We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best burger in Case County!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wagon Trail

The Wagon Trail
Ranked #6 of 13 Restaurants in Liberty
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Description: WE ARE CURRENTLY CLOSED FOR THE SEASON AND WILL RE-OPEN IN APRIL.The owners decided to venture into the food industry after Nathan lost his job in December 2011. “We were looking for something we could do as a family.” The Sizemores have eight children from 3-21 years old. Some of the children help out with the restaurant. “Rebecca is our main baker; she loves it and she’s excellent." The name The Wagon Trail came about for a number of reasons. “We live in the Mennonite area and all the wagons go right down here, so it’s kind of the wagon trail. A lot of people eat here because they want to sit and watch the horse and buggies go by.” Secondly, Amy, born in Danville, and Nathan, born in Oregon, moved out here from the northwest state in 2005. They hit the wagon trail, so to speak.Top sellers are the 1/2 lb. burgers and gourmet sandwiches made on homemade buns which are baked fresh daily. Soups, chili, and other homemade concoctions top the list, as well as pizza, hot dogs, salads and desserts. Sides include made-to-order coleslaw, potato wedges, chips, and a few more seasonal veggies and fruit. The restaurant features various desserts such as four-berry sundaes, brownies and a variety of homemade pies offered daily as specials. Fruit shakes are available in season. Almost everything is made from scratch. We also have gluten-free wraps and can help you make heart healthy and diabetic friendly choices.Fridays are fish days! We've got the best tasting catfish dinner at the most reasonable price for counties around. With an abundance of produce grown nearby, it is purchased as close to the farm as it gets from Lavern's Country Market. And the wheat bread is made with fresh ground wheat grown organically by a neighbor Mennonite farmer.The western-theme building has covered picnic tables in front. A corn hole game and a couple sets of real horseshoes are set up to play. When the weather gets a bit chilly or breezy, come into the covered porch area and enjoy a relaxed meal with friends or new acquaintances. We are wheelchair accessible. If you have any special requests please let us know and we will do our best to accommodate your needs.
Liberty
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best burger in Case County!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We ate hamburgers that were the best I ever had. Highly recommend going. The area is beautiful and an easy drive to get there .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    0
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

i stopped here while visiting my inlaws in liberty and the food was great!! service was outstanding and the people are very nice. i would recomend this place to anyone looking for a great burger made with a home made bun!

Helpful?
Thank cowboyk89
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Summerville, Georgia
1 review
“Great Homemade buns!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Dale and Dianne from Georgia



Very friendly service.The next time we go to the Amish auction we will be back. Great food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dale s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Good job,Wagon Trail staff. Excellent food and service, all in one great location.Definitely recommend this establishment to visitors or and the local community.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank martinsannna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, with great service and good prices.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

As a hydraulic parts sales rep, I travel through many cities and towns all across both Kentucky and Tennessee and this is my favorite place to get a sandwhich, bar none. From the freshly baked buns, to the top notch ingredients everything tastes fantastic.

The friendly service is the best reason to go here though. This roadside cafe has a nice quirky and friendly atmosphere that simply draws you back time and time again, and the food never dissappoints to match the service.

Even as someone who normally avoids too much fried food (but I do have a soft spot for good fried fish, chicken, and mushrooms) the quality of the fried foods here are unbeatable, never being greasy, overfried, or underdone.

I've been back many times (first came across the place in the fall of 2012) for lunch during my work-week and have brought my wife and kids over to the cafe from Somerset on a few Saturdays for a meal as its well worth the drive!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JacobOneall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allsizepro, Owner at The Wagon Trail, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review! We love making our customers happy, happy, happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wagon Trail also viewed

 

Been to The Wagon Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing