We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manager/owner walked in on me...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Louisa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Louisa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Louisa
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Manager/owner walked in on me...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Can I give it zero stars? I stayed in this hotel two nights and on the second night around 7:15pm I heard a hard knock and then a man barged into my room. I'm almost positive it was the owner or manager. He gave really no explanation and didn't even apologize. He was rude, inconsiderate and sarcastic. His only explanation was that he was told the room was vacant - obviously their computer system isn't very sophisticated. I stay in hotels a lot for work (I stayed in hotels over 100 nights in the last year) and have never had anything like this happen before. I will never stay in a Best Western again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank UKY2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusLouisa, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Louisa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
The staff and I at BEST WESTERN Plus Louisa would like to apologize for the distubance during your most recent stay. The owner and contractors were doing a "walk through" of the hotel and your room was listed. The owner followed hotel policy by knocking on the door and announcing himself. He did apologize when you met the group at the door, as the owner was unaware the room was occupied. This incident is not typical of the service we normally provide. Again we are sorry for the disturbance and we hope you accept our sincere apologies and will give us another chance to serve you in the future.

Regards,
Jamie Blanton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    17
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
30
9
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grundy, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

As a business traveler, I stay away from home often. The hotel is always clean, well maintained and ran by a terrific group of people. Everyone is so helpful and concerned about making your stay as nice as possible. I have stayed in several of the rooms and each one has been clean and well decorated. The breakfast always has numerous items and is presented well. The rates for the room are comparable to other hotels of this quality and I thought is was well wroth the price. The hotel has a indoor swimming pool and exercise room that really come in handy. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone not getting to sleep in their own bed. It is the next best thing !

I could not help but read the other comments and i was shocked the read about the traveler with the dog. This hotel is a "no pets allowed" hotel. This is planly marked...and yes I saw the dog with my own eyes. I overheard the cleaning staff talking that one of them stepped in the dog waste. So I guess if they still deny having a dog, one of them uses the bathroom in the floor. go figure. I guess if i where the owner, i would want to "whip some [--]" myself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thompson206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband and I spent one night at this motel in Sept 2012 and I must say.... We were both pleasantly surprised. Our room on the third floor was extremely clean, well appointed and very nicely decorated. The bed was the quality of a much more expensive hotel. The breakfast was wonderful: waffles, eggs, stewed apples, biscuits, toast, bagels, yoghurt, cereals, fruit, juices, and great coffee. Not sure what more one could expect. Without a doubt, THE best Best Western we have ever stayed in. Louisa may be a small town but this motel is certainly not what you would expect of a small town motel.

Room Tip: The third floor was very quiet and extremely clean. Even caught a slight hint of the "new cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingRPhDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

My stay was a very nice stay. The beds are the most comfortable I have every slept in at a hotel. The hotel was nicely decorated and clean. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, from the point of check-in throughout my stay and even check-out was a breeze. I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone asking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Del H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed there last week during work in the area. Accomodations were adequate with very comfortable bed, a microwave, and mini frig. They have a fitness room, and an indoor pool and hot tub that I used. They were nice. The hotel was clean and well kept, but the main floor had a bad oder. Fortunately, this smell did not make it to the rooms. Breakfast was good with a good variety of items and friendly service. If in the area I would choose this hotel again. I just hope the main floor smells better.

Room Tip: If you are not an early riser, choose a room on the side of the hotel opposite the main entrance...t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lowcountry101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

My experience with this hotel is one that I have never had with any other merchant. They falsely charged my wife and I for damages to the room that did not occur. They accused us of having a pet when we did not. They claimed they seen us on camera but would not show me any evidence (because there wasn't any). Long story short, I had to pay the fee. Worst part is, they accused me of lying for over a month. Finally the owner agreed to refund me the money until he saw a TripAdvisor post I previously posted. He then called me and cussed me! He said, "Come up here and I will whip your [--]!" JUST BECAUSE I TOLD WHAT HAPPENED during my visit. Either the hotel staff is incompetent and made a bad mistake or they are scamming people. I would try the hotel across the street. The owner also bragged on the phone about being a millionaire and said he would slander my name because of this post. On a positive note, the bed is comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Zero2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Manager's and staff will scam you!! The owner just threaten to "whip my husbands ***" over the $125 they are falsely accusing us of for having a dog that was in Tennessee. Said GD over and over. Worst ran business I have ever seen.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kcbunny06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louisa
18.4 mi away
Ramada Limited Catlettsburg/Ashland
23.7 mi away
Days Inn Paintsville
Days Inn Paintsville
#2 of 3 in Paintsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
23.6 mi away
Ramada Paintsville Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashland
Hampton Inn Ashland
#1 of 10 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
21.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 3 in South Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
19.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Louisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Louisa

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Louisa
Address: 18199 Highway 23, Louisa, KY 41230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Louisa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Louisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Louisa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Best Western and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Louisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing