We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Downtown Comfortable”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Recently stayed for 3 nights, 4 days in Lexington, Ky and enjoyed the Hyatt. It's rooms are nicely decorated and the beds are so comfortable! Great view of downtown if requested and close to so many great restaurants within walking distance! Triangle Park is beautiful in the evening and you feel relatively safe walking the streets. Room service is pricey and the pretzel/beer cheese was not too tasty but the lobby restaurant serves a wonderful breakfast. Always nice to pick up a few Kentucky items in the adjacent stores by Rupp Arena.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationtakeusaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Hyatt Regency Lexington. We appreciate the nice comments about your visit, our comfortable "Grand Bed" and the overall quality of our accommodations.

As you mention in your review, many of our rooms have a view of beautiful Triangle Park and the view is about to get better as the park staff will shortly be installing an ice rink for the winter, ala Rockefeller Center in NYC.

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    298
    112
    42
    26
See reviews for
195
217
49
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. Great location near nightlife in the center of Lexington. Lobby area is great, but a shame the lobby bar closes early. Friday night they had last call around 11:30pm even though the bar area was hopping and the baseball game was still on TV. Crazy that for the price you don't get free wi-fi in the room. The room was great and spacious with both a desk and sitting area. Bedding was top quality. Exercise room was good. Our only problem was the noise. The first night we were in a room by the elevator with a door to a connecting room. We could hear everything the people in the room next to us were saying, not to mention the conversations we could hear from those waiting for the elevator. When I spoke to the front desk after the first night they quickly moved us to another room and did give us free wi-fi in our room. We moved to a room at the end of the hall. Sound was better, but we could still completely hear conversations from people in the hallway plus the random police cars and fire trucks from the street. Sound proofing seems to be an issue.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a non-connecting room at the end of the hall due to noise issues.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SueZet80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your overall positive review of our hotel. We appreciate your bringing the tranquility issues to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Thank you for the nice comments about the comfort of our "Grand Beds" and the overall quality of our guestrooms. We hope you return soon.

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed for a Saturday night after a UK football game. Our room was on the 14th floor and overlooked triangle park.
The room was nice, clean and quiet. The only bad thing was the bathroom did not have a fan which was strange.
Also when we went to the bar for a nightcap they were running everyone out at 11:30 on a Saturday night. We were in the middle of enjoying a glass of wine when security came in and told everyone they were closing and they could take their drink to their room. Good grief, it was a Saturday night and the bar was full.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reedarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. All the guest bathrooms connect to a centralized system that vents to our roof.

We will certainly share your review with our staff so that we can make improvements to our service. Please accept our apology for interrupting your glass of wine in the BlueFire Grill.

Please return again soon.

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have stayed at this Hyatt several times for business and it is a very nice, clean hotel. Just stayed there this past week. Elevators are fast, staff nice, great pillows. Food was good and fresh. I don't like the fact that you have to pay for WiFi in the rooms. They need to get with the program....McDonald's has free Wi Fi! I will not stay at a hotel without free Wi Fi unless I have to. That was the case for this stay. My meetings were at this hotel or I would not have stayed there without free Wi Fi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side facing Triangle Park. It is a great view at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slm1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
We appreciate your comments about your recent visit to our hotel. Please be assured that we take all the feedback that we receive from Tripadvisor very seriously.

Although we do have a 24 hour charge for Wi-Fi access in the guestrooms we do offer complimentary Wi-Fi access in the BlueFire Grill, the Business Center and Lobby Areas for the convenience of our guests.

Please return soon.


Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neutral Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this property, the lobby was very nice and had free wifi which was good seeing as the rooms had wifi at a cost which is always disappointing when cheaper hotels can offer it.
Free parking in the uncovered lot across the road was fine.
The staff were friendly and helpful and our room was good, the bathroom was looking a little tired.
We had a view looking downtown which was nice.
We would stay here if we were in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eeliechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and the service from our staff. We will pass on your comments to our team members as we take the feedback from our guests very seriously.

We do offer free Wi-Fi in the restaurant, bar, and lobby for the convenience of our guests. Our Business Center is equipped with two pc's for guest use with complimentary internet access as well as a printer and scanner.

Please return soon.

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The hotel was super convenient to Rupp Arena, if that's your destination. It is connected to the Hyatt, so no need to go outside in inclement weather. The immediate area seemed safe enough.

Our room (319) was very clean, and the bed was comfortable. We didn't use the shower, but I did notice a bit of black mold in the corners. Tough to avoid when using grout in a high humidity room. I appreciated the complimentary toothpaste because we forgot to pack it. Parking was convenient and free (free on weekends or have the front desk validate your parking ticket during the week), in an uncovered lot just across the street.

Not including free wifi in the price of the room is a disappointment, especially when lower tier hotels are able to offer it.

The staff was, without fail, very friendly and helpful.

I used the check-in kiosk, which I found to be convenient and very easy since I had brought the credit card I booked the room with. I was able to check-in, drop my bag off in the room, and get back to my car in under 10 minutes.

The lobby and lounge was hopping, and the hotel seems to attract a high energy crowd. It was teeming with people when we arrived at 6pm and again when we returned at 10pm. Elevators were extremely busy, so expect a wait. The bellman warned me that catching an elevator on the 3rd floor could be especially difficult during busy times, because it was usually full on the way up and the way down. So if you're staying on a lower floor, you might want to make note of where the stairs are.

My biggest complaint was the lack of soundproofing in the room. Our room overlooked the interior restaurant/lounge, and the glass door simply didn't provide adequate soundproofing. The din of music and people talking in the lounge carried up to our room. And from the other end, we could hear hallway doors slamming shut all night. They provide a clock radio with multiple iPod docks, so if I were to return I'd load white noise on my iPod and use it to try to drown out the noise.

I booked the room on Priceline for $75, and with taxes it was just shy of $100. For that price, I was happy with the value of the room. Had I paid full price, I would have asked for a higher, hopefully less noisy, room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the interior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for posting your thoughtful comments on Tripadvisor. We certainly appreciate your business and the opportunity to respond to your review of our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apology for the lack of tranquility you experienced in your guest room. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. As a tip for other travelers, you may want to consider having our Front Desk associates check you in as our kiosk will assign the first available room without regard to your special requests.

We hope you will return to our hotel soon!

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, OH
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency in Lexington over Labor Day weekend while touring the Bourbon Trail. The facilities were excellent; the decor of the room was very nice, I did not find mine to be dated or worn at all. The staff was extrememly friendly and helpful, from the front desk to the valet service. Room service was prompt. One nice touch is that when calling any place in the hotel they immediately address you upon ansering by your name-nice touch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side of the downtown park. Nice view of the fountain especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Lexington, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review of your recent stay at the Hyatt. We appreciate your thoughtful comments on the service you received from our staff of associates.

We are glad you enjoyed your tour of the Bourbon Trail, it is one of the Bluegrass area's best kept secrets. Since you are an admirer of fine whiskey, you should try our "Private Selection" bourbon in our lounge on your next visit, it was bottled just for our BlueFire Grill by Woodford Reserve.

Larry Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#14 of 71 in Lexington
1,101 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
0.2 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#3 of 71 in Lexington
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
1.6 mi away
The Campbell House
The Campbell House
#18 of 71 in Lexington
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Lexington

Property: Hyatt Regency Lexington
Address: 401 W High St, Lexington, KY 40507-1833
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
#8 Family Hotel in Lexington
#11 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Lexington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark tower rises in the heart of Bluegrass Country. This is the Hyatt Regency Lexington located in the heart of downtown... a superb combination of elegance and style. You will enjoy exquisite comfort and convenience in 366 luxurious rooms including 6 suites. A dramatic 5-story atrium lobby is the ideal gathering place before shopping at Victorian Square which is connected to the Hyatt by glass skywalks. Additional features include the Blue Fire Grill restaurant and Lobby Bar, a heated indoor pool, a fitness center and complimentary parking. The Hotel is part of the Lexington Center Complex which also houses the Lexington Convention Center, the Civic Center Shops and Rupp Arena - home to the University of Kentucky Men's Basketball team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Lexington Hotel Lexington
Lexington Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing