We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK, Stay but a few issues” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Lexington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Brandenburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OK, Stay but a few issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I would think that for such an upscale high price hotel they could do a little better job than your ordinary run of the mill roadside hotel, but I believe you get better value and service at those so called roadside hotels.

On this stay everything seemed to be in order in the room, I purchased the paid internet plan that was less a good experience. Everytime I tried to do some work the internet cut out, well in a few minutes it would start again last for 15 minutes or so and cut out again for a few minutes this went out throughout my two day stay, at one point I called the front desk and ask if there was a problem with the internet and I was told no, but they would check and call me back, well no return call.

On my first morning I went to take a shower and found that the previous guest had left a razor in the shower, now my room had appeared to be cleaned but sure enough there was someone else's razor, made me wonder how clean the room really was. I went to the front desk and informed them about the razor, they said that was awful and they would have housekeeping take care of it. That night went back to my room settle in watched a ballgame and went to sleep. Next morning got up went to take a shower and there was the other guests razor, so apparently housekeeping never did follow up, or the front desk never told them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris40181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We appreciate your thoughtful review of our hotel. Of course we apologize for the inconvenience our errors caused you. Our Housekeeping Department should have caught the item left behind by the last guest and clearly we failed to pass it on to them once you brought it our attention.

We have already responded to your Hyatt Guest Survey as well and as stated in our response we would be happy to discuss this situation with you and make it right.

Larry Bell
larry.bell@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    282
    101
    40
    21
See reviews for
183
205
48
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Powderly, Kentucky
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place to stay when in downtown Lexington. Two pet peeves of mine keep me form giving it 5 stars-- no fitted sheets and $10 daily charge for wifi connection. Wifi should be complimentary for hotel guests. Otherwise, quality of linens and bed were excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovethesnow11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your visit to our hotel. We were pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and slept well in one of our "Grand Beds." Unfortunately, the high thread count all-cotton sheets we use for our bedding package must be ironed to be wrinkle- free for our guests so we are not able to use fitted sheets. We do buy an extra large sheet so the bottom sheet stays tucked in.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were in town for a UK game at Rupp Arena. We decided to stay at the Hyatt because they had a restaurant on site and it was attached to Rupp.

We arrived around 9 on a Friday night, expecting to check in to our room and then go down to the restaurant and have a nice dinner and drinks. We were extremely lucky to get an OK parking spot in the lot across the street - there was a concert at Rupp that night and the parking lot was packed. The lady that checked us in was very friendly and put us in a room at the end of a hall when we requested a quiet location.

When we came down to the restaurant, we were sat in the bar area (which was fine), and the waiter told us he would get us menus for dinner. He came back and set a plastic table tent on our table. He explained that since there was a concert at Rupp, they were offering a limited menu due to the crowds. That is fine when the concert goers are in your restaurant/bar, but there were maybe 3 other people in the area at this time (the concert goers are in the concert). We had our choice of wings, burger, or pizza. Not exactly what we were looking for to start our weekend.

We went to the front desk and asked if there were any restaurants close by that would still be serving real food. There was a gentleman and lady at the front desk, and the guy said "You should try our restaurant, Blue Fire. They have wonderful offerings." I informed him that they were only offering limited options, and he said that the restaurant should be able to provide anything that was on the room service menu. It would be nice if the hotel employees talked to each other and at least gave a similar story... They directed us to de Sha's across the street. We were not planning on walking outside (that's why we stayed in a hotel with a restaurant), but we took the (very cold) pedestrian bridge across the street and had a pretty nice dinner. Because of the very disappointing experience we had in our hotel, we decided to stay on the other side of the pedestrian bridge for drinks at a pub that was conveniently located between the restaurant and the pedestrian bridge. Great drinks and good live music.

Our room was just OK. Threadbare bath mat (literally had frayed edges and a string coming off of it), thin cheap towels, paper thin walls (could hear everything in the hall and rooms around us), mattress was worn (sloped from edge to middle of the bed)... The worst part was the smell of smoke. I was worried when booking this hotel that they still allow smoking rooms, but since I had requested a non smoking room, I thought I'd be OK. There was one section of our room (bathroom and just outside the bathroom) that smelled heavily of smoke. Not sure if it comes through the vents in the bathroom, or if there were smoking rooms below us/beside us, but either way, it was not a pleasant smell to have when you are a non-smoker. This made us really not want to hang out in our room.

Due to it being a game day, we decided to not drive around town on Saturday (we didn't want to get stuck parking blocks away), so we walked everywhere. Not too far to campus, and as long as it's not too cold, not a bad walk. It was convenient to have the hotel connected to the arena - we didn't need to take our coats, which was very nice since there is no extra space between seats in the upper bleacher seats of Rupp.

After the game, we waited until the crowd died down a little, then got a drink in the bar. Same as the night before, there was a limited "table tent" menu...very disappointed again. We really had stayed there so we could just relax in our hotel before and after the game. We also feel that the hotel is missing out on a huge business opportunity - you have hundreds of people in your lobby/bar everytime there is an event. They do nothing to keep you there after the event is over. After the crowds die down a little, they should offer their full dinner menu (they can state that the full service starts after "X" time) to keep people from leaving and going to another restaurant in the area. Also is disappointing that, as a paying hotel guest, I get stuck without service in the restaurant because Rupp has an event. The only positive here is that the limited menu in the restaurant Sat night forced us to walk to another restaurant in town (we chose Portofino) which turned out to be a highlight of our trip.

In the future, we will definitely stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catfan3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
After reading your comments about your experience at our hotel, we can certainly understand your frustration. We do take the comments we read on this site very seriously and will follow up on them. Although we may limit our offerings in the BlueFire Grill when we are extremely busy to ensure we can accommodate everyone, we obviously could improve the manner in which we handled our guests in this case. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience and for disappointing you.

I don't think your experience was typical of the satisfaction that the vast majority of our guests have after a stay with us and I would be happy to make the situation right for you if you would reach out to me at the email address below.

Larry Bell
larry.bell@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel is very modern and clean, yet still feels warm and inviting. The room was nicely furnished and comfortable, the only concern I had was noise travel from the hallway and neighboring rooms, however this did not prove to be too much of an issue, although I think the rooms could use some sound insulation. The breakfast offered a good selection, although the coffee was pretty terrible, which has unfortunately been my general experience with Hyatts. The location was good, and was within walking distance of a great restaurant called Shakespeare's, which I highly recommend if you are only in town for one night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mwall722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
We appreciate your thoughtful review of our hotel. Thank you for your nice comments on the decor of the hotel and on the comfort of our guest rooms. We also appreciate your feedback on the quality of our breakfast buffet and we do apologize that you didn't enjoy our Starbucks Coffee.

Thank you again for your review and we hope you will return and try some of the other outstanding restaurants within walking distance of our hotel.

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Excellent stay at the Hyatt Regency in Lexington. Great Location. Attached to Rupp Arena. Excellent experience. The Hyatt has A+ customer service. Everyone I spoke with was nice and more than helpful. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a great place to stay. A++

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danielferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
We appreciate your outstanding review of our hotel and the service your received from our associates. Thank you again and we hope you return often.

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geismar, Louisiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at hotel in January, 2013 and arrived as fans were going into Rupp Arena for game. The first staff member greeted us immediately and the great service began. After an quick/easy check - in, getting settled in room, we asked for restaurant recommendations and were not disappointed with them. We tried them all before the end of our stay.
The staff, service, friendliness, and helpfulness were exemplary.

Room Tip: We believe that any room would be great. Our room was on the opposite end of the arena and we had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rennie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your excellent review of your stay at our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we do agree that the Hyatt Regency Lexington is the best choice for attending UK Basketball Games at Rupp Arena.

Please return again soon!

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a meeting last month in Lexington that required complicated sound and video equipment. An issue with our equipment (not the hotel's) required immediate attention and I was able to get help from the on site a/v company - Visual Aids Electronics, nearly immediately. Jim and (forgive me -I forgot his name, a younger guy) were able to rescue our meeting from being a complete disaster.

The banquet staff was also readily available and provided our meals with professional and timely service. Stephen, my contact in sales, was there to assist me with the planning at every step and followed up with me at the conclusion of the day to make sure everything was to our satisfaction.

Other comments:
Good room size
Nice menu selection
Great location
Plenty of parking

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dr_russsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review of the catering and banquet service your event received at the Hyatt Regency Lexington. We appreciate that you took the time to make others aware of your experience with our team. We will pass on your fine comments about the service quality from Stephen Tucker (Catering), Jim Owen & Brad Adkins (VAE) and our banquet staff.

Thank you for your business. Please return again soon!

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#14 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
0.2 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#3 of 71 in Lexington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
1.6 mi away
The Campbell House
The Campbell House
#16 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Lexington

Property: Hyatt Regency Lexington
Address: 401 West High Street, Lexington, KY 40507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
#8 Family Hotel in Lexington
#11 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Lexington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark tower rises in the heart of Bluegrass Country. This is the Hyatt Regency Lexington located in the heart of downtown... a superb combination of elegance and style. You will enjoy exquisite comfort and convenience in 365 luxurious rooms including 9 suites. A dramatic 7-story atrium lobby is the ideal gathering place before shopping at Victorian Square which is connected to the Hyatt by glass skywalks. Additional features include the Glass Garden restaurant, Lobby Bar, a heated indoor pool, a fitness center and complimentary parking. The Hotel is part of the Lexington Center Complex which also houses the Lexington Convention Center, the Civic Center Shops with over a dozen boutiques and food court, the UK Basketball Musuem and Rupp Arena - home to the University of Kentucky Men's Basketball team, the Lexington Horsemen National Indoor Football team and various concerts and programs throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Regency Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Lexington Hotel Lexington
Lexington Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing