We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding small Deli / Cafe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stella Kentucky Deli

Stella Kentucky Deli
Ranked #57 of 885 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
129 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Outstanding small Deli / Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Unusual, delicious, lunch and dinner entrees in a small house in the historic district near Rupp Arena. This is the American version of the British Pub, a neighborhood restaurant that serves comfort foods with a twist. Don't expect a gourmet bistro, what you will find is a pleasant place to relax and enjoy excellent food. The Mary Porter pie is a chocolate lovers delight. Highly recommended.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PaulSnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    53
    18
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food, great service, excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Great brunch, and the staff can't do enough for you. Was busy and fun, with good energy on an early Sunday afternoon. Interesting brunch specials that you don't see everyday.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Love_to_Travel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I had the J Street Club Sandwich - ham, chicken, bacon, etc.. It was soooo good! Everything is handmade and they use local farmers to purchase their food. The ham was really good. You knew it was freshly baked. I highly recommend this place to eat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sondralee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice cozy lunch spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Excellent soups and specials for lunch. Parking can be hard to obtain. Staff is friendly. Great desserts.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank julywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
169 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great for lunch, ok for dinner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stella shines with their breakfast and lunch menu.

I ate at Stella's twice while in Lexington for work last week. For lunch I had the Apple & KY Bleu Cheese sandwich, which was quite delicious. I had a cup of their tomato bisque as my side and that was especially good. The service is fine (there are only two wait staff, but they worked well together and didn't seem to have "sections" but just helped each other out.) My co-workers and I were all very pleased which is why we came back a couple days later to try out the dinner menu.

The dinner menu was just ok. A much smaller menu and nothing was that great. I had the beef stroganoff and it was pretty tasteless. What stood out at dinner was their dessert menu. We sampled four different desserts and they were all delicious!

The atmosphere is outstanding and they have lots of fun and unusual items on their menu. I would recommend it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Serendipity5963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella Kentucky Deli also viewed

 

Been to Stella Kentucky Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing