We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great downtown location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great downtown location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel during a getaway weekend. The hotel is clean, the rooms are nicely decorated, the beds are very comfortable. The location is within walking distance to many restaurants, Triangle Park, and Rupp Arena. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank teamboulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We appreciate the excellent review of our hotel and we agree, our downtown location is second to none. Many of our guest rooms overlook Triangle Park's beautiful new ice rink, which is now open for skaters and watchers alike.

In short, with our convenience to art galleries, upscale restaurants, and Lexington's nightlife, our central location makes us a great place to spend a holiday weekend.

We hope you will return soon!

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    286
    104
    40
    24
See reviews for
186
209
48
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

For a "luxury" hotel this one falls short. We stayed there because it was convenient to a place we wanted to visit. We chose a room in the 11th floor on the recommendation of the clerk who was very nice. The view from the window was really nice at night. It overlooks the Victorian Square park with a beautiful waterfall fountain that frames the park. There was also an ice skating rink and it was fun to see the people skating, etc.

The interesting and convenient thing about the Victorian Square is the system of pedestrian walkways which connect all the buildings around the square. They are covered walkways above the street level. Very nice during the blustery, cold rainy night!

The room itself was OK. actually pretty nice. The bed was comfortable and it appeared to be pretty clean. However, they actually want to charge you nearly $10/day for internet access! That's a ripoff since the hotel is not cheap. Likewise with the parking. They want $20 for the valet parking. Otherwise you have to park across the street but almost a block away because there are no spaces available anywhere near the hotel. I guess it's not too bad in warm, dry weather, but in a blustery, wet, windy and cold night, it was no fun at all.

We ate at the Blue Fire Bar & Grill in the hotel the food was so-so. My scallops were delicious, but the sides were not so good. My wife's food was equally a mixed bag. The service was nothing short of bizarre. The server was attentive but weird. At the end of the meal we sat for at least 15 minutes waiting for the check. When he finally arrived, he took my credit card and never returned! We waited and waited and finally left our table and went to look for him. We spoke with him and several other servers/managers and asked for my credit card but they basically ignored us. We must have sat and fidgeted and tried to make eye contact with people for half an hour without any success. Finally they found that no one had bothered to run the bill through the cash register! I think our server was on drugs or something, and the rest of them are either incompetent or space cadets.

Later a big guy in a suit saw me looking through my camera lens in the lobby and promptly told me that I was not allowed to take pictures inside the hotel! OK, maybe so, I don't really care but it's a hell of a way to treat a paying customer in an up-scale hotel

Room Tip: Try upper floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller2Atlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience. As you can tell from the many other reviews on this web site, your experience was not typical of what our guests receive.

Please contact me at larry.bell@hyatt.com. I would like to discuss your experience with you and see what I can do to make things right for you.

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We always stay at the Hyatt when we visit Lexington. Its right downtown and has everything we need. Rooms are awesome and can't beat being attached to Rupp for a concert or a game. We walk to great dining or local bars, never feel like we have to worry about safety.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bwalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for the excellent review of the Hyatt Regency Lexington. As you point out in your comments, our hotel is within walking distance to the growing nightlife entertainment and white tablecloth restaurants of downtown Lexington.

We hope you will continue to return time and again!

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Recently visited the Hyatt for a convention that was held there. I have been there several times previously and this like the many others was a great time. The staff is always friendly and the service was dead on point. The bar is one of the biggest hangouts in the evening and most nights, it doesn't disappoint. Right next to Rupp and all kinds of shops and a decent food court. Good time...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cshaunwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for sharing with the experience you had at our hotel with other potential guests. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

With basketball season here, the BlueFire Grill is the place to warm up before any UK home ballgame. Our beautiful bar and grill are just a few steps from your seat at Rupp Arena. If you are a bourbon lover, try our Woodford Reserve Personal Selection on your next visit. It was selected especially for our hotel with assistance from Woodford Reserve's Master Distiller.

We hope you return for another visit to the Hyatt soon!

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
149 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Nice clean hotel. Very large, with a massive convention centre attached. Valet parking $20 a night, but there is self parking over the road if you would rather.
Room was spacious, clean and with good amenities. Great HD TV. One strange thing is there is free wifi in the bar and lobby, but not in your room! Although the wifi in the bar and lobby wifi was a little variable.
We did not have breakfast in our package, but there are breakfast places just outside and a Starbucks just across the square.
Staff very friendly and knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeandallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review of the Hyatt Regency Lexington. We appreciate your fine comments about both the cleanliness of our hotel and the professional service from our staff.

You should enjoy your next stay with us even more, as we will soon be upgrading our television programming to include many more HD channels.

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LongIsland, NY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Recently checked in after flight was diverted to find that my pre-paid, non-refundable room had been given to someone else.

Be careful of prepaying your stay as the night clerks will not make an effort to accommodate you.

Room Tip: chose a fountain view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rvclita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on TripAdvisor.com. Once again, I do apologize for the inconvenience. I appreciate your candor during our conversation yesterday and I am happy that we were able to resolve this issue to your satisfaction.

We look forward to regaining your confidence in us on your next visit.

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
147 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

What a beautiful and luxurious hotel in downtown Lexington. We were impressed from the moment we drove up to the hotel. Our room was wonderful and the entire four days that we spent here were fantastic. The hotel staff here is exceptional and could not have been more helpful with anything that we needed. I would especially like to thank David who works in the bar area and restaurant. There were 10 people in our group and David went above and beyond to make our stay more pleasurable. I would also like to mention that the food in the restaurant was delicious. The next time we are in Lexington, there is no doubt that we will stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the atrium are not as quiet as those on the other side of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your outstanding review of the Hyatt Regency Lexington. We will be sure to share your extremely positive comments about the service with our staff. We are very proud of them.

If your party was here for the University of Kentucky versus Mississippi State game, then I know you enjoyed that experience as well. We will try and give you a better game next year.

Please return soon.

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#14 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
0.2 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#2 of 71 in Lexington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
1.6 mi away
The Campbell House
The Campbell House
#17 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Lexington

Property: Hyatt Regency Lexington
Address: 401 West High Street, Lexington, KY 40507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
#8 Family Hotel in Lexington
#11 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Lexington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark tower rises in the heart of Bluegrass Country. This is the Hyatt Regency Lexington located in the heart of downtown... a superb combination of elegance and style. You will enjoy exquisite comfort and convenience in 365 luxurious rooms including 9 suites. A dramatic 7-story atrium lobby is the ideal gathering place before shopping at Victorian Square which is connected to the Hyatt by glass skywalks. Additional features include the Glass Garden restaurant, Lobby Bar, a heated indoor pool, a fitness center and complimentary parking. The Hotel is part of the Lexington Center Complex which also houses the Lexington Convention Center, the Civic Center Shops with over a dozen boutiques and food court, the UK Basketball Musuem and Rupp Arena - home to the University of Kentucky Men's Basketball team, the Lexington Horsemen National Indoor Football team and various concerts and programs throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Lexington Hotel Lexington
Lexington Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing