We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Teresa, the breakfast attendant, has a wonderful way.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Ranked #32 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Severna Park, Maryland
2 reviews
“Teresa, the breakfast attendant, has a wonderful way.”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express near U of Kentucky to attend my father-in-law's
funeral. I had been very close to my father-in-law, so of course it was a sad occasion.
But, Teresa, the breakfast attendant, is one of those people who make the world a happier place.
She is very hard-working; and,without her knowing initially why I was staying there, she managed to brighten my spirits and put a smile on my face.
The hotel itself is quite nice, is very clean and well-run.
I will definitely stay in the future, and hopefully, Teresa will be there to lend a smile.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara Jean B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. I personally spoke to you and appreciate you staying with us during a difficult time. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Barbara Jean Beighle - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    72
    34
    10
    6
See reviews for
71
32
12
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The BEST hotel that my family has stayed at in a long time. Would stay here again when visiting Lexington. They have the greatest staff and that means a lot to me when going to a hotel. The room/bathroom was clean!! Thanks you and the staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara Jean B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. Glad to know we made your stay enjoyable and look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Lexington.

Barbara Jean Beighle - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I just have to say that the rooms were perfectly clean. Impeccable. The staff were very friendly as well! There was a small problem with the card that I used to pay for the room, but Becca turned what could have been a nightmare into an easily fixed problem! She was definitely the best!

Room Tip: I've stayed in the King Suite in the past and stayed in a double queen room this time. Both tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandons20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara Jean B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Glad to know that the staff you encountered provided exceptional service and were able to recommend a restaurant that was to you liking. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Barbara Jean Beighle - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The room was very clean and didn't have any problems with check in. Becca and Jay at the desk were super nice and very willing to help us get to an amazing restaurant in town and book our next stay. I would highly recommend staying here and we will be staying again in May!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara Jean B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for acknowledging some of our front desk staff. Glad they were able to assist in getting you to where you needed to go in the area for dining. Hope to see you in the near future.

Barbara Jean Beighle - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOREHEAD
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We were in town for my daughter's 18th birthday and had a wonderful stay. The staff was courteous, knowledgeable, and efficient; the hotel was conveniently located downtown and only minutes away from all of the things we wanted to do; and mostly, it was so very clean! We had a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STACI M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara Jean B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
We are so glad to know you had a great stay and our location was perfect to celebrate your daughter's birthday. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you next time.

Barbara Jean Beighle - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Room smelled like a ash tray we had coffee packets but no coffee maker manager gave us a lecture in the morning when we told him about these things. Don't stay here ! Breakfast was good but the staff lady that was taking care of the food came over and sit down and changed the TV channel with out asking any guest if they were watching the channel. Don't think the staff at this hotel think of the customer 1st.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara Jean B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Good Morning Kelvin,

I am so sorry about your experience and appreciate your honesty. We do strive for excellence and I would love to have the opportunity to speak to you personally about this. If you could please call the hotel and ask for me that would be wonderful.

All my best, Barbara Jean Beighle - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
239 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is an extremely comfortable hotel in a great location in Lexington, a quick shot to downtown. The rooms are spotless, with substantial furniture and comfy beds. The free breakfast includes amazing cinnamon rolls, sausage, biscuits and gravy, a pancake maker, and usually a special dish each day. The staff at breakfast keeps it well stocked and even comes to each table to see if you need anything (hot sauce, thank you!). The indoor pool looks great and I heard good reports about it. The pet policy is $25 for each stay, well worth it for this cut above La Quinta. Not too much grass outside for dog-walking tho. This is my second stay here in a few months; I ended up here (without my dog) on the second stay through Hotwire with a really good price, but the price is reasonable anyway for this quality. Desk staff also very helpful in terms of recommendations.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pthomas156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara Jean B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback in regards to our amenities and the services you enjoyed. I'm happy to hear our staff was accommodating and ensuring everything was maintained as needed. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Barbara Jean Beighle - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lexington Near the University of Kentucky
0.5 mi away
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#47 of 71 in Lexington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.5 mi away
University Inn Hotel
University Inn Hotel
#42 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#8 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#15 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Address: 1000 Export St, Lexington, KY 40504-2683
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Lexington
#19 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Downtown at the University of Kentucky UK. This downtown Lexington, KY hotel is located just blocks from the campus of the University of KY UK & minutes from several area hospitals. We are also conveniently located 5 miles from Lexington Bluegrass Airport (LEX) & I-75/I-64 Interstate access. This downtown Lexington, KY hotel is less than 1 mile from the Lexington Convention Center & Rupp Arena. For horse lovers, this Keeneland Hotel is just a short drive from the track, the Red Mile & numerous Kentucky Horse Park events.Our corporate amenities include free high-speed Internet access, meeting room & 24-hour business center. Hospitals: University of Kentucky UK Chandler Medical Center, Saint Joseph Hospital, Central Baptist Hospital & Good Samaritan HospitalBusinesses: IBM, Lexmark, Pricewaterhouse Coopers, PNC, Central Bank, Fifth Third Bank, Fasic-Tipton, Ashland & UPSLocal Attractions: Bluegrass Lexington Airport LEX, Keeneland Horse Racing, Lexington Convention Center, Rupp Arena, University of Kentucky, UK Commonwealth Stadium, Red Mile, & Transylvania University.Visit Lexington, KY Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel while attending the following Lexington events:Fayette County High School Graduation 6/4-6/5Junior League Horse Show at the Red Mile 7/6-7/12AAU Basketball 7/13-19 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Holiday Inn Lexington
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing