We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour! Beautiful grounds!”
Review of Maker's Mark

Maker's Mark
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.00*
and up
Bourbon Trail Tour to Makers Mark, Four Roses and Alltech
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Loretto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Watch a sour mash ferment in giant cypresswood vats on its way to becoming that heavenly Kentucky bourbon at this distillery.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great tour! Beautiful grounds!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We saved Maker's Mark for last because it's my husbands favorite bourbon. The grounds are beautiful and I love the black and red barn buildings. The "house" where the tour starts has maker's mark coffee and interactive pictures and it's so cute and fun. The carriage house, where the cafe is, has to die for potato salad! We were actually so inspired by the property, we came home and renovated our bar room in the style of makers mark.

Helpful?
Thank April07showers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,089
    218
    44
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sagamore Hills, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Talking Pictures”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Yep, the pictures talked in the waiting area and that was BEFORE the tasting!!! We were on the last tour of the day and it felt rushed and some of the machinery had stopped. For the fee charged, we felt it was overpriced. The grounds were attractively decorated for the Christmas holidays. The gift shop offered many interesting items.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank froglady607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, OR
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Maker's Mark distillery in Loretto KY”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We visited Maker's Mark in early September 2012. Free attraction which surprised me. Very, very friendly and knowledgeable staff and tour guide. House is immaculate and old kitchen is wonderful. Most interesting tour which explained history of property and explanation of distillery process. Great tasting room as well. I loved the gift shop and bought some great gifts. Didn't dip though; maybe next time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must see for Bourbon lovers!!!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is part of the Bourbon tour. The tour is $7.00 and well worth it. They show you everything. If one likes you can actually hand dip your own Maker's Mark bottle. It's a lot of fun. My wife and I can't wait to go back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank zoso1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Must see attraction for Bourbon lovers!!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We actually went to Louisville especially for this place because of my finance's 25th birthday. We loved it so much we both became ambassadors and got our name put on a barrel of whiskey! We will definitely be back sometime. The day of the tour was cold but sunny and it was perfect for seeing the amazing landscape around the distillery. The whole area of the whiskey trail is just perfect and although its a lengthy drive to the actual distillery it is sooo worth it. The people at the distillery were so friendly and hospitable and the tour itself was incredibly interesting and informative. The tour ran about an hour and we spent some time in the gift shop afterwards where you can buy a bottle of Maker's Mark and dip it in the trademark wax yourself! If you are picking up your ambassador bottles you can even get a seal on it specifically saying so. They also had a tasting at the end of the tour with their traditional bourbon, a special white bourbon that they only sell at the distillery, and a newer bourbon called Maker's Mark 46. They go through each bourbon and tell you about what to expect and the process of making it. The whole trip was so interesting. I would DEFINITELY recommend this place to anyone even if you don't particularly drink bourbon or whiskey.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank weekendtripper42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maker's Mark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing