We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Wonderful Host”
Review of Eighth Pole Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eighth Pole Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Lexington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Our recent visit to the Swann's Nest was a very pleasant one. The location was great (minutes from Keeneland, Lexington, Versailles) and the horse farm setting was beautiful. Our host Rosalie was more than willing to help with any questions we had about the area and we felt right at home. If only Fayette County would do more to support the B&B industry in the Lexington area, there would more places like the Swann's Nest for visitors to enjoy. We would definitely make a return visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peppyknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 167 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Swann's Nest, and got the couples' weekend winter getaway that we were looking for! The grounds were a beautiful, memorable horse country setting for this charming B & B! We stayed in the Cygnet Room, which includes a private bathroom and a balcony overlooking the courtyard, looking well manicured even in the dead of winter. The courtyard also features a terrific fish pond and sunset view.

Rosalie and her staff (i.e. her family members) provided us with a delicious continental breakfast each morning. The fresh fruit added a wonderful touch, and we enjoyed the wide variety of choices among coffees and teas. Cookies, snacks, and soft drinks are also available throughout the day. You are free to enjoy the lower level rooms of the gorgeous main house, in addition to most of the grounds surrounding it.

This B & B is all about LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!!! The Swann's Nest is convenient to most major highways and the Bluegrass Airport. It's equidistant from the quiet, country settings of the Bluegrass Region's wineries, distilleries, horse farms and parks, along with the vibe of Downtown Lexington's trendy shops, restaurants, cultural attractions, and the UK campus. We got to experience both settings, which are less than 30 minutes away. The Keeneland Racetrack is practically around the corner!

What we will cherish the most was the dedicated, personable service with which Rosalie and her family offered us. They were always willing to share advice on places to visit and eat, and continually asked if there was anything else we needed. In particular, Rosalie's grandchildren are well-trained and pay close attention to their guests' needs. Well done, kiddos! You'll be great in the business someday soon :)

Room Tip: We thought the Cygnet Room gave us the most bang for our buck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bklojay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

This was our 4th stay at Swann's Nest. We love it and will return again and again. The atmosphere is like going home. You can be involved as much as you would like, or you can be alone and enjoy the surroundings. Rosalie gives the best restaurant advice and every now and then gives you a good "betting" tip. Close to several touristy attractions like Berea, Kentucky (small artist community), Bourbon trail distilleries, Keeneland Race Track, The Kentucky Horse Park, and many beautiful horse ranches, Swann's Nest is situated in the perfect location.

Room Tip: All Rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We had a wonderful little getaway for the weekend. The B&B is very easy to get to and has wonderful scenery. The entire effect was quite relaxing and pastoral. Rosalie was fantastic and her garden is beautiful. We also were able to enjoy our time and get to know a few of the local horses as well. We would recommend this place to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

A very relaxing, quiet get away.....comfortable....peaceful...all we could ask for. Rosalie is so helpful with ideas as to where to eat, etc ....makes you feel right at home too.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STEPHANIEh48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This was our second visit, and as the first, it was a great experience. Wonderflul location and very easy to get around Lexington. Rosalie was great as always, and the room was fanstastic! It really is a pleasure to stay there and we have already made arrangements for our next visit!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbrown3838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed in Swann's nest on a casual trip to Lexington and it was very much what we look for in a B & B. Rosalie was very accommodating, knows the area well, recommended a great restaurant and in general, it was a great visit. The grounds are quite pretty and the location at the edge of Lexington is very convenient as we would much rather be there than in the middle of town.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoelBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
5.7 mi away
The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton
6.9 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#12 of 71 in Lexington
1,245 reviews
7 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#4 of 71 in Lexington
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
9.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eighth Pole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eighth Pole Inn

Address: 3463 Rosalie Rd, Lexington, KY 40510-9738 (Formerly Swann's Nest Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range: $149 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Swann`s Nest b&b
Swann`s Nest Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing