We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kentucky hospitality at its best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Griffin Gate Resort was everything that it proposes to be. My husband and myself traveled with about 150 business associates and spouses to the Lexington, KY area for 5 days. The room was the usual hotel-size, but it included a desk area, a comfortable chair/ottoman, and roomy shower/bath area. The closet was small due to ironing board, etc, but adequate. The single sink area was workable. The king bed was unbelievably comfortable. And we were located across from the Concierege room so "goodies" were available whenever we arrived back at the hotel. The room was cleaned each day and fresh towels with bath products replenished. A value for the stay. The dining room however was quite expensive, although the service was perfect. The food all tasted the same for all the meals that we ate at banquets, breakfasts, lunches, restaurant, and snacks. This is the only area that could use improvement and more creativity.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidwestTraveler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

707 - 713 of 786 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2009

Check in was easy and the staff was friendly. They noticed we had a baby and asked if we wanted a pack and play before we had the chance to ask.

The first thing we noticed when we came into the room was the chilled plate with 5 enormous chocolate covered strawberries and a chilled bottle of wine. The room was comfortable and quiet. Our daughter loved the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

We got married in front of the mansion a year ago and planned to have dinner here on our 1 year anniversary. I have to admit the wedding was beautiful and will never be able to put into words how great the staff at the restaurant was to us. But the Marriott should be ashamed how the treat their guests. Their wedding planner didn't show up on the wedding day! The attitude from the front desk staff is appaulling. When you plan your wedding through them they give a gift certificate to come back a stay on your anniversary and have dinner at the restaurant. Lets just say its been a year and the front desk staff hasn't changed and the masion restaurant is closed. We spent around 30,000 at Marriott on our wedding (rooms,catering,bar,etc) Do yourself a favor, go somewhere else!

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skychick27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Internet was $12.95 not including tax. Internet should be complimentary with a paid room. Especially in this economy. The room was overpriced for what you received. The non smoking room smelled like smoke anyway though I feel it was in the air conditioning system. I was very displeased. The sheets were nice.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daylilly08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

My wife and I spent two nights here in early July. Though the visit ended up OK, there were some problems and frustrations.

Although we arrived well after check-in time, it took nearly two hours for the hotel to get us in our room. When we arrived, we requested a room with a balcony; when we arrived at the room, it had no balcony and bird excrement was smeared on the outside of the window. We called the front desk to explain the mistake, and they indicated they would try to find us a new room and would call us back in ten minutes. 25 minutes later, we still had not heard from the front desk. I called them again and they indicated that they were working on a room and would send a bellboy to us in less than 10 minutes to give us new room keys and help us with our luggage. After about 25 more minutes, we still had not heard from the bell boy.

Finally, they let us in a new room. This room did have a balcony -- one that looked out over a parking lot and was covered in dirt. We went down to the desk to complain and one of the associates was helpful, apologetic, and accomodating. About two hours after arriving, we finally were given an acceptable room.

Needless to say, this experience created much tension and frustration, so it is probably difficult for me to give the Griffin Gate a fair and reasonable review. The grounds were fairly nice, and both the outdoor and indoor pool areas were reasonably nice. My sense was that the details one typically associates with Marriotts were lacking here -- I saw evidence of ceiling tiles out of place in the indoor pool area and paint that was peeling or chipped away in a few places.

I might stay here again and give it another chance, as the hotel has some potential. Still, there are some flaws here that the Griffin Gate can fix to improve itself and I remain skeptical. On balance, I tend to view the Griffin Gate Marriott closer to ordinary than extraordinary.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henryv731_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

When recently staying at this hotel for a business meeting, my co-workers and I were aghast to find that not only was there no wireless internet , it would cost $12.95 a day to connect to their internet service using the one cable provided in the room. And we won't even get into the sheets with black spots on them, or the dead bug that was revealed when a throw pillow on the bed was moved. What a disapppointment! About the only nice thing I can say is that we liked the soap they had in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girls-trip0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for an overnight to go to the Keeneland races with my wife. The hotel is well located off the main highway, and about 5 minutes to the Keeneland horse track. The hotel grounds seemed very well maintained, but the entrance into the hotel ,starting from valet, seemed cold , more like a convention style hotel. It lacked to me the"southern charm" that I thought would be more present at this establishment. check in was fine, easy, and the staff was more than helpful. Service throughout our stay was excellent. Our room was on the 4th floor, and our window overlooked at out level with the airconditioners and about 10 pigeons and nests. Not a big deal, we just never opened the curtains fron that point forward. Hotel room was that of a typical Marriott, 2 double beds( all that was available at check in). The room was clean, nothing special. The shampoo and such were of the upper end products. I forget the name. Looked at the hotel service book, and wife got a massage.I called to book a dinner at the White Mansion they advertise in the hotel service guide. Seemed very nice, southern style and upper class, however, I was informed they no longer have dinner or tend bar there as only for weddings. Big disappointment. Decided to enjoy an evening at the hotel bar , and not travel to downtown Lexington. Staff at bar were so good, and Megan was on top of her game. Met others there and ended up having a blast. Wife went into the designer hat store and looked at hats, but decided none were what she liked. Wife stated the spa experience was nice. All in all service was wonderful, but the coldness of the business style hotel was disappointing. would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brent a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#7 of 71 in Lexington
1,122 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#12 of 71 in Lexington
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#4 of 71 in Lexington
447 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Conference Center North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 1800 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511-1330
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Lexington
#13 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range: $170 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped by the rolling hills of beautiful Bluegrass Country, Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa is a true urban oasis. Offering a secluded atmosphere yet convenient to area attractions, our hotel in Lexington, KY is ideal for travelers who value privacy and accessibility. Nearby points of interest include Kentucky Horse Park, Keeneland Race Track and the Kentucky Bourbon Trail, a collection of distilleries offering facility tours and tasting events. Guest rooms at our hotel near Keeneland feature stunning contemporary decor and high-tech amenities like LCD TVs and high-speed Internet access. Indulge in flavorful seafood, mouthwatering filets and decadent desserts at JW's Steakhouse, our famous restaurant, or enjoy appetizers and cocktails in JW's Lounge. Our Lexington Marriott is also home to indoor and outdoor pools, a fitness center, 18-hole golf course, full-service spa and 28,000 square feet of event space. Discover luxury, elegance and superior service at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Griffin Gate Hotel Lexington
Marriott Lexington
Lexington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing