We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“history”

Camp Wildcat Battlefield
Ranked #3 of 8 things to do in London
Attraction details
morrison tn
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“history”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Wow, it sounds great. What did you like about it? a little hard to get to, but if you like history, than visit

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank scsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    16
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An interesting piece of history.”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Very pretty drive up to the battlefield, but very rustic road. One-lane most of the way and the road itself was in pretty bad shape. If you are very particular about your car, this is not for you. Once you park at the battlefield, there are boards that have a lot of information about the battlefield and the park. There are restrooms available. We were lucky that there were some members of the battlefield association there and they explained to us about the battle and pointed out the knob that was some distance away. Not sure we'd have gotten as much info out of it without their explanation. The young, fit members of our group hiked up to the cannon and they report that it is quite a hike -- this part is not for you if you are not physical. However, the dog enjoyed it and came home with a tick -- yuck!

Thank you to the folks that have put in so much time and effort into providing this history experience for our young people. Opportunities like this are very important, especially as time goes on and the distance from the event increases.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mommasavannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sept trip”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We got there too late in the day to do the hike. But the information at the actual park was very interesting. Very pretty drive into the park.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Point, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent piece of history”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We found this out of the way place on our drive back from Tennessee to Indiana, we have three kids who need to get out of the car and stretch their legs every once in a while. We thoroughly enjoyed the time we spent here. We walked the 3/4 mile gravel trail to the top of Hoosier Knob where the battle took place. Very few soldiers actually died here. We took a short cut from the top back through the woods and cut our hike a lot on the way back. At the top of the knob you can still see the trench that the soldiers dug. Every little bit on the trail were signs telling you about the battle and what happened. There is a cannon on top of the hill also. We also walked down to the spring, which was only 300 feet from the beginning of the trail. This side trip was beautiful and informative if you are at all interested in the civil war. I was going to post pictures, but all of my pictures are larger than trip advisor allows.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Eugenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“civil war buffs”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

beautiful property .maintained roads. Interesting to see how rough and tough the men must have been to handle the grounds the had to travel back in the days.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank gary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camp Wildcat Battlefield also viewed

 

Been to Camp Wildcat Battlefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing