We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Ranked #32 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Think "My Cousin Vinny"”
Reviewed March 20, 2011

I chose to book a room at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown because it was near where I needed to go in Lexington. However, along with proximity to my business meeting locations came proximity to a freight train rail line. The hotel was literally a block or 1.5 blocks away from a rail line and freight trains were chugging through town on that line all night long. Needless to say, just like the lead character in the movie "My Cousin Vinny," I got little sleep due to the noise of the train.
If you don't mind skipping the sleep, this hotel is quite close to the University of Kentucky campus. But, if you want a decent night's sleep, you may want to find something a bit distant from the rail line.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeKerr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    74
    34
    10
    6
See reviews for
73
32
12
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2010

As early retirees we have traveled quite a bit and experienced many "good to not so good" places within the price range of this hotel. As we have now stayed at this Holiday Inn Express several times I must say that it is heads above the competition. It seems that the management and staff are always looking for an opportunity to please their guest. Rooms are clean and comfortable, beakfast good and plentiful and I would strongly recommend a stay at this hotel!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacksgramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIO
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

This is really the only hotel that is affordable around UK's campus. It has plenty of parking and is centrally located between Broadway and Nicholasville. It's within 15 minutes of almost everything in Lexington, so you're not on the wrong side of the city at any point in time- which, with the way that Lexington is designed, can be a serious problem. I snagged it for around $50 on Hotwire. The staff was exceedingly friendly and this hotel was very clean. I would tab it for future visits.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

This hotel was clean, quiet and convenient. I did rent a car but could have gotten by walking most places. The room was spacious and in good shape. There was some large party and a lot going on the weekend I was there but the noise was minimal and I could hear nothing in my room. There are no restaurants in the hotel but it serves breakfast which is ample and included in the price of the room. There is free wi-fi, a small fitness center, and a pool.

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank dreamingbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILLinois
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

I have stayed at other HIE hotels, and although there have been a couple sub par HIE's, this one is the worst!! As soon as I walked in I got a feeling of dirt. The carpet is in need of a really good cleaning plus a vacuum, and the appliances need a good wiping down. The linens are perfectly clean, but the furniture is a bit shabby, and some of it needs replacing. The smell of stale cigarettes is very over powering, and the Lysol I sprayed didn't eliminate the odor at all, that's how strong it is. There is a huge crack in the bathroom ceiling from what looks to be water damage. The room itself is a very big, and spacious room. I would not consider coming back to this hotel, and would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank vacationNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayton
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

This HIE is not up to the standards of others in which I have stayed. While it is adequate, the staff is very young and seemed somewhat inexperienced in little ways. For example as a Priority Club member, the morning paper was to be delivered to my door. However, it never arrived. While I requested a late check out, the room service personnel came to my door three times to ask, "When are you checking out?" This indicates poor communication to me. Any time I shared a concern, the response was simply, "I'm sorry about that." However, no attempt was made to make the situation right. Also, I don't mind paying $100 for a nice hotel room; however to pay this amount for a hotel that sits next to train tracks is crazy. In addition, the hotel sits near a hospital and next to a major roadway. Thus, my night was interrupted 3 times by trains, ambulances and busy traffic. The breakfast was fine..no problem at all. The room was comfortable...but this was a terrible place to put a motel. If I had to do it again, I would have stayed 2-3 miles north or south of the downtown area and made the drive each day. The congestion in Lexington isn't that bad and I could have saved $50 by staying in the outer loop and getting more rest. If t his is the only motel available, then fine. However if others are available, take another one.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Excellent location, right by the campus. Downtown is an easy drive, The Red Mile is also very close. I was actually in the area to attend the Ichthus Festival in nearby Harrodsburg and had used Lexington as a home base as opposed to camping. Lexington has a fabulous downtown and so much to offer, I recommend Desha's as a great spot downtown to go eat. This hotel was great. Very comfortable room, clean, great TV, I've mentioned the great location and while it may not matter to most people, I loved the fact they carried TVG, the horse racing fanatic that I am. Service at the front desk was very helpful, they were informative and gave wonderful tips of things to do in the area, places to eat, etc. It was all in all a very pleasant stay. My only complaints are that it was a touch expensive and really the only "downside" I could find is how much UK rules at this hotel. Blue everywhere. Hard not to find someone at the hotel, either employee or guest that isn't affiliated with the university either through themselves, friends, family, etc. There's nothing truly wrong with it, but it can numb you out quite a bit

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idreamofeuropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lexington Near the University of Kentucky
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#7 of 71 in Lexington
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
0.5 mi away
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#48 of 71 in Lexington
123 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#12 of 71 in Lexington
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Address: 1000 Export St, Lexington, KY 40504-2683
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Lexington
#19 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Downtown at the University of Kentucky UK. This downtown Lexington, KY hotel is located just blocks from the campus of the University of KY UK & minutes from several area hospitals. We are also conveniently located 5 miles from Lexington Bluegrass Airport (LEX) & I-75/I-64 Interstate access. This downtown Lexington, KY hotel is less than 1 mile from the Lexington Convention Center & Rupp Arena. For horse lovers, this Keeneland Hotel is just a short drive from the track, the Red Mile & numerous Kentucky Horse Park events.Our corporate amenities include free high-speed Internet access, meeting room & 24-hour business center. Hospitals: University of Kentucky UK Chandler Medical Center, Saint Joseph Hospital, Central Baptist Hospital & Good Samaritan HospitalBusinesses: IBM, Lexmark, Pricewaterhouse Coopers, PNC, Central Bank, Fifth Third Bank, Fasic-Tipton, Ashland & UPSLocal Attractions: Bluegrass Lexington Airport LEX, Keeneland Horse Racing, Lexington Convention Center, Rupp Arena, University of Kentucky, UK Commonwealth Stadium, Red Mile, & Transylvania University.Visit Lexington, KY Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel while attending the following Lexington events:Fayette County High School Graduation 6/4-6/5Junior League Horse Show at the Red Mile 7/6-7/12AAU Basketball 7/13-19 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
Holiday Inn Lexington
Holiday Inn Express Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing