We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Ranked #32 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed here for a quick overnight after a later arrival into the LEX airport.

The hotel was very clean and updated. The front desk folks were very friendly and accommodating. There was a nice continental breakfast as well.

The one negative was parking. Due to the late arrival in town, by the time we arrived at the hotel, the parking lot was jammed. We had a difficult time finding a spot, but eventually we did find one near the back of the hotel. It was a relatively well lit parking lot, but could use a bit more lighting in those area.

The hotel is in a good location, close to UK and downtown. Also has easy access to several main roads in Lexington if you need to get to another part of town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pharmgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    68
    33
    9
    6
See reviews for
64
30
11
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here during family tour. If you need to be near UK and want a "value" style hotel, this is a good option. Newer property around the corner from the hospital area. Joseph at the front desk was very helpful guy.

Rooms are clean. I recall there is a pool, although we did not use it.

Only negative is the rooms are on the small side.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We have stayed at this location numerous times and have never been dissatisfied. This place is great!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days in early May for our daughter's college graduation. Location was close to her house and the school etc.Overall not bad. Same free breakfast as the Holiday Inn Northeast in Lexington,serviceable for not having to leave.Room overall was clean,their was a small bench to put one suitcase on,seemed odd and it was stained,no portable one was around.Room had a jacuzzi tub which is located right next to the bed,so watch if you get up when it's dark! Bathroom clean too! No view but none was expected.Didn't use the pool.Parking lot was at the hotel and free! Convient to all of downtown Lexington as well.Free newspaper but saturday none were delivered,not a big deal.Price a little high for friday/saturday much lower on sunday $199 to $119.Front deak folks were fine.It's close to the schools hospitals so if you are on buisness this location would work.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharkman122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

This hotel was chose for me through my company and I had to stay there a week. It LOOKED clean, however that wasnt the case at all. Upon my arrival, I always look at around the room to see if anything is broken or missing where I can notify the staff. I pulled back the curtains and theyre was a trash bag full of Papa Johns trash sitting in the floor, as well as a dirty napkin in the window. Ok, I can handle that, the housekeeper left a bag of trash..maybe. Later that night I was about to lay down after my 4 hour trip to get there. I pulled back the blankets got into bed and felt something scratching my leg...when I moved to blankets to see what it was ........absolutely DISGUSTING a toe nail clipping, Im assuming from the previous guest. My guess, the linens had not been changed. I will never stay there again and reported this to my company as well. Poor housekeeping.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvsmygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHG Care at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear luvsmygirls,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments about the trash has been documented and forwarded to the appropriate department for necessary actions. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. We stayed in a queen suite (2 queen beds and a sitting area) and there was plenty of room for four. The location is wonderful - close to downtown and close to Keeneland and horse farms. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
310 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

My wife & i stayed here on the 15th may thru to the 17th & where very impressed with our stay. The welcome Joesph gave us was very friendly & made us feel like this was a second home. It is with in walking distance to public transport, has clean laundry facilities, the business centre has a printer & the free breakfast is great. There are several places to eat within 5 mins walking distance & reasonably priced. The room we had had two queen sized bed & was very clean. I can only say great things about our stay & have no complaints.

Room Tip: Any room here is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3406E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lexington Near the University of Kentucky
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#6 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#14 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
University Inn Hotel
University Inn Hotel
#41 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast
0.5 mi away
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#44 of 71 in Lexington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Address: 1000 Export St, Lexington, KY 40504-2683
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Lexington
#19 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Downtown at the University of Kentucky UK. This downtown Lexington, KY hotel is located just blocks from the campus of the University of KY UK & minutes from several area hospitals. We are also conveniently located 5 miles from Lexington Bluegrass Airport (LEX) & I-75/I-64 Interstate access. This downtown Lexington, KY hotel is less than 1 mile from the Lexington Convention Center & Rupp Arena. For horse lovers, this Keeneland Hotel is just a short drive from the track, the Red Mile & numerous Kentucky Horse Park events.Our corporate amenities include free high-speed Internet access, meeting room & 24-hour business center. Hospitals: University of Kentucky UK Chandler Medical Center, Saint Joseph Hospital, Central Baptist Hospital & Good Samaritan HospitalBusinesses: IBM, Lexmark, Pricewaterhouse Coopers, PNC, Central Bank, Fifth Third Bank, Fasic-Tipton, Ashland & UPSLocal Attractions: Bluegrass Lexington Airport LEX, Keeneland Horse Racing, Lexington Convention Center, Rupp Arena, University of Kentucky, UK Commonwealth Stadium, Red Mile, & Transylvania University.Visit Lexington, KY Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel while attending the following Lexington events:Fayette County High School Graduation 6/4-6/5Junior League Horse Show at the Red Mile 7/6-7/12AAU Basketball 7/13-19 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Holiday Inn Lexington
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing