We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, awesome food, and cool atmosphere.”
Review of Gumbo Ya Ya

Gumbo Ya Ya
Ranked #19 of 904 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Description: Gumbo Ya Ya Fast Casual Cajun Creole is locally owned & operated by Greg and Tressa Todd. Greg started his career in the Cajun restaurant business in 1989 as an assistant manager for New Orleans native Joe Vuskovich (Original founder of Jozo's Bayou Gumbo). Greg worked under Joe V's wing for many years as a prep cook, store manager & co-partner of the original Yats Cajun Creole. After several years in the business, Greg decided to open his own Cajun joint with a “keep it simple” motto & no frills. Thus the chalkboard menu and tax included pricing. The S. Broadway location opened it's doors in January of 2004 and continues to serve up Lexington's finest Cajun cuisine around. Greg takes great pride in knowing every plate of food served in his store is prepared by him using fresh local produce (no preservatives) & that he is dishing up damn good Cajun Creole for a can’t beat it price! So, whether your in the mood for the famous Yatwich, or you need to satisfy your irrepressible urge for Maque Choux, or you just want ya some Red Beans & Rice on Wash day, Ya Ya's has got you covered!
lexington, KY
1 review
“Excellent service, awesome food, and cool atmosphere.”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We have been coming to eat here for a long time. Love the food. If you walk away hungry from here then you have a serious problem. Staff is very courteous and selection is great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skillet40311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    84
    23
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Tech Service Rep”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Excellent staff... very friendly. Food was incredible, great portion sizes. Prices were cheap for the quality of food. No waiters, no frills, but AWESOME!! Jumbalaya was my favorite... everything was superb!

Helpful?
Thank sixty6chevelleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Yum Yum Ya Ya!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was raised in New Orleans, haven't lived there for years, but still enjoy the food. Visiting Lexington I heard about this restaurant. Decided to try it as it had some of my favorite New Orleans food, jambalaya, gumbo, red beans and rice. Three of us went there, hungry! Order at the counter, sit down and within minutes your food is ready. We ordered a large jambalaya and a large half/half of red beans and gumbo. The jambalaya was only slightly dry but still tasty. The gumbo was good, but the red beans was the all around favorite. Two large dishes and only $14, excellent deal. Will definitely be going there again next trip.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dalpo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
“Love it!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We LOVE Gumbo YaYa! The food is awesome, the people are friendly, and its a really unique place- not just another burger or pizza joint!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArwenPr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Kentucky
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We found Gumbo Ya Ya through TA.
It's served casual style but the food is far from fast food.
My husband had the jambalaya and it was delicious with the right amount of heat.
I had the white bean chili with chicken on rice with tortilla chips. My only suggestion would be to offer a side of sauce or broth, etc., it tends to get dry.
The portions were large! I had something to take home.
The staff was friendly and was able to answer all our questions about the dishes.
We'll definitely be going back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tpdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gumbo Ya Ya also viewed

 

Been to Gumbo Ya Ya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing