We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view at the Rupp Center.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Ranked #9 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
St Marys, WV
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Room with a view at the Rupp Center.”
Reviewed December 16, 2009

This Hyatt is in the heart of Lexington, attached to Lexington's Rupp Civic Center and built over a mall. It has all the amenities but you'll pay for them. For example the room had nice water glasses sitting next to a bottle of Evian but if you open it there's a $4.95 charge. There's a strong WiFi signal everywhere but it's not free. You need to pay for a T-Mobile day pass. There's Starbuck's coffee in the beautiful lobby but you guessed it you'll pay. There's room service, a restaurant and a bar but no guest discount.

The view from our seventh floor room was of the park and shops across the way. It was very nice. The only hotel sounds to be heard were occasional hall doors. Nothing else came through walls or floors. The room had it's own furnace not the typical wall unit and was much quieter. The bed was luxurious.

If you get a hefty discount online (which we did) this is a luxurious treat. If you're attending a conference or an event at the center it is the ultimate in convenience. There's plenty of nightlife, lots of restaurants and bars with a college accent. There's also a variety of ethnic cuisine. If you're paying full price on a whim or because you're a snob though it's not a good deal.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandrson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    311
    118
    43
    28
See reviews for
204
221
50
374
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We booked the room through Priceline so the deal was amazing. The room was clean, the beds very comfortable, the bathroom and shower seemed a little dated but overall nice. I liked the free parking directly accross the street but they do have valet if you so choose. The staff were fantastic, especially the valet attendant who while we were checking in found us a great deal to go play golf on a private course only 20 minutes away. The staff at check in were very helpfull in giving us tips on restaurants and nightlife as they the bar staff. If going to see a UK basketball game you cannot get a better location as Rupp arena is connected to the hotel. Overall our stay was great and would definately stay here again next time in Lexington.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koalasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Checked out 3 rooms. All rooms suffered from lots of nearby street noise (despite the fact I asked for a quiet room). Apparently they don't exist. The window panes must be very thin. On the postitive: new remodeled rooms, friendly staff, handy location. Still, the new Hotel and Conference Center across the street might be quieter (it's a Hilton). Plus free parking and a free internet in the business center.

Major new hotel annoyance: if you want fresh towels, call the hotel operator. This was a new one to me in the hotel rip off department.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We have stayed at the Hyatt several different times and we always enjoy it. The hotel is in the heart of Lexington, KY and has a great view of the surrounding city. The rooms are very comfortable. The beds are comfortable with plush bedding and pillows. The bathroom is a little small but has nice finishes. I love that when the hotel door is open to the hall, you can't see into the bed area. There is a separation wall. The room has a central heating and air system in each room...not a typical hotel wall air unit. The staff are always professional and helpful. The hotel has a large restaurant and valet services and is adjacent to Rupp Arena. A great place to stay if you are attending an event at Rupp. A crib is provided at no additional charge and they even give you a Johnson&Johnson travel pack with shampoo, baby wash and lotion. You are staying in downtown so there is some traffic noises, but if you stay on an upper floor the noise is not too bad. We love this place!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktschooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas, nv.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this property in late June after booking for two nights on Hotwire. We were both pleased with the location of the hotel as well as the property itself. The room was very nice, the bed comfortable, and most importantly, the hotel was quiet. The hotel itself is very modern and the check in process was easy. The only complaint, and it is a minor one, is the parking. If you valet your vehicle you will have to pay $18 a night, we decided to park our vehicle in the free lot across the street from the hotel, not a big deal, just a minor inconvenience. The hotel is literally attached to Rupp arena where UK plays there home basketball games, also attached is a small "boutique" type of shopping mall which was nice to walk around. The hotel is also within walking distance to many restaurants and bars as well as the UK campus. All in all a very pleasant stay and we would definitely stay again in the future if in Lexington.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trentonkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Stayed here for a convention and it was a nice place. Room was clean and the bed was delightful.. The staff went out of their way to accomodate me at all times.. No sour/surly or rude people at all and that is refreshing.. The hotel was well maintained and spotless. Plenty of shops at the convention center.. Only a few minor details they could work on:
I had room service and the food was good, but tiny portions for the price.. a very short cord on the hair dryer.. i had to bend down to the wall socket to get my hair dry.lol.. See not much..otherwise they have that great customer service thing going on, and if I am in downtown Lexington again.. will stay there.. Thanks Hyatt!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucifred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed here for four nights in June 2009 and were happy with this hotel.

The decor in both the lobby area and rooms is really nice.....modern and simple and not a floral bedspread in sight (thankfully). We had a king-size bed which was really comfortable, as were the pillows. We slept well each night. We had requested a quiet room and got exactly that.

We did not eat in the hotel so I can't comment on the restaurant. For anyone who just wants a light breakfast there is a Starbucks one block away. There is also a coffee shop in the office block that is connected to the Hyatt via a walkway over the road.

The location of the hotel is great and within a short walk of plenty of bars and restaurants. Navigating around Lexington is easy. It was straightforward to get everywhere we wanted to go from the hotel. The free parking was a nice bonus.

All staff members that we encountered were pleasant and efficient. I would definitely stay in this hotel if I were ever in Lexington again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the irish view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#12 of 71 in Lexington
1,145 reviews
0.2 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#4 of 71 in Lexington
333 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
5.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Lexington
Hyatt Place Lexington
#8 of 71 in Lexington
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Lexington

Property: Hyatt Regency Lexington
Address: 401 W High St, Lexington, KY 40507-1833
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
#8 Family Hotel in Lexington
#11 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Lexington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark tower rises in the heart of Bluegrass Country. This is the Hyatt Regency Lexington located in the heart of downtown... a superb combination of elegance and style. You will enjoy exquisite comfort and convenience in 366 luxurious rooms including 6 suites. A dramatic 5-story atrium lobby is the ideal gathering place before shopping at Victorian Square which is connected to the Hyatt by glass skywalks. Additional features include the Blue Fire Grill restaurant and Lobby Bar, a heated indoor pool, a fitness center and complimentary parking. The Hotel is part of the Lexington Center Complex which also houses the Lexington Convention Center, the Civic Center Shops and Rupp Arena - home to the University of Kentucky Men's Basketball team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Lexington Hotel Lexington
Lexington Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing