We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Cool Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Lexington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Lexington to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Lexington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 West High Street, Lexington, KY 40507   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Very Cool Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Recently visited the Hyatt for a convention that was held there. I have been there several times previously and this like the many others was a great time. The staff is always friendly and the service was dead on point. The bar is one of the biggest hangouts in the evening and most nights, it doesn't disappoint. Right next to Rupp and all kinds of shops and a decent food court. Good time...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cshaunwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for sharing with the experience you had at our hotel with other potential guests. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

With basketball season here, the BlueFire Grill is the place to warm up before any UK home ballgame. Our beautiful bar and grill are just a few steps from your seat at Rupp Arena. If you are a bourbon lover, try our Woodford Reserve Personal Selection on your next visit. It was selected especially for our hotel with assistance from Woodford Reserve's Master Distiller.

We hope you return for another visit to the Hyatt soon!

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London
Level Contributor
149 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Nice clean hotel. Very large, with a massive convention centre attached. Valet parking $20 a night, but there is self parking over the road if you would rather.
Room was spacious, clean and with good amenities. Great HD TV. One strange thing is there is free wifi in the bar and lobby, but not in your room! Although the wifi in the bar and lobby wifi was a little variable.
We did not have breakfast in our package, but there are breakfast places just outside and a Starbucks just across the square.
Staff very friendly and knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janeandallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review of the Hyatt Regency Lexington. We appreciate your fine comments about both the cleanliness of our hotel and the professional service from our staff.

You should enjoy your next stay with us even more, as we will soon be upgrading our television programming to include many more HD channels.

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LongIsland, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Recently checked in after flight was diverted to find that my pre-paid, non-refundable room had been given to someone else.

Be careful of prepaying your stay as the night clerks will not make an effort to accommodate you.

Room Tip: chose a fountain view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachingItAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on TripAdvisor.com. Once again, I do apologize for the inconvenience. I appreciate your candor during our conversation yesterday and I am happy that we were able to resolve this issue to your satisfaction.

We look forward to regaining your confidence in us on your next visit.

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

What a beautiful and luxurious hotel in downtown Lexington. We were impressed from the moment we drove up to the hotel. Our room was wonderful and the entire four days that we spent here were fantastic. The hotel staff here is exceptional and could not have been more helpful with anything that we needed. I would especially like to thank David who works in the bar area and restaurant. There were 10 people in our group and David went above and beyond to make our stay more pleasurable. I would also like to mention that the food in the restaurant was delicious. The next time we are in Lexington, there is no doubt that we will stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the atrium are not as quiet as those on the other side of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your outstanding review of the Hyatt Regency Lexington. We will be sure to share your extremely positive comments about the service with our staff. We are very proud of them.

If your party was here for the University of Kentucky versus Mississippi State game, then I know you enjoyed that experience as well. We will try and give you a better game next year.

Please return soon.

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Recently stayed for 3 nights, 4 days in Lexington, Ky and enjoyed the Hyatt. It's rooms are nicely decorated and the beds are so comfortable! Great view of downtown if requested and close to so many great restaurants within walking distance! Triangle Park is beautiful in the evening and you feel relatively safe walking the streets. Room service is pricey and the pretzel/beer cheese was not too tasty but the lobby restaurant serves a wonderful breakfast. Always nice to pick up a few Kentucky items in the adjacent stores by Rupp Arena.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationtakeusaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Hyatt Regency Lexington. We appreciate the nice comments about your visit, our comfortable "Grand Bed" and the overall quality of our accommodations.

As you mention in your review, many of our rooms have a view of beautiful Triangle Park and the view is about to get better as the park staff will shortly be installing an ice rink for the winter, ala Rockefeller Center in NYC.

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. Great location near nightlife in the center of Lexington. Lobby area is great, but a shame the lobby bar closes early. Friday night they had last call around 11:30pm even though the bar area was hopping and the baseball game was still on TV. Crazy that for the price you don't get free wi-fi in the room. The room was great and spacious with both a desk and sitting area. Bedding was top quality. Exercise room was good. Our only problem was the noise. The first night we were in a room by the elevator with a door to a connecting room. We could hear everything the people in the room next to us were saying, not to mention the conversations we could hear from those waiting for the elevator. When I spoke to the front desk after the first night they quickly moved us to another room and did give us free wi-fi in our room. We moved to a room at the end of the hall. Sound was better, but we could still completely hear conversations from people in the hallway plus the random police cars and fire trucks from the street. Sound proofing seems to be an issue.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a non-connecting room at the end of the hall due to noise issues.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SueZet80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your overall positive review of our hotel. We appreciate your bringing the tranquility issues to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Thank you for the nice comments about the comfort of our "Grand Beds" and the overall quality of our guestrooms. We hope you return soon.

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed for a Saturday night after a UK football game. Our room was on the 14th floor and overlooked triangle park.
The room was nice, clean and quiet. The only bad thing was the bathroom did not have a fan which was strange.
Also when we went to the bar for a nightcap they were running everyone out at 11:30 on a Saturday night. We were in the middle of enjoying a glass of wine when security came in and told everyone they were closing and they could take their drink to their room. Good grief, it was a Saturday night and the bar was full.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reedarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. All the guest bathrooms connect to a centralized system that vents to our roof.

We will certainly share your review with our staff so that we can make improvements to our service. Please accept our apology for interrupting your glass of wine in the BlueFire Grill.

Please return again soon.

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#23 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 749 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
3.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lexington near the University of Kentucky
5.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Lexington
Hyatt Place Lexington
#17 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Lexington

Address: 401 West High Street, Lexington, KY 40507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
#8 Family Hotel in Lexington
#11 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Lexington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark tower rises in the heart of Bluegrass Country. This is the Hyatt Regency Lexington located in the heart of downtown... a superb combination of elegance and style. You will enjoy exquisite comfort and convenience in 365 luxurious rooms including 9 suites. A dramatic 7-story atrium lobby is the ideal gathering place before shopping at Victorian Square which is connected to the Hyatt by glass skywalks. Additional features include the Glass Garden restaurant, Lobby Bar, a heated indoor pool, a fitness center and complimentary parking. The Hotel is part of the Lexington Center Complex which also houses the Lexington Convention Center, the Civic Center Shops with over a dozen boutiques and food court, the UK Basketball Musuem and Rupp Arena - home to the University of Kentucky Men's Basketball team, the Lexington Horsemen National Indoor Football team and various concerts and programs throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Regency Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Lexington Hotel Lexington
Lexington Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing