We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Star...Are you kidding?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2009

We have stayed a this property many times because the rooms are nice, they accept pets, and the location is convenient for the Keeneland and Fasig-Tipton Sales. The grounds are also attractive. By no stretch is this a four star facility, however. Housekeeping is inconsistent and feels no reservation about taking things from rooms that are not their property. Management is indifferent and has a 'take it or leave it' mentality. Food is mediocre and overpriced, except breakfast which offers many options. On different stays we have had trouble with items in room like clocks, coffee maker, TV and lights. This indicates to us that nobody checks for obvious problems. Still one of nicest hotels in Lexington, which is unfortunate. We are hopeful that new Westin at KY Horse Park is going to actually happen someday.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Equiluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

717 - 723 of 786 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2009

I had my wedding this hotel and although I was very happy with the setting, I had numerous problems. I will list the major issues I had and hopefully it will save a future bride some grief:

1. We were mislead about the costs. If you don't ask specifically if something will cost extra, you will not know about it until you are reviewing the contract. MAKE SURE TO READ THE CONTRACT CAREFULLY!

2. If you are planning your wedding from out of town (as I was) don't expect to taste the food. The Marriott only does 4 tastings per year and they are on a weekday night. The food ended up being average.

3. Don't expect anyone to return your emails or calls. Demand to speak to someone when you call if you want an issue resolved.

4. Don't expect the wedding coordinator to be present on your wedding day. I saw mine twice. Once to unlock the mansion (later than expected) and once to ask for my credit card number. This is despite numerous problems that occurred during the wedding/reception.

5. One problem was that the rose garlands I paid $500 for were not brought to the ceremony by the wedding coordinator. My husband is Indian and these were very important for the Hindu ceremony. Eventually I got the Marriott to deduct this amount from my bill.

6. My wedding coordinator told me I could pay for the wedding after the honeymoon so I could review the contract. This was a good thing because there were about 5 charges that had to be removed (tables, sound equipment, etc...) for items we never used. However, she continually contacted me by email during my honeymoon to settle the bill. I refused to give her authorization to charge my credit card until all the issues with the bill were resolved, so she took it upon herself to charge my father-in-law for the ENTIRE wedding, without his permission. She blamed it on the accounting dept., but I'm pretty sure it was her fault. It took 4 months to get the billing issues resolved! What a nightmare!

After all these problems, the manager of sales at the Marriott sent us a card in the mail apologizing for the problems. Enclosed was a $50 gift certificate for the Marriott. After this experience I never plan to redeem that gift.

Beware of holding your event at the Marriott Griffin Gate!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank EAV333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

We stayed at this hotel on Valentine's day. I can' t not say enough good things about this hotel. The staff was one of the most helpful and friendliest staff of any hotels that we have stayed at before. The hotel was beautiful. The indoor pool was clean, and had big towels available. The hot tub was very large and just the right temperature. We had a room on the 7th floor the furniture was impressive, plenty of drawers. The beds and pillows were very comfy. The TV had many channels to choose from. The bathroom was large with a dual sink and a very deep tub with a rain shower head. The toiletries were nice, they provided the normal soap and shampoo but also a sewing kit, q tips, cotton balls and make up removers. Again I want to mention the staff. Everyone was extremely helpful and very friendly. We will stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelersfromIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2008

This is a large hotel with many amenities including a restaurant, bar, exercise & spa, pool and gift shop. The bar area was a decent place to unwind at the end of a long day. The exercise room was very good for a hotel and had a good variety of equipment. There is a large breakfast buffet at a typical hotel price of $17 including tax & tip.

The room appeared to be recently upgraded and was of average size. No complaints but nothing really stood out either. Service was good at times but I did have a couple of situations that could have been handled better.

There are also better locations in Lexington. There isn't much in the immediate vicinity as far as restaurants or shops and it is a ten minute drive to downtown. It is immediately off I-75 however.

This full scale hotel was fine but there are definitely better values in the city.

Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
1  Thank rjc260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2008

Decent location, great grounds, nice facility. Check was fast, friendly, and accurate. The hotel restaurant and room service were great and the mansion restaurant was excellent.

It is convenient to Kentucky Horsepark, the Lexington countryside, downtown Lexington, and the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Seein-stuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2008

we were in Lexington Ky for the Georgia vs Kentucky football game. We really enjoyed our stay. What a nice hotel Staff very friendly. Room was very clean. LOVED the bed!!! So comfortable.
Will stay here next time we come to Lexington.

Thank ga-girl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2008

Stayed at the hotel after attending Keeneland racing. Very easy to get to from the track. Beautiful, landscaped facility.

Check in was very easy and quick. Room was basic but just fine although we did miss not having a coffeemaker in the room.

Hotel is quite attractive and has a great pool area for summer use, although we were not able to use it in October.

Ate at JW's steak house. It was very good, although alittle pricey for what you receive. It was enjoyable just the same.

Considering it is a large facility, not much options for lite fare, just JW's or Starbuck's for food. The golf facility was not open when we were there.

We did pop in at the concierge breakfast area, however at 9 AM they were already closing up. Food was almost gone, service was quite rude actually with coffee running out and the workers looking pretty disgruntled overall. We should have just headed out to a nice breakfast stop in the area.

Overall, the hotel is very attractive and service is good. Nice location near Keeneland race track and Kentucky Horse Park.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelNut70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#7 of 71 in Lexington
1,121 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#12 of 71 in Lexington
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#4 of 71 in Lexington
439 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Conference Center North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 1800 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511-1330
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Lexington
#13 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range: $171 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped by the rolling hills of beautiful Bluegrass Country, Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa is a true urban oasis. Offering a secluded atmosphere yet convenient to area attractions, our hotel in Lexington, KY is ideal for travelers who value privacy and accessibility. Nearby points of interest include Kentucky Horse Park, Keeneland Race Track and the Kentucky Bourbon Trail, a collection of distilleries offering facility tours and tasting events. Guest rooms at our hotel near Keeneland feature stunning contemporary decor and high-tech amenities like LCD TVs and high-speed Internet access. Indulge in flavorful seafood, mouthwatering filets and decadent desserts at JW's Steakhouse, our famous restaurant, or enjoy appetizers and cocktails in JW's Lounge. Our Lexington Marriott is also home to indoor and outdoor pools, a fitness center, 18-hole golf course, full-service spa and 28,000 square feet of event space. Discover luxury, elegance and superior service at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Griffin Gate Hotel Lexington
Marriott Lexington
Lexington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing