We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Homemade Ice Cream and Pie Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 25 Bakeries in Louisville
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Free Off-Street Parking, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: East Louisville
Description: Since 1982 we have been Louisville's bakery and fresh churned ice cream shop. We make all of our baked goods and ice cream from scratch. We are only ice cream shop in Kentucky that churns 100% from scratch. We buy all of our dairy locally and pledge to use dairy free of growth hormones.Stop in and try our award winning caramel dutch apple pie, or old fashion cakes, cupcakes and cookies.We are open 7 days a week. Family owned and run for over 30 years!
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Overated but fun experience? Over priced for icecream.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
246 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Chocolate Pie”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

After dinner tonight, my wife and I traveled to the Shelbyville Road "Pie Kitchen" (in Louisville,KY) for our dessert. She ordered butterscotch pie and I ordered chocolate. We both had coffee.
It was excellent, we talked about how much is was like we had while growing up, "pie that Mom made". It was good! They had an "A" rating from the health department, it was clean and comfortable. Service was fast and the price was total $10.00.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Broke-and-Hungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
154 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Will put a dent in your wallet”
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

The pies here are pretty good. Not like home-made but better than a buffet line. The ice cream is not so hot. If you bring a family of four, be prepared to spend over $30 for four slices and a little ice cream. The Dutch apple with the "caramel" topping is my favorite.

Helpful?
Thank Mojofishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
259 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Best birthday cake ever!”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

As an extra special treat for my 60th birthday, my wife decided to try our local Homemade Ice cream & Pie Kitchen instead of another bakery. The cake was super moist, beautifully decorated just the way she wanted. Very creative and colorful. If that was not enough, the taste was out of this world!
I highly recommend this well-run chain for special occasion cakes. We froze the left-over section and enjoy it every once and a while.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank MRbluegill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“All I can say is Burbon Chocolate Pecan Pie!!”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

The title is all I need to say! But if you must know more, we actually went to the other one that was in Shelbyville, but their are both equally wonderful!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank orangeelephant87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Homemade Ice Cream and Pie Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Homemade Ice Cream and Pie Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing