We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great shakes and service always good.”

Homemade Ice Cream & Pie Kitchen
Ranked #20 of 48 Dessert in Louisville
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Neighborhood: Highlands
Description: Since 1982 we have been Louisville's bakery and fresh churned ice cream shop. We make all of our baked goods and ice cream from scratch. We are only ice cream shop in Kentucky that churns 100% from scratch. We buy all of our dairy locally and pledge to use dairy free of growth hormones.Stop in and try our award winning caramel dutch apple pie, or old fashion cakes, cupcakes and cookies.We are open 7 days a week. Family owned and run for over 30 years!
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great shakes and service always good.”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Love their ice cream and shakes (only complaint is ice chips in ice cream more than I like). Lots of flavors all homemade.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jerry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    33
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Attitude”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place has a name in Louisville - however the owner leaves a lot to be desired. We observed him being nasty to his employees without cause.. The pies are frozen and the pricing is over the top.. Try another place...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travel4fun777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dessertfan, Owner at Homemade Ice Cream & Pie Kitchen, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
As the owner I am very proud of our staff and the fact we have been in business 30 years. I treat everyone with great respect and have been an active and generous figure in our community for years. I am proud that we have staff that has been a part of our family for over 25 years, this says a lot.

Our entire staff takes pride in making everything ourselves and we are proud that we make premium handmade products. We welcome positive comments as well constructive criticism. Please feel free to contact me or any of our staff anytime to address any concern.

Adam Burckle, Owner
(502) 855-7437
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

So many choices! you just want to choose all of them. I enjoyed their cherry pie. and their Buckeyes were quite good as well!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank NeoNurse22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sweet Treats”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

After eating dinner with my friends, we love to finish off the evening with something sweet. Everything we go here, we have to stand in front of the case for 10 minutes deciding on which delicious treat we will indulge in. We are never disappointed!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank AS40208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Decent ice cream; great pies”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Their forte is there cakes and pies which although pricey are quite good. The ice cream is decent, but it's not Graeter's or Comfy Cow.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Gent258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Homemade Ice Cream & Pie Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Homemade Ice Cream & Pie Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing