We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Decent night's stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #40 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Decent night's stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I struggled with giving this place three or four stars. We recently spent two nights here: once traveling north to see family, and then again on the way back.

On the plus side. The hotel is conveniently located off of the interstate, right in the middle of a shopping/restaurant district. McDonalds is literally across the street. Starbucks is within 5 minutes for those who like to get their day started that way. Check in was quick and the desk staff was friendly and professional. Rooms have been recently redecorated and are outfitted with microwaves, mini fridge and a coffee maker (though the quality of the coffee should be listed as a minus. Remember, Starbucks is close if you MUST have your fix.) The room was generally clean.

On the minus side. We stayed on the second floor both nights. We were to the right of the elevator one night, to the left the other. Elevator noise was not a problem, but a seating area in front of the elevator was a natural congregating place. We could hear the conversations word for word in our room. If you were father down the halls you could avoid this problem, I suppose, so you might want to request a room down the way. While the rooms had been redecorated, they were still not in good shape. A large, red stain was in the carpet of one room. The walls were pretty beat up in both. However, those things were minor compared to the room odor. In the first, there was a mild, smokey/musty smell which I just chalked up to the realities of an older motel. However, the second night we were suddenly overwhelmed with the smell of cigarette smoke. It seemed strongest in the bathroom so I assume it was coming through the vent duct work. Turning on the exhaust fan (and closing the bathroom door) seemed to take care of the problem.

Was the room safe, clean and comfortable? Yes. However, the overall condition of the rooms and the odors - especially considering the room rate - keeps this one from getting a higher rating from me.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator/sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    49
    29
    16
    5
See reviews for
42
44
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Our motorcycle group from Cleveland Ohio rode down to do the kentucky bourbon trail! The staff had worked with us on our stay since feb. 2013. They were very nice and welcoming. The area is very nice, safe and convenient for anything that you need. Beds, pillows are comfortable. Shower pressure is ok. The hallway on the 3 floor smelled like smoke when you get off but the room smell was ok. Have stayed here twice already and will stay again! Thanks for making us feel welcomed! Free breakfast was good too.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDowell, KY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed here one night. Everything was just fine, super clean room and bathroom. Great area, safe area. Straight across the street from Hamburg Pavilion. My two complaints--1.) we stayed on the 3rd floor and the hallways reaked of cigarette smoke. There were printed signs hanging in the hallway advising people that the common areas were smoke free so I'm assuming the hotel staff were aware of the smoke smell. No smoke smells in the room itself. 2.) I feel this hotel is overpriced unfortunately. I am able to use a discounted rate but even then, it's slightly pricy. Will stay again however.

Room Tip: ask for parking lot view, somewhat quieter from road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Photogmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
156 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great basic hotel within a 5 Min drive of everything you need. (Think 20 choices of food / drink).(OK 7 min to a movie theater). And 1 Block from the road that takes you to the airport. (Man 'O War Blvd is LEX's equivicacal of ATL's I-285). Friendly staff , with local knowlege,and helpfull to the 1st time visitor.( The recommended tourist site was the horse training facility which was like Ocala on steriods). The hallways smell like recent painting and rooms have numbers done in paper ,( YEAH and the pool is closed because tonight's low is 25 degrees.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xtc663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel has quiet rooms even though it close to several gas stations and a truck stop. They are pet friendly for a modest fee and the rooms are very comfortable. The staff is very friendly too. The complimentary breakfast is better than most and there are several places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToughOlBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, TN
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I has previously stayed at this hotel several years ago and I must say it has really gone downhill. Last stay at the end of January was the last time I will stay at this hotel. The room (104) had the "oversprayed deoderizer" odor wafting in the air as you entered. The bed coverings reeked with the spray. Anytime you turned the heating unit on (if you could get it on) the odor would take your breath away. The heating/ac had been permeated with that stuff. First attempt to close the restroom pocketdoor, the whole pulling unit came off in your hand. It had been this way for some time-- you could see how others had pushed it back onto the door and no screws to hold or nothing to hold a screw since that had been ripped out as well. We requested to move to and were given keys to a room (110) several doors down the corridor. Just opening the door you could tell this room needed a good cleaning and a bit of updating. Decided to just deal with the problems in the first room assigned. There was no dial on the heating unit but someone had drawn permanent marker lines where the different modes were supposed to be. Get the unit on, couldn't turn it off. When it was on, you couldn't breathe in the room from the odor. The refrigerator hummed so loudly we just had to turn it off as well. Breakfast -- not much choice and biscuits were served ice cold. Not sure where that nice hot breakfast buffet mentioned in other reviews happened, but perhaps they only do that on weekend dates. On departure day, around 9:30a we received a call from the front desk asking which room we were in. The person that had checked us in the late afternoon before and issued us door keys to the second room, had inadvertently left us as checked into the second room. What a nice surprise that would have been if they had checked someone else into the first room that we actually occupied that night! When I checked out I handed the front desk staff the hardware for the bathroom door and told them that was the piece I had notified them about, and perhaps someone should fix it. I did tell the front desk staff that I felt the rooms needed cleaning especially the filters in the heating/ac units and some maintenance performed on their room. They said they were sorry but no compensation was offered for our troubles whatsoever. Really wasted my hard earned points for a stay at this hotel. I felt really cheated in deciding to stay at this hotel, since I had used my hard earned points (rewards they call them) to stay. My suggestion, sleep elsewhere!

Room Tip: All rooms at this hotel have double beds or kings --not queens
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wataugagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at this Sleep Inn several times. A great room for a great price, especially if your a member of Ky Farm Bureau! Around Sleep Inn and across the road (4 lanes) there is some great shopping and eating! Always a clean hotel with friendly staff! Check out is noon, which is perfect for lazy bums like me!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlwhotravels1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTorok82, Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our survey. We make every effort to provide excellent customer service. Your responses allow us to address any issues, concerns or suggestions you may provide us. We look forward to your return and another great experience with your Sleep Inn staff.

Melody Torok
Director of Operations
Sleep Inn Lexington
1920 Plaudit Pl.
Lexington, Ky. 40509
859-543-8400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#20 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lexington - Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Lexington South/Hamburg Place
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#46 of 71 in Lexington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Property: Sleep Inn
Address: 1920 Plaudit Pl, Lexington, KY 40509-2417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Lexington
Lexington Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing