We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Frisco Patty Melt is sinfully awesome”
Review of Steak 'n Shake

Steak 'n Shake
Ranked #240 of 901 Restaurants in Lexington
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Steak ‘n Shake is a classic American brand famous for the Original Steakburger™ and hand-dipped Milk Shakes. Stop in today for breakfast, lunch, dinner or late night. Dine in, drive thru or carryout.
Huddy, KY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Frisco Patty Melt is sinfully awesome”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great food. Great Service. 98% health department rating displayed while we were there. Good food and friendly staff. Clean environment. Fast service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClineFamily2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Morehead, Kentucky
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food!!!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I had been to a Steak 'n Shake but my husband had not. He was very impressed! Service was fast, food was great and price was good. My husband is still talking about the price we ate for 20.00 including tip and got Milk Shakes as well!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kiser2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Used to be a regular customer.”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I literally used to go to this place 3+ times a week because the food was amazing and the servers knew us by name. We even had a spot at the bar that were pretty much "our seats" but then the lost their best cook and 5 times in a row the food was horrible to the point where I couldn't finish it, but I had to keep giving them chances because it was our favorite place to eat. Then they lost all the servers that were any good and replaced them with snobby teenagers that could care less about you or the quality of your meal (makes me feel bad for tipping some of them as well as we did) All in all I wouldn't discourage anyone from going and the only reason we no longer go is because we were so used to how things used to be. Who knows maybe someday we'll go back and give them another shot, but not anytime soon.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
99 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

A bit of nostalgia in every bite. Excellent food and service.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank durham9185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“food was disappointing”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

we love steak n shakes, but this one was very busy and service was fair and the burgers were dry, not juicy like other steak n shakes.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank trave2some
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak 'n Shake also viewed

Lexington, KY
Lexington, KY
 

Been to Steak 'n Shake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing