We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good”

Joe Bologna's Restaurant and Pizzeria
Ranked #14 of 893 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our family has visited Joe Bologna's for many years and we return again and again. the food is consistently good and the atmosphere is great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sandysuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    155
    42
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Being a native new Yorker it is hard to find good Italian food here in KY. This place was very close. I love love love there sauce and bread sticks. The kids had pizza and it was o.k. I think next time we will try the thin crust and it will be more of what I am used to. Fried appetizer combo also excellent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lizzy1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
“Fresh and Authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Have eaten here three times and food has been consistent. Once it was with a large party and they accommodated us well. The menu has some creative offerings in terms of the pizza - more like I have found in the larger cities back east. All seemed very fresh and well prepared. The hostess has generally seemed a bit less than gracious - often seeming rather harried/irritated and the wait staff has also seemed to be rushing. The food, however is worth it. Very interesting building- originally a synagogue then a church, there is evidence of those previous days including stained glass. Noise level can be high so not a reliable place for quiet conversation.
Bread sticks tasted delicious but unfortunately they are served with butter (not olive oil) so I declined.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyce O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Kentucky
1 review
“Worst ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

If you weigh 500lbs this is your place honestly didn't feel comfortable for 3 days plenty of chemicals and dough conditioner

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
199 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food! The bread is Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We didn't dine in and took carry out back to our hotel. The food was VERY good and the enormous breadsticks were so soft and yummy! We had a lot of people in our group and a lot of food and everything ordered was good, hot and tasted perfectly homemade.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CandiSpfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Bologna's Restaurant and Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Joe Bologna's Restaurant and Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing