We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Mixed Bag” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gratz Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gratz Park Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Lexington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Mixed Bag”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

I prefer hotels with some character to homogenized chain hotels, and the Gratz Park does have charm. The rooms are spacious with lots of windows, and there are some nice furnishings. The staff is gracious and accommodating. Unfortunately, there are problems such as lack of adequate lighting in rooms (too dark to read or work), door locks that don't work, breakfast that doesn't arrive. Better management and maintenance would make this a pleasant place to stay, but for now I would avoid it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VacanceBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    72
    24
    17
    8
See reviews for
23
75
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

A very nice little hotel in the heart of the historic district. Lots of little bars and restaurants very close in walking distance nearby. Quaint - Nice area with easy parking for the property. Its not a 5 Star Diamond Luxury property but for a short weekend trip to hang out at night and take in a little history during the day. Very nice.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BurlingtonWilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

My husband comes to Lexington several times a year for the horse sales, and this time I decided to tag along. We decided to stay at the Gratz Park Inn, so I would be close to downtown while he was at Fasig-Tipton during the day. The hotel is undergoing renovations, which begins promptly at 6:30 am, and continues well after the dinner hour. Holy smokes! If you don't like being awakened by hammering, sawing, and drilling then DO NOT STAY HERE until the hotel is finished with its makeover. Insanity!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OKCmom_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Al
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

The hotel is undergoing renovation so some of the deficiencies we saw will be corrected. Lobby, Restaurant and bar were very attractive. Our room was large but needed more light. I wanted to take the mattress on our kingsize bed home with us. Bathroom had wallpaper that was starting to peel which will probably be replaced during the renovation.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BamaRPhDecatur_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

This is my favorite boutique hotel. My wife and I discovered it by accident 10 years ago and we went back this summer - my third trip here, her second. It is just a lovely little hotel. It is centrally located, near both downtown and the historic district. Lots of restaurants, lots of things to do in easy walking distance. Well located for tours of the attractions of central Kentucky. The rooms are small but well appointed. The staff is amazingly friendly. The restaurant, which is a distinct business form the hotel, is quite good. The price are reasonable. This is just a cute and fun little place. It is friendly for kids, though it would be best as a romantic little getaway for two. I stayed here on a business trip nine years ago too and it was terrific.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seanibus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

Our group of 6 stayed here for a Keeneland weekend excursion. Pleased with the place overall. Quiet, clean and centrally located to downtown Lexington with many bars, restaurants nearby within walking distance. Free on site parking, but the wireless Internet connection was very poor.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chowhound03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2009

On a recent trip to KY I stayed at the Gratz Park Inn. Located in the historic district of Lexington, this property touts itself as a “timeless, classic, luxury boutique inn.” It also calls itself an inn with a “pedigree.”

I arrived late and was greeted by the convivial late night manager. Having gotten lost on the way there I had spoken with him more than once trying to navigate the one way streets that the GPS wasn’t able to figure out. By the time I arrived, it was like I was seeing a new friend. I checked in and ordered a Manhattan from the bar of the five-star Jonathan at Gratz Park Inn restaurant that is connected to the inn.

The lobby lived up to the description on the website and in reviews and had a luxe, club feel with leather chairs and richly upholstered sofas. I felt the spirit of tradition and southern hospitality oozing from the walls and was looking forward to retiring to my room to be ensconced with the feeling of the south.

The elevator took me to my room on the second floor. I turned the key and walked in with high expectations. What I found was a tired and shabby space in need of repair and updating. The carpet was stained – thankfully I had my travel slippers so I didn’t have to put my feet on it. There were off-color patches of paint on the walls where touch ups had been done and some paint was chipped off. The 80’s wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling off, and the counter, sink, and fixtures were reminiscent of the 80’s laminate/ faux marble with gold specks and plastic and brass fixtures. With spots and marks, the mirrors didn’t live up to my standard of clean either. In the bedroom, the armoire that held the television didn’t close all the way and the thermostat had a hole in the wall around it – apparently the patchwork and repainting had yet to be done – or was it even in the queue to be done? The desk chair was soiled with stains on the upholstery and most of the furniture – desk, chairs, dresser, had chips and dents on the legs. Parts of the ceiling were warped and moldy with paint bubbling and peeling. Finally, there was a jumble of all the electric cords in the corner – couldn’t someone have tied them neatly together or run them along the baseboard? The one redeeming feature – the king sized Tempur-Pedic bed, at least I had a good night sleep.

After leaving I emailed the GM to let them know about my experience. I didn't get a reply.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mykitchenmytable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#7 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#14 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
0.2 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#2 of 71 in Lexington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Campbell House
The Campbell House
#17 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gratz Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gratz Park Inn

Property: Gratz Park Inn
Address: 120 West Second Street, Lexington, KY 40507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gratz Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gratz Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gratz Park Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing