We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with pets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Lexington North
Ranked #41 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with pets”
Reviewed January 2, 2010

My husband and I and our dog stayed here one night last week. The room was large, very clean and the bed was comfortable (I like softer mattresses, and this fit the bill). The bathroom was nice -- a large granite counter with a sink, along with a separate room for the toilet and shower/bathtub. The bathroom had a fan (unfortunately we have found that hotels in this low price range don't always have fans, so it was nice to see one here).

The rooms all have doors to the outside (the hotel is sort of like a garden-style apartment complex) so it was very easy to take our dog out to the large grassy area on the side of the property. I would recommend that travelers with dogs request a room on the first floor to make things easier. I had actually requested a first floor room myself when I made the reservation, but I didn't repeat the request when we checked in at the front desk because I assumed that the front desk attendant would have the information. However, either he wasn't given the information from the reservation agent or there weren't any first floor rooms available, because we ended up with a room on the second floor, despite being given a room number in the 100s (by the time we realized that our room was on the second floor, we were too tired to go back to the front desk and make a request for a different room). So this meant that we had to walk down a flight of outdoor stairs every time we had to take our dog out. However, despite this problem, we still enjoyed our stay and we will definitely return for another visit if we need a dog-friendly hotel in Lexington KY in the future.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah7038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    37
    6
    4
    8
See reviews for
39
14
6
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

I am a Marriott rewards member and a former Marriott employee but listen when I say - DO NOT STAY HERE! This is the worst Marriott property I have ever been in. The unit was filthy, the floors sticky, the water never got hot, the smell of the room was offensive, and the staff was terrible. The evening social was extremely poor (stale corn chips, celery sticks, and soda). We were supposed to be here for 3 days but checked out the next morning and went up the street to the full service Marriott (Griffin Gate) where the rate was the same and the saff were great. I woiuld have booked the Griffin Gate were it not for comments on Trip Advisor. We loved it. Don't understand the the negative comments about Griffin Gate.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Choppers_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

I stayed here for ten nights and enjoyed every minute of it. It is a typical Residence Inn with the full kitchen, including an oven which was nice. Upon arrival, waiting in our room were fresh baked cookies and a bottle water, a very nice touch! There wasn't a fitness center, but we were provided with passes to the fitness center in the Courtyard next door. The staff was very friendly and helpful as well! The only complaint I have is about the wireless internet, it was incredibly slow! I was lucky enough to have a laptop with built in mobile broadband that I could use! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmebagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2008

The hotel its self is just your average Marriott Res Inn hotel but the staff here are so warm and friendly. They really made us feel at home and went out of their way to be nice to our toddler and even let me take dinner back to the room so my husband could have dinner when he got in late from work. The hotel is right off the freeway which is nice and convienant.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — Our door was hard to get into to
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cassiej25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 23, 2006

I booked my room three weeks in advance because Lexington always sells out of rooms durning the weeks of Keenland. This was for two birthdays and an aniversary weekend. As I stated, I booked and paid for the room well in advance and let the reservations know that we would not check in until 8:30 pm.

When we showed up at 7:30 to shower and meet our other guest we were informed that "Our room was not available". What part of reservation do they not understand? Now we are 100 miles away from home with friends and family waiting for us and we have no accomidations. This is unexceptable.

Well, they finally decided to move us down the street to another hotel - one that I would not keep a dog in for free. Is this "Bait and Switch at its best"? They book a high end room for full price and then decide to let it go to some one else, most likely for a higher price as the rooms in town were selling out. Then move us to a lesser hotel for the same price.

Needless to say, our weekend was a bust thanks to the people at The Residence Inn on Newtown Pike in Lexington, KY. My advice would be to book with someone who will keep their word and honor your reservations or you might get put out on the street with the dogs.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
155 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2006

Stayed here will attending a college program at the University. The welcome was wonderful, by a college student no less! There was a mix-up at first, we had requested a non-smoking room. The room smelled (reeked) of smoke. We were able to move quickly to another room. The young lady came to the room to make sure it met our expectations. The room (suite) was large, immaculate. When we needed ice, the same young lady brought us ice (the icemaker in the refrigerator had been off and wasn't making ice quick enough). The bed was comfortable and there were plenty of towels. The style of the suite was more than we needed for one night, but gave us room to spread out. The breakfast was elaborate, including food for the Japanese culture (which must stay there frequently). The food was plentiful and varied from fruits, pastries, breads, to eggs, waffles and miso soup! The location was perfect. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dentalhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chile
Level Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2005

I spend about half my time in hotels and try to stay at Residence Inns and this was probably the best I've stayed at. I was in this hotel in October 2005. The checkin and checkout were very fast and very well done. The rooms I had was 721 and it was very quiet, very clean. On one side of the building is the highway but it tends to be behind a small mound so not much noise gets through, the other side of the building faces onto a green area which I understand is owned by Lexmark who have their offices on the same land.

The surrounding areas, or Lexington in general, are very nice which made this an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank munizaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Lexington North
Courtyard Lexington North
#31 of 71 in Lexington
212 reviews
2.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lexington
Staybridge Suites Lexington
#28 of 71 in Lexington
101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Lexington
Candlewood Suites Lexington
#33 of 71 in Lexington
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lexington North
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Lexington
La Quinta Inn Lexington
#50 of 71 in Lexington
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Lexington North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Lexington North

Property: Residence Inn Lexington North
Address: 1080 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511-1212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Lexington North 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Lexington North hotel featuring newly renovated public spaces is positioned at the junction of New Circle Road and Newtown Pike providing quick and easy access to all attractions and points of interest such as Keeneland Racetrack, Kentucky Horse Park, Red Mile Racetrack, The Thoroughbred Center, Hunt-Morgan Home, Mary Todd Lincoln Home, Rupp Arena, Shaker Village, Aviation Museum of Kentucky and much more! The hotel's spacious suites with fully equipped kitchens, separate living and sleeping areas, free high-speed Internet access and complimentary amenities like breakfast and evening socials make it the perfect place to stay in the heart of the Bluegrass state. Shopping near the Residence Inn Lexington North hotel includes Victorian Square, Fayette Mall and Lexington Green Mall. The University of Kentucky and Transylvania University are both within 4 miles of the hotel. Let the friendly and professional staff at the Residence Inn by Marriott Lexington North hotel welcome you to Lexington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Lexington North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Lexington
Lexington Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing