We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice Resort Amenities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Resort Amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Service was top notch, starting with valet and check-in. Service in their restaurant was also very good.

The rooms were typical for a resort, but had very comfortable beds.

Being a resort and a weekend stay, they did have some large groups but the hotel didn't feel crowded.

I would recommend this location.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank merlechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    215
    105
    41
    19
See reviews for
149
150
23
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for a business conference in May and was one of the niced hotels I have stayed in in a while. No complaints here at all. Nice gym, bar, etc....rooms were perfect in every way. Golf course right out your door, what else could you want?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I was in town for family thing and I stayed two nights on last minute reservation. Room over looked golf course and I was actually astounded by comfort of the bed (Tempurpedic), quality of room service and just overall "we got this attitude." There were 7 wedding related events in hotel yet bar not overrun, halls not extremely loud and everyone was pleasant. Aside from being served an iced coffee in paper cup ( Starbucks, really?) I was pleased beyond measure. I needed this break after a drive. Thanks, Marriott.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank fmjmemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Large HD TV's in room. Mini Fridge, good set up for business travelers EXCEPT THE $13 fee for the internet (only complaint). Made use of the weight room which had squeaky but overall good equipment. Hot tub was large, wish I could have made use of it but not suit...Lit tennis court and bball goal to work with. Nice property. More expensive than many but very nice stay if that isn't an issue for you.

Room Tip: Use the free lobby wireless and save the $12!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uncgmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the concierge with as Marriott Gold members. The property is older but well maintained. Beautiful views and wonderful food. With the exception of the first day, the housekeeping was good. We had requested a mini-fridge in our reservation and when we went to our room, one was already there. If you self-park, be prepared for a bit of a walk, especially if there is an event taking place. The memory foam mattresses took a bit to get used to. Very good stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken and Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed for one evening and I accidently left in my room my the Oakley sunglasses that I had worn during my deployment to Afghanistan and have memento value to me. I called the hotel. They confirmed they ahd my glasses in a mattter of minutes and made arrangements to FEDEX them to my home. I had my glasses back in less than two days. This is a great hotel and I recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JC W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed during Kentucky Derby week and the hotel was hectic, but the staff handled everything with class and southern grace. To a person they went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and to help us. The service in the restaurants was second to none. The grounds were beautiful and the cocktail parties and banquets we attended were delightful. A luncheon in the Mansion was memorable for the fabulous service and unique menu. Wish we could say that about the room. The foam mattress was decidedly uncomfortable, despite getting a requested pillow top covering. There was no safe in the room and the option to use a safe at the reception area was just too inconvenient. The bathroom was cramped and had only one small towel rack in the bathtub. The only small storage area in the bathroom was taken up towels that had no racks to hang on. The closet was cramped and hard to use with small sliding double doors. There were not enough hangers and our request for more was not fulfilled. We used the spa in the pool area but could not enjoy it because it was over chlorinated and irritating to both skin and nose. A superior staff and great food helped compensate for the room that did not fulfill our expectations of a Marriott.





  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PPJGPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
5.9 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#6 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center North
6.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Lexington University / Medical Center
3.2 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#12 of 71 in Lexington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 1800 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Lexington
#13 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped by the rolling hills of beautiful Bluegrass Country, Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa is a true urban oasis. Offering a secluded atmosphere yet convenient to area attractions, our hotel in Lexington, KY is ideal for travelers who value privacy and accessibility. Nearby points of interest include Kentucky Horse Park, Keeneland Race Track and the Kentucky Bourbon Trail, a collection of distilleries offering facility tours and tasting events. Guest rooms at our hotel near Keeneland feature stunning contemporary decor and high-tech amenities like LCD TVs and high-speed Internet access. Indulge in flavorful seafood, mouthwatering filets and decadent desserts at JW's Steakhouse, our famous restaurant, or enjoy appetizers and cocktails in JW's Lounge. Our Lexington Marriott is also home to indoor and outdoor pools, a fitness center, 18-hole golf course, full-service spa and 28,000 square feet of event space. Discover luxury, elegance and superior service at Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Griffin Gate Hotel Lexington
Marriott Lexington
Lexington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing