We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Ranked #31 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is our second stay at this hotel and it was every bit as good as the first. We were headed into town for the Thanksgiving weekend, originally planning to stay with family. Owing to keeping third-shift hours we decided on the way we'd rather get a hotel.

I phoned from the car, inquired about availability for a King-bed, non-smoking room, and asked if we could check in early. The gentleman on the phone looked up our info from our previous stay, reserved our room and confirmed it would be ready when we got there. The whole call took about a minute and a half and that was only because he paused a several points waiting for his computer to refresh.

We arrived and checked in to find the room was waiting on us and exactly what we had asked for. We grabbed a few hours of much needed sleep and then headed off for Thanksgiving dinner with family.

The only thing that woke us during our stay was a family across the hall that had several children and a dog. Given that this was 4pm, we didn't hold it against them and turning on the fan in the room's AC unit provided enough white noise to sleep comfortably.

For the most part the room's climate controls worked well, we had a bit of difficulty at one point with the AC not working only to discover that the switch on the thermostat was just slightly off. Though it looked like it was in the "On" position, the fraction of a millimeter push to the left kicked it on and restored the room to our set temperature.

Though the hotel does have WiFi, we weren't able to get signal on the second-story (front-right corner). Fortunately the room had a wired-ethernet connection so I was able to set up my laptop and create a wireless network to use with our phones and iPad. If you're planning on using a WiFi-only device you may have better luck with a room on the first floor.

The cleanliness of the room and bathroom was superb, nothing that made us feel uncomfortable in the least. The room was also quite spacious, with an easy chair and work desk with chair. Though it was a standard hotel room layout, the room is quite a bit larger than what I've experienced in other hotels. Not a huge deal, but if you often feel cramped by a room that barely has enough space for a bed and television, you should have no problems here.

We didn't have the opportunity to try the breakfast this time because of the skewed hours we kept, but it is worth noting that the hotel sits adjacent to a lot with a 24-hour Sonic drive-in and within a mile of several all-night convenience stores. The point is, if you happen to be up at odd hours, there's food and beverages very close by.

Check out was quick and painless, just a call down to the front desk to confirm everything was in order, and we were off and headed back home. The staff was excellent once again; helpful, friendly, and professional. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and will very likely be staying here again ourselves.

Room Tip: The Executive Suite with living area and kitchenette is great for extended stays or if you plan to h...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VikingBrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 221 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stay at this hotel quite often given its proximity to UK. It's what you'd expect from a Holiday Inn Express. Nothing super fancy but everything is clean, serviceable, and reliable. Internet access/speed is good. Hotel is within a mile's walking distance of UK and is particularly close to the hospital complex. Also within walking distance of a pretty good Thai restaurant, a few other places to eat, and a gas station/convenience store.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank techleadprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

but as other reviewers have stated, the rooms are a bit old, other than that a typical, and clean holiday inn express. Location is great for exploring Lexington, campus, and tailgaiting for football games

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adempsey21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Having stayed in many Holiday Inn Express hotels, we got a distinct feeling that this hotel didn't start out as a Holiday Inn. It felt like an older hotel with a new facade, new dining area and obviously a brand new pool area. The people that work there were SO nice and extremely helpful and we truly loved the pool and hot tub area. It was clean and lovely. Unfortunately, when we walked into our room the first thing we saw was a crooked old floor lamp standing in front of an extremely stained luggage bench. The room was small, the carpet needed a good cleaning. The decor was so dark that it made the room look even smaller and, unfortunately, the mattresses were in need of replacement. Wish we had noticed the train tracks very close by before we went to bed! This hotel is in a good location so some things are a trade off. Some of the other reviews mention large rooms but we surely didn't stay in one.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peanutsNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Everything was just fine here. Clean, little noise, large rooms, all that good stuff. The best part was being able to walk onto the University of Kentucky campus within a few minutes. Their breakfast was typical but extensive and warm and I do love their cinnamon rolls.

It is right next to train tracks but I only heard the train once during my overnight stay (though I did have the AC on all night).

Room Tip: Ask for a fourth floor room so you don't have to listen to the footsteps of the people above you...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamblingRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed here while visiting UK with my son. Clean hotel. Pretty close to UK campus. Efficient staff. Nice complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel 3 years in a row when coming to UK in the fall. I have ALWAYS had a good experience here. My room was clean, had adequate towels etc. The front desk workers really helped me out my first time I came to Lexington for school all the way from California. They explained the city, drew me maps, recommended places to eat etc. I have to reiterate to visitors, even if you get GOOD directions, you're probably going to get lost in Lexington, it's hard to get around in, the streets change names all the time, tons of one way streets, and the wagon wheel concept is confusing. Our first trip we drove on the circle at least twice before realizing we were passing the SAME walmart each time. The front desk will do their best to give you good directions but that is no guarantee. Even if I gave you directions after living here 3 years, you'll probably get lost all the same.

I stayed at this hotel for $99/night each time, the front desk has been helpful, they call cabs for you if you need it, and the breakfast is "ok" so long as you're not looking for a gourmet meal. They have bagels, biscuits you can toast, gravy, toast, cereal, orange juice, etc. Make sure you get down early to eat.

Regarding the train noise...this is part of Lexington, if it's not the train, if you're staying near downtown, it'll be sirens.(Lexington is host to the only level 1 trauma center in the state). I didn't have a problem sleeping through the train or sirens even on my first trip to Lexington when I wasn't used to it. If you're concerned about train noise you can probably ask for a room in the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukstudent2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lexington Near the University of Kentucky
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#7 of 71 in Lexington
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
0.5 mi away
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#48 of 71 in Lexington
123 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#12 of 71 in Lexington
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University

Address: 1000 Export St, Lexington, KY 40504-2683
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Lexington
#19 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range: $125 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Downtown at the University of Kentucky UK. This downtown Lexington, KY hotel is located just blocks from the campus of the University of KY UK & minutes from several area hospitals. We are also conveniently located 5 miles from Lexington Bluegrass Airport (LEX) & I-75/I-64 Interstate access. This downtown Lexington, KY hotel is less than 1 mile from the Lexington Convention Center & Rupp Arena. For horse lovers, this Keeneland Hotel is just a short drive from the track, the Red Mile & numerous Kentucky Horse Park events.Our corporate amenities include free high-speed Internet access, meeting room & 24-hour business center. Hospitals: University of Kentucky UK Chandler Medical Center, Saint Joseph Hospital, Central Baptist Hospital & Good Samaritan HospitalBusinesses: IBM, Lexmark, Pricewaterhouse Coopers, PNC, Central Bank, Fifth Third Bank, Fasic-Tipton, Ashland & UPSLocal Attractions: Bluegrass Lexington Airport LEX, Keeneland Horse Racing, Lexington Convention Center, Rupp Arena, University of Kentucky, UK Commonwealth Stadium, Red Mile, & Transylvania University.Visit Lexington, KY Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel while attending the following Lexington events:Fayette County High School Graduation 6/4-6/5Junior League Horse Show at the Red Mile 7/6-7/12AAU Basketball 7/13-19 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Holiday Inn Lexington
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing