We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting: a trip back in history” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kentucky Theater

The Kentucky Theater
Ranked #25 of 116 things to do in Lexington
Attraction details
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting: a trip back in history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I love the large theater. It takes you back to what movie houses looked like decades ago. Plus you can get wine and beer here to enjoy with the film you are watching. The staff are so friendly, you really feel like you are home. I'd rather go here than any theater in town!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ERAvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    17
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Feel the love in this restored grand movie theater”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The classic film series every summer is wonderful. We also enjoy seeing The Rocky Horror Picture Show at midnight, as well as almost all of the mainstream, independent and foreign films this theater features. The concession stands offers wine, beer and bourbon - nice! The only criticism I have is that there is another old, restored theater immediately adjacent to this one called the State Theater. It is smaller than the Kentucky theater and the seats are not as comfortable. Plus, the stage in the State Theater is way far back from the screen. Both theaters show movies at the same time, but it is always anyone's guess which theater the movie you want to see is playing in - this information is not provided to the newspapers or other advertising media, and I think it should be. Then again, I suppose alot of folks who regularly go here don't care one way or the other, but others (like me) do.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bicoastal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Atmospere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a great historal theater that has been refurbished. They have a wonderful classic movie series in the summer, and often play movies that aren't shown anywhere else in town. It has a great atmosphere and very rich style. The only complaint is a lot of the seats are starting to wear out and break down, but everything else makes it worth it. If you come to Lexington you must see a movie here at least once. The staff is always friendly and helpful. You can even grab a glass of wine to enjoy at their concession stand.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best place to see a good movie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is not the theater to catch a 3d or special effects movie. It is the best place to see a thought provoking movie. I love that they pull in smaller lesser known movies. It is the place we always head to when we see a movie which isn't all that often. If your are lucky the organist will be playing before the movie begins.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sclem_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
177 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A historical powerhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

the Kentucky Theatre in downtown Lexington is a gem. If you go for a show in the evening you may be lucky enough to hear the Wurlitzer organ being played. Lots of time, sweat, and blood has gone into renovating this theatre and the organ. You can sometimes see first run movies there as well as foreign films and other art films. parking is a problem currently (fall-winter 2012) due to renovations of the city parking garage.

this is the way I remember movie theatres from my childhood--- going to the grand movie houses in Louisville. You'll never be satisfied with a multi plex after this.

everyone that works there loves their theatre; no disinfranchised bored surly teenagers there.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ranger505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kentucky Theater also viewed

 

Been to The Kentucky Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing