We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST Chicken Tikka Masala in the world”

Tandoor Fine Indian Cuisine
Ranked #98 of 903 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
kentucky USA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“The BEST Chicken Tikka Masala in the world”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I strongly recommend Tandoor and want to say that I really prefer eating There by ordering off the menu rather than eating the buffet. The quality level increases 10 fold when experiencing the very highest of quality Indian cuisine served directly out of the oven and skillet and Tandoor and brought out o your table sizzling hot. Their buffet is good as long as you do not mind warm rather than hot food. One of the major drawbacks of buffets in general is the inability of the steam tables to keep food hot and moist and fresh tasting for extended periods.
I really love this place and consider myself a great judge of high quality Indian cuisine having eaten at so many highly rated Indian restaurants around the world. I particularly love Tandoors Chicken Tikka Masala. The flavor is so extraordinary and is prepared to absolute perfection. The freshly prepared Garlic Nan is beyond words. Enjoy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ronandlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    22
    6
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I liked the food but it was nothing special. Strip mall Indian food. I would go back but it would not be my first choice.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetogo2662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food in Lexington”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Tandoor is the best Indian restaurant in the Lexington Kentucky. There are lot more but you won't find anyone like it. Buffet, Dinner or any special event - you can rely on their staff and management. Ambience is nice, service is fast. Must visit if you are in Lexington area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aman7151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

While the addition of several flat-screen tv's really takes away from the dining experience at Tandoor, the food is really wonderful, and the service is always great. Off the menu or the lunch buffett, this is one of our favorite places to eat.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Auntjujuky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Was very upset with the previous Tandoor.The new managament is pretty good!.We had been to dinner recently,ordered bread-naan,matar paneer,samosa .Everything was perfect,but matar-panner quantity was less for 2 people.The lunch buffet menu when we went was-naan,chole,aloo gobhi,pakoras,gulab jamun,raita,chutneys...not sure abt the non-veg options as we r vegeterians.Definately will go again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Freshflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoor Fine Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Tandoor Fine Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing