We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location Convenient to Kentucky Horse Park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Location Convenient to Kentucky Horse Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great hotel - stayed there while in town for a horse show at the Kentucky Horse Park (10 minute drive). Staff was friendly and attentive. Bottled water on arrival and treats for the dog if you bring one. Indoor and outdoor pools were a big hit with the kids. Very good breakfast buffet was included in the room ($50 each day). Rooms were clean and comfortable - a little small though as well as the bathroom. Staff was very prompt in responding to requests for more blankets and towels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddcta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    221
    107
    44
    19
See reviews for
153
152
23
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wabash, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

The hotel was great when it came to customer service and the setting was very nice. Next to golf course and excellent restaurant. But the surprise came when I left something in my room. They called me, asked how to get it to me and shipped it at no cost back to me within three days.
I will definately stay there anytime I am in Lexington, KY!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobP0318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and complimenting our golf course and JW's Steakhouse. Our staff takes tremendous pride in the service we provide, so it was particularly nice reading your comments regarding the return of your personal item. We really do believe in treating our guests as if they are customers for life - so we take special care in how we handle "lost and found" items. Thanks again and we hope to see you back!

Dan Sirrine
Director of Operations
Griffin Gate Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, OH
Level Contributor
238 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We aren't vacationing until later in the summer and took the kids down to Lexington for the weekend, for a one night mini vacation. I had stayed at the hotel 12 years ago for work and was thankful to see that they had updated the rooms. Our room was very clean and modernized. Our kids were most excited by the pool, it is nice to have the outdoor and indoor pool, however they are small. When we checked in and hit the pool around 3 on a sunny afternoon, there were no chairs to be found. It is a very small pool for a resort. The rain came shortly after we got there and we moved to the indoor pool, which was much warmer but nice and clean. We also found it awkward to have no bathroom closer than the lobby and have my daughters parade around the lobby soaking wet while urgently needing to use the restroom. We all slept great, grabbed a quick pastry and coffee for breakfast in the gift shop (the pastry selection was very lacking), hit the pool for a little bit in the AM before visiting the KY Horsepark. Overall great stay at a solid category 5 hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrie9678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your review of our resort. It was very nice reading that you worked here years ago! Our outdoor pool area and indoor pool is such a popular feature at the resort for so many of our guests. We believe our outdoor pool may be the largest of any hotel in KY. We certainly appreciate your suggestion to have a restroom in closer proximity to our indoor pool and we revisit this topic every year. Unfortunately we have found no realistic / feasible way to build a bathroom in that area of the resort. We did recently build a 2nd outdoor restroom facility just outside of the outdoor pool gate - but we recognize that doesn't necessarily help famlies when they are swimming inside. We wiil continue to look at this, realizing that many people share your concern.

Thanks again and we hope to see you at the resort again soon.

Dan Sirrine
Director of Operations
Griffin Gate Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We live in Lexington and had family from Ohio staying at this resort for the weekend. Beautiful place - inside and out - and they loved their stay. I enjoyed visiting them as I had worked at Griffin Gate about 20 years ago and it was a nice to see the place again.

However, while we visited, the kids (our's and their's) swam in the indoor pool (it was rainning so we didn't use the outdoor pool). Eventually, the kids had to use the restroom. Where to go? The indoor pool/fitness area is not staffed so they went to the front desk and were told to use either the lobby restrooms (a bit awkward parading through the lobby in swimwear, dripping water) or the ourdoor facilities (or back up to the room, I suppose). The rain made it a bit inconvenient to go outside but we thought how inconvenient would it be in the winter?

Highly recommend the Griffin Gate resort but wish they could address the lack of indoor pool/fitness area restrooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
349 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel was clean, and the staff was moderately friendly. We stayed here over the 4th of July week, and were not impressed, sadly. It is listed as a Marriott Resort, but lacks the amenities and attraction that you would call a real "resort". It was just a normal, full-service Marriott hotel. They have obviously done some updating, which is nice. Our rooms were very clean, but small with very small bathrooms - even cramped. Overall a decent experience, but not a resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffery C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GriffinGate, Manager at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Hello twicewise!

Thank you for your review of our resort. We appreciate your comments and can see that you travel frequently and have offered many reviews in your travels. I apologize that our resort failed to meet your expectations. As you have most likely experienced, there is a wide variety of facilities who refer to themselves as resorts. And while Marriott has its own definition, we all certainly appreciate that what really matters today is the perception and experience of our guests who stay with us. Our recommendation for travelers is to thoroughly explore our page on Marriott.com, clicking through all of the images of our facility, and reading all of the details and descriptions. Guests can also learn more about our resort on Facebook and Instagram. We hope that our property is represented in a realistic manner. There is nothing worse than to overpromise and undeliver - particularly when spending hard earned money. We genuinely regret not meeting your expectations - but hope that this advice may be helpful to guests interested in staying with us in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dan Sirrine
Director of Operations
Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here recently for work for 3 nights during a small conference that was being held here. Didn't not get out much to see Lexington but did enjoy the friendly staff members and clean rooms. Hotel feels like an older one but appears to have been renovated over the years.

Golf was great but was challenging because of the heat in the afternoon.

Relax by the pool or the spa,enjoyed my time in lexington and would return to this hotel if I return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klove007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Um, this was done on purpose. This hotel is deciding to get in on the wedding reception business while still claiming to provide a night's sleep! They have a tent set up right next to the outdoor pool. The music blares until midnight with no soundproofing but a tent wall. Not too good since I had to wake up at 6 am on Sunday. They apologized and offered me a free coffee the next morning. Really?!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
5.9 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#8 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#2 of 71 in Lexington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center North
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 1800 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Lexington
#13 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped by the rolling hills of beautiful Bluegrass Country, Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa is a true urban oasis. Offering a secluded atmosphere yet convenient to area attractions, our hotel in Lexington, KY is ideal for travelers who value privacy and accessibility. Nearby points of interest include Kentucky Horse Park, Keeneland Race Track and the Kentucky Bourbon Trail, a collection of distilleries offering facility tours and tasting events. Guest rooms at our hotel near Keeneland feature stunning contemporary decor and high-tech amenities like LCD TVs and high-speed Internet access. Indulge in flavorful seafood, mouthwatering filets and decadent desserts at JW's Steakhouse, our famous restaurant, or enjoy appetizers and cocktails in JW's Lounge. Our Lexington Marriott is also home to indoor and outdoor pools, a fitness center, 18-hole golf course, full-service spa and 28,000 square feet of event space. Discover luxury, elegance and superior service at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Griffin Gate Hotel Lexington
Marriott Lexington
Lexington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing