ahead and were able to add breakfast for 2 adults for $6 - worth it as the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thazard143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear thazard143
Thank you for taking the time to send in your review of the Crowne Plaza Louisville, we love getting comments from our repeat guest, we are so glad you have a quiet stay and so very sorry that the nightlight was too bright, we truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
John Shake, GM
jshake@cplouisville.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    206
    120
    65
    48
See reviews for
152
89
21
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I booked the hotel on Hotwire a few days prior to our stay for a very good price. We came for a 3 day visit to the area as a mini-vacation. The hotel is huge, and easy to find, as it is right off the freeway near the airport. There was plenty of parking. We arrived late, and were able to check-in easily. The staff was friendly and actually upgraded our room, since I requested a quiet room with King bed. The room was a corner suite with huge separate living room. The room was clean and fairly updated. The bathroom was adequate, very clean. We had breakfast at the restaurant, which was standard fare and pricing was reasonable for a hotel restaurant breakfast (I believe the buffet was $12). We did not have any of the problems that some other reviewers mention regarding large groups. There appeared to be a conference going on, but it did not cause any problems. We visited the hotel bar briefly one evening, and the service was good. We visited Churchill Downs (5 minutes) and downtown Louisville (about 10 minutes). I would not hesitate to stay again and recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coharahawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Cocharahawk,
Thank you so much for your 5 star review of the Crowne Plaza Louisville, always great to hear that our guest find us in a good location and our rooms to be comfortable. We do hope your return again for another mini vacation.

Warm Regards
John Shake, GM
jshake@cplouisville.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

I was booked into the Candlewood Suites and they called to tell me they overbooked by mistake ! They sent me to a comped room at the Crown Plaza which I wasn't pleased about since there was a State HOSA high school meeting and a dog show in addition. Turned out rooms were newly renovated and were very comfortable and clean . Food at the bar was great...salads were HUGE. Only problem was that shower took well over. 15 minutes to get anywhere near warm , let alone HOT!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Lexy57 thank you for your 5 star rating and the great review! We are so happy that we you weren't disappointed in the Crowne Plaza Louisville, Look forward to you staying again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radcliff, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed because of the proximity to the airport, but wish I'd known that a BMX even was taking place at the Expo. I know hotels can only do so much to control their guests, but really think they could have upped security knowing a group like this was going to be in house. My family and I were nearly run over in the parking lot, and then the driver got out and threatened me further because he thought I said something to him (I was simply telling my daughter to watch out since he wasn't slowing down). Mgmt wasn't very apologetic about the incident either, and was quick to state that they can't control their guests.

Also, it took 3 hours to get a pizza. They were busy, but that is ridiculous. Mgmt did give me a discount and some extra points for the inconvenience though.

Having worked in hospitality for nearly 15 years, I understand how quickly a hotel can get overwhelmed. Otherwise I would have scored them lower.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joshua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for contacting us regarding your recent stay . On Behalf of the hotel, please accept my apologies for the problems encountered with the groups in house and the wait time on your order during your recent stay in our hotel. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us, the feedback we receive enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.
On behalf of the Crowne Plaza Louisville Airport, we appreciate you staying with us and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Served as keynote spkr at an event there. After learning of my 2-hour flight delay, hotel's banquet mgr (Amy F) traveled in the hotel shuttle to the airport to greet me and ensure that my needs were met. She offered to bring me a snack while I changed for the event (30minutes window); she printed my speech and hand-delivered to my room, walked me to correct banquet room, and even checked on me the next morning. The king suite with a fridge was quite roomy, two vanity counters, large closet, 2 work tables. Wish I could have stayed there longer. Check-out clerk was very courteous and double-checked that my stay was pleasant, which it was. Also, the banquet staff at the dinner was terrific and attentive (one even gave me some aspirin for a stress headache!) Clean, nice public areas, close to airport. My room was paid for by someone else so can't comment on value, but I'd guess worth the price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebunnyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to send in your review of the Crowne Plaza Louisville, we are so pleased that you had such a wonderful experience and that Amy was here to see you through your event, we do hope that you will return again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, California
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

For at least ten years now, I've stayed at the Crown Plaza (formerly the Executive Inn West) in connection with the Show of Shows militaria show at the Expo Center. We have usually had a room with two king size beds, which is very spacious and more than adequate to the needs of two persons for $100-110 per night double occupancy. There's free Wi-Fi, so none of the BS fees that so-called prestigious hotels and those in Vegas are somehow able to get away with charging. The restaurant is adequate, but better dining is only available by traveling downtown or elsewhere. The evening buffet is way over priced at $27, although I've had the breakfast buffet and I recall it being more moderately priced. Service, however, at the restaurant is usually friendly and attentive even at the busiest of times. Access to the Expo Center is easy, with shuttles running "on demand" throughout the day. On a nice weather day, it's even possible to walk back to the hotel in about ten minutes. The convenience store in the hotel is small and carries most "necessaries" needed by guests. There's also a small "snack bar" adjacent to the restaurant for those not wanting a full-blown meal in the restaurant. The hotel usually distributes USA Today to each room, but those wanting a quality newspaper will have to have the shuttle take them to the airport, where there is a newsstand just inside the doors with a full selection of major newspapers, such as the Wall street Journal. Lastly, the business center available to guests enables them to print out e-mails, boarding passes, etc. during their stay. The hotel is only minutes from the airport and the shuttle will make pickups with a simple call. The proximity of the airport, while a virtue, is also a downside due to the noise of the jets taking off. However, a set of earplugs can eliminate that noise and annoyance for most sleepers. All-in-all a convenient and satisfactory place to stay while at Expo Center events. I'll be back in fact in June for another convention at the Expo Center.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's a distance form the elevators, which are loud and obnoxious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review, we are so pleased that you found everything you needed in our hotel or nearby, we look forward to your return,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heflin AL
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here while we were attending the Louisville Gun Show and the hotel was full. But our stay was great from check-in with Adam till check-out. We were not bothered with airplane noises as we expected. The amenities were very nice and the bed was comfortable. We had a king suite and we really enjoyed the way the room was laid out. The room was spotlessly clean and we could have not asked for more. Don't hesitate to stay here! We will be back!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank yarmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nona826, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review of the Crowne Plaza Louisville, we are so pleased that you had a great experience from check in (with Adam) to check out and that you enjoyed the comfortable bed and the amenities available. We do look forward to you returning,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
South Side
Courtyard Louisville Airport
Courtyard Louisville Airport
#45 of 97 in Louisville
250 reviews
Fairgrounds
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Airport
Fairgrounds
Residence Inn Louisville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairgrounds
SpringHill Suites Louisville Airport
Fairgrounds
Hampton Inn Louisville Airport
Fairgrounds
Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center
Address: 830 Phillips Ln, Louisville, KY 40209-1330
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Fairgrounds , South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Louisville
#24 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#40 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 588
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of old-fashioned Southern hospitality at Crowne Plaza Louisville. We re located in the heart of Louisville, just minutes from the Louisville International Airport and major attractions like Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom, the Louisville Zoo, and the Kentucky Exposition Center. Take advantage of complimentary shuttle service. In true Southern style, we provide all guests with free rides to the airport and any destinations located within a three-mile radius of the hotel. Experience the difference a little extra space can make in our stylish guest rooms or magnificent suites. Featuring amenities like free high-speed wired and wireless Internet, well-lit, generously-sized work desks, flat-screen televisions, in-room movies, and coffeemakers, they're the perfect place to work or relax. With 28 meeting rooms and an incredible 55,000 square feet of flexible space, Crowne Plaza truly is The Place to Meet. Hold business conferences, wedding receptions, and social events in our world-class facilities. Cool off in the indoor/outdoor pool, or work out in our fitness center. Take care of tasks quickly by visiting the on site business center. Visit the Blue Horse to sip a night cap or have a hearty meal. Get a good night s sleep, get to Louisville s favorites hot spots, and get some assistance from your meetings director to make that on site business or social event a success all at Crowne Plaza Louisville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport Ky Expo Louisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing