We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Batter up”

Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory
Ranked #2 of 172 things to do in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Batter up! It takes a special place to craft the #1 Bat in Major League Baseball. At Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory, experience history-in-the-making as you stroll through the actual factory where world-famous Louisville Slugger bats are created. The award-winning factory tour is a highlight of the visit here, but there's plenty more to enjoy along with it. Admire the World's Biggest Bat - stretching 120 feet into the sky. Hold bats actually used by baseball superstars like Mickey Mantle, Johnny Bench, Cal Ripken Jr. And Derek Jeter. Face down a 90-mph fastball hurled by a major league pitcher. Count the homerun notches Babe Ruth carved into his Louisville Slugger bat for every home run he hit with it. Step into the batting cages and take some swings with a replica model of your hero's bat. Guests even get a free miniature souvenir bat at the end of the factory tour. You can even create a bat with your own name on it, just like the pros. They make great gifts for all kinds of special occasions, from newborn babies, to groomsmen gifts, to team trophies and more. The museum store is also loaded with lots of sporty merchandise for every budget. Be sure to swing by! Please visit our official website for up-to-date hours and admission prices.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Batter up”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

It is neat to be able to tour the facility and see how the bats are made. If you are a baseball history buff they have a lot of historical information as well as exhibits.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bestreview713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,909
    1,221
    228
    21
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Far more interesting than I had imagined.”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We visited here as part of my recovery from an accident involving a baseball bat. Not knowing what to expect of the tour and the displays I can not speak of my expectations. I can however say that I am certain they did not include such a through and up close experience to the bat making process. I love that everyone on the tour had ample time and opportunity to see everything and hear the explanations for them.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BigDogCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Visit! Even if not a baseball fan!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We went down to Louisville for a concert and decided to make a weekend trip out of it. We needed something short to do and the website said allow 2 hours to visit the museum. We actually ended up staying almost 3! I'm not into sports but found the history and tour to be very interesting! The place was well maintained and clean. I would highly suggest a visit!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank KCorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A MUST STOP FOR BASEBALL FANS OF ALL AGES!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

One of the iconic implements of the baseball at all levels is the Louisville Slugger baseball bat. Anyone who truly loves baseball, real baseball, detests the "clunk" of those stupid aluminum bats which are used today, I guess for safety or economical reasons. At any rate, if you've ever been curious as to how those wonderful bats are made, this is the place for you. You'll have a chance to tour the manufacturing line and see the bats being made right before your eyes and learn more arcane details about bats then you thought existed. Following your tour, you can go into a rotunda where bats of the famous players of history can be seen in display cases. The museum is located downtown, within easy walking distance to two other fine museums, which I have reviewed elsewhere on Trip Advisor.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
286 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Unique in the world”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I have never been to a bat museum and I don't know if others even exist. Watch them being made. Louisville Slugger makes this interesting. If you are even mildly interested in baseball, this is a museum not to be missed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Smokey1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory also viewed

 

Been to Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing