We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit for baseball lovers.”

Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory
Ranked #2 of 176 things to do in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Batter up! It takes a special place to craft the #1 Bat in Major League Baseball. At Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory, experience history-in-the-making as you stroll through the actual factory where world-famous Louisville Slugger bats are created. The award-winning factory tour is a highlight of the visit here, but there's plenty more to enjoy along with it. Admire the World's Biggest Bat - stretching 120 feet into the sky. Hold bats actually used by baseball superstars like Mickey Mantle, Johnny Bench, Cal Ripken Jr. And Derek Jeter. Face down a 90-mph fastball hurled by a major league pitcher. Count the homerun notches Babe Ruth carved into his Louisville Slugger bat for every home run he hit with it. Step into the batting cages and take some swings with a replica model of your hero's bat. Guests even get a free miniature souvenir bat at the end of the factory tour. You can even create a bat with your own name on it, just like the pros. They make great gifts for all kinds of special occasions, from newborn babies, to groomsmen gifts, to team trophies and more. The museum store is also loaded with lots of sporty merchandise for every budget. Be sure to swing by! Please visit our official website for up-to-date hours and admission prices.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Lake in the Hills, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to visit for baseball lovers.”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We'd been there before but this time took the kids. None of my kids are big baseball fans, so the memorabilia was not of much interest to them, but they all said they enjoyed the factory tour. Sometime in the last few years they added a section (which everyone liked) where they have some baseball stadiums and other baseball related things built completely out of Legos. Some were very detailed, including a replica of Miller stadium complete with a working roof. Price is fair and they have a nice gist shop for the baseball lover. You can even get a personalized bat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,058
    1,286
    242
    22
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Not bad, but crowded!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the time there, but it was crowded, and the place isn't really geared to handle large quantities of people.
They "ran out" of custom bats the day we were there.....how can you "run out".....you make them by the thousands???!!!
All in all, I give them an average grade. Cool to see, but don't go a long ways out the way to get there or plan a vacation around them.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mjldly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouisvilleSluggerMus, Museum Director at Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us and that you feel our attraction is "cool to see." The spring and summer are our busiest times of the year and the crowds are larger. We are always evaluating the tour experience, especially during our peak season, and looking for ways to improve on it so we really appreciate your feedback. We hate to hear you experienced a shortage with the personalized bats. From time to time certain models are out of stock. We are disappointed when this occurs and try to never let it happen. I'm sorry it did during your visit. Happy and safe travels to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Charles, MO
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was a lot of fun! My kids enjoyed the tour and the exhibits. They have a special exhibit right now of famous ballparks made out of Legos. Well worth a stop!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank badlandsbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Must see for baseball fans”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

It was very interesting to learn how they make the bats and how the process has evolved over the years. Anyone who is a baseball fan should take the time to make the trip to the factory and museum.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank laura_h_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stop for the cost”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

If you even wondered how much goes into making every wood bat, or even seen a wood bat being swung at a baseball this is a great price to go.

For the cost it's very informative and simple. Shows exactly how the bats are made, what goes into picking the wood for each bat, and the care of the wood.

Defiantly would go back again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank t_frank_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory also viewed

 

Been to Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing