We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected from Holiday Inn Express”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Ranked #32 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not what I expected from Holiday Inn Express”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

This hotel is definitely in need of some upgrades. This is just not what I expect from Holiday Inn Express. The hotel is clean, but it just needs to be upgraded. There is a lot of exterior noise that makes it difficult to sleep as well. You can hear the train, cars etc all night long. I could also hear people talking in the room next door.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the apartment complex next door -- it will probably be a little more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ugaboy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    72
    34
    10
    6
See reviews for
71
32
12
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

After a long search for a hotel with a reasonable rate in Lexington/Louisville area, this was the one we came up with. The hotel had nice beds and pillows. Carpets need cleaning to remove spots in our room. Shower was excellent. Could hear big and little people stomping around overhead. Children running. Sleeping pill/ear plugs beneficial. Very good breakfast. Great desk but NO chair for desk; had to sit on arm of stuffed chair to work at the desk.

Room Tip: Booked room with AARP.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Putthoff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Lexington is our mid-point from SC to IL and we frequently take trips to visit my in-laws. They actually found it and recommended it to us so we they stay there just as much whenever they visit come visit us.

It is a very nice hotel. Both the exterior and interior are appealing. The room is very clean and the beds are comfortable. The front desk receptionist, Lacy, was very courteous, professional, and welcoming. She even checked on us later on to ensure everything was okay with our room.

The room had a nice decor. It seems to be a very new establishment so the furniture was up-to-date, the beds were very comfortable, and the bathroom was spacious.

There's a nice little mexican restaurant across the street as well.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brunos82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington,TX
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

After figthing for a place to park to check-in and waiting in line to check-in, I recieved the 'It's a non-smoking hotel and if I smoked there would be a $250 charge to clean the room' please sign here. OK. Went to room,guess what? The room smelled like an old ash tray full of butts.Went to the front desk to check on another room only to have the desk clerk have an attitude and tell us it was the only room she had. She then offered to have the room cleaned but it would take about an hour. I think you would want to clean your rooms before you assign them. The good news is there is a Spring Hill Suites less then a block away that has clean rooms. Stay at your own risk.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texasrangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

I stayed here only one night, and left early in the morning. Still, I enjoyed my short stay. The hotel is very close to the U of Kentucky and not far from downtown Lexington. This is a first class property with free wi-fi in the rooms. The breakfast area was large with a good selection. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelMorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Our family stayed one night enroute to TN. We usually stay in Holiday Inns because they are consistently good and we know what to expect. This location was very nice, clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. About an hour after check-in, the power went out in the bathroom. No lights, no electricity. The staff quickly moved us to a larger room and also gave us a discount on the rate we paid for the smaller room. No hassles, no problems,no arguments... just what I like.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemkamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland USA
Level Contributor
250 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed several times for business and never had any issues at this nice HIE. Staff was very friendly. Front desk and breakfast hostess were especially helpful and asked several times if there was anything further they could do to make my stay more comfortable. This time stayed on a Sunday night. Property was full of many families. Safe area. DQ across the street and SONIC just down the road. You are in Wildcat country for sure as the hotel is very close to the school. A previous reviewer stated parking can be a challenge and she was correct. I managed to find a space during my stay. The hot water was very hot and the ac was working great! My only wish is that the bed was not so soft but this can be very subjective. I have stayed multiple times and will stay again during my next visit to Lexington! Could not get the wireless to work during my stay but I had a wire and went with that option as they have wired in every room as well.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panther61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lexington Near the University of Kentucky
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast
0.5 mi away
University Inn Hotel
University Inn Hotel
#40 of 71 in Lexington
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#8 of 71 in Lexington
969 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#13 of 71 in Lexington
1,107 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Address: 1000 Export St, Lexington, KY 40504-2683
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Lexington
#19 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Downtown at the University of Kentucky UK. This downtown Lexington, KY hotel is located just blocks from the campus of the University of KY UK & minutes from several area hospitals. We are also conveniently located 5 miles from Lexington Bluegrass Airport (LEX) & I-75/I-64 Interstate access. This downtown Lexington, KY hotel is less than 1 mile from the Lexington Convention Center & Rupp Arena. For horse lovers, this Keeneland Hotel is just a short drive from the track, the Red Mile & numerous Kentucky Horse Park events.Our corporate amenities include free high-speed Internet access, meeting room & 24-hour business center. Hospitals: University of Kentucky UK Chandler Medical Center, Saint Joseph Hospital, Central Baptist Hospital & Good Samaritan HospitalBusinesses: IBM, Lexmark, Pricewaterhouse Coopers, PNC, Central Bank, Fifth Third Bank, Fasic-Tipton, Ashland & UPSLocal Attractions: Bluegrass Lexington Airport LEX, Keeneland Horse Racing, Lexington Convention Center, Rupp Arena, University of Kentucky, UK Commonwealth Stadium, Red Mile, & Transylvania University.Visit Lexington, KY Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel while attending the following Lexington events:Fayette County High School Graduation 6/4-6/5Junior League Horse Show at the Red Mile 7/6-7/12AAU Basketball 7/13-19 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Holiday Inn Lexington
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing