We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good night sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center
Ranked #44 of 94 Hotels in Louisville
Enola, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good night sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The room accommodations were very good and the mattress on the bed could not be beat for comfort. The pool looked very nice but my husband and I forgot our suits. everyone we met was friendly and very helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky25_retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSDF, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Becky - Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking time to review our hotel. I am so glad to hear you had a good night sleep! We appreciate your kind words in regards to our staff and pool.

Kindest Regards,
Brooke Potter, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    49
    20
    7
    9
See reviews for
35
29
9
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
313 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Staff was welcoming upon arrival and helpful throughout the stay with directions, dining recommendations, and printing documents. Great location for getting to Papa John Stadium, and walking distance to Churchill Downs. You can get food in the hotel (didn't try it) and a few fast food places within walking distance. Not particularly adjacent to the airport but very near. Room was clean and everything worked. All in all, great value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSDF, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us! I am so glad to hear you thought our staff was friendly. We do have a great location within block of Churchill Downs, Papa Johns Cardinal Stadium, Kentucky Fair/Expo Center and the reopened Kentucky Kingdom! We hope to see you soon.

Kindest Regards,
Brooke Potter, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I am very loyal to Holiday Inn chain but that's about to change. I just experienced a similar experience at a Holiday Inn Express in South Carolina and its simply unacceptable. This most recent experience prompted me to post an appropriate review to my last stay in Holiday Inn Louisville in february-march of 2014. I know for fact I left my brand new 80-dollar sweater in a room on a chair, I called the hotel less than 5 hours after I checked out and they informed me that it was never found and never reported to the front desk by house keeper. I've traveled to third world countries and never had such bad experience, those people are poor but they never assume a forgotten property is now their own.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lixonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
270 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Not only close to the airport but also close to Churchill Downs. Room was roomy and clean, beds were comfortable. Had wi-fi included and free parking. Better than average for a this level of hotel. Downside is that there is not too many eating places in walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoBertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSDF, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for your recent review about the Holiday Inn Louisville Airport Fair/Expo Center. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we'll see you again in the future. Keep in mind that we do have an AM and PM Restaurant onsite with a great menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night and it was very clean and felt new. The pool is very small, the picture makes it look larger than it is and only 5 ppl are allowed in at one time. We arrived late evening and check in was a breeze. Snacks & drinks are available next to the check in desk for purchase which was nice. Overall a nice hotel, you won't be disappointed!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mpat81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSDF, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
mpat81,

Thank you for your staying with us on your recent trip to Louisville, KY. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the staff took care of you. We value our guests feedback and will pass this information along to the stay. We look forward to seeing you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
188 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a recent business trip. Very good location, right by airport but very close to other attractions. Amusement and water park almost across the street, Churchill Downs right down the road and short trip to downtown.

Hotel is relatively new. Room was spacious and very clean. Bed was extremely comfortable. Bathroom is small but more importantly it was clean. The only thing I didn't like was bathroom door is heavy and so automatically closes which is kind of annoying if you're just jumping in to wash your hands or brush your teeth. The iron was fantastic, some hotels' irons never work well but this one was great.

Indoor pool is small but sufficient. Lobby area is spacious and well decorated. Staff were always friendly and accommodating.

The only negative was with breakfast. First morning had the buffet and was underwhelmed with choices. Next morning I decided to order off the menu and my server seemed annoyed that I didn't just go for the buffet. Had to ask a few times for a glass of juice and I think she forgot about me since didn't see her until I let her know I was leaving.

Overall though very pleased and will definitely stay here when I return.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mdtinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSDF, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your recent review about the Holiday Inn. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to apologize for your experience in our restaurant. This is not the service that we strive to provide to all of our guests. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be passed along to make sure that improvements are made. Thank you once again, and we hope you choose to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
170 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel after a week in KY because we had an early flight out of the Louisville airport the next morning. Built in 2006, the hotel still feels brand new and our hotel room felt substantial and almost luxurious for this level of hotel. The lobby is pretty and modern and there's a convenient restaurant/bar right off it. The bonus was that the Oscar Mayer Wienermobile was parked in the parking lot: great photo pops and the desk clerk gave us free OM whistles! The staff was very accommodating and arranged a cab which the hotel paid for as we had to be at the airport at 7 am which was when the hotel shuttle started. We could see Churchill Downs in the distance from our room, and the hotel was easy to get to from downtown. My only caveat is that we could hear planes from in our room even at midnight; not sure if this is an every day occurrence or runway-dependent. This didn't bother us at all, but I think it could bother light sleepers. We were on the second floor. The staff might recommend the best room for light sleepers.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pthomas156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnSDF, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your review about the Holiday Inn Louisville Airport Fair/Expo Center. It makes me happy to hear that you loved your stay with us, and the staff was lived up to your expectations. Hopefully we'll see the Oscar Mayer Wiener Mobile again! Everyone really seemed to enjoy the fact that they were here. Thank you for your business, and I hope you choose to stay with us on your next trip to Louisville, KY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Fairgrounds
Four Points by Sheraton Louisville Airport
Fairgrounds
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Airport
Fairgrounds
Hampton Inn Louisville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairgrounds
SpringHill Suites Louisville Airport
Ramada Louisville Expo Center
#62 of 94 in Louisville
3.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
South Side
Courtyard Louisville Airport
Courtyard Louisville Airport
#45 of 94 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center

Property: Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center
Address: 447 Farmington Ave, Louisville, KY 40209-1133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Fairgrounds , South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to One of the Best of Louisville Airport Hotels! Set in the heart of Louisville's convention, sports and airport districts, the newly built, smoke free Holiday Inn Hotel at Louisville Airport - Fair / Expo has an ideal location. We're less than a mile from the Louisville International Airport (SDF) and near the attractions and businesses of Louisville, KY. Our hotel is a few miles from attractions like Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom and the world-famous Churchill Downs & Kentucky Derby Museum. You can spend the day cheering for the University of Louisville's Cardinals at Papa John's Cardinal Stadium or visiting Freedom Hall at the Kentucky Fair & Expo Center across the street from our hotel. The Louisville Zoo and local parks are just a few miles away. Business travelers benefit from our hotel's location near the Kentucky Fair & Expo Center, UPS, Ford, Brown & Williams, Louisville Naval Ordnance Station, the University of Louisville and other businesses in Louisville. Lodging here gives you access to our 1,892 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space and a 24-hour business center. Our exceptional hotel in Louisville features Kem's Cafe & Lounge, an indoor, heated pool and a 24-hour fitness center. For a well-appointed room with free high-speed Internet access, triple-sheeted bedding, a 32-inch LCD HDTV, a large work area, a microwave and a refrigerator, call our Louisville, KY hotel today to reserve a room for your next stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, IHG and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Airport And Fair/Expo Center
Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Hotel Louisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing