We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Bit Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Limestone Blue

Limestone Blue
Ranked #247 of 885 Restaurants in Lexington
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Bit Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

The concept is a good one, the atmosphere is great, the location is prime, but the food is far from stellar. We ordered one of their signature sandwiches which was on a local bakery's ciabatta. It was a difficulty sandwich to eat and the fillings were skimpy. We also had a entree salad with chicken, walnuts, fruit, etc. There was plenty of lettuce, but little else. Very, very, disappointing. I cannot imagine that they will last long serving fare like this.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank InteriorDesignProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches and mac & cheese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Based on his recommendation, I took my son to lunch here . They have great sandwiches but their real niche is mac & cheese . Each day they have a special recipe mac & cheese and I recommend any of them .

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark-KYBizBroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hole in the wall for a good sandwich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were looking for a late lunch. After more than five minutes in a small nearly empty space sitting right next to three chatty servers and a bartender we still hadn't been attended too even though we had been greeted and seated. That was the low point though as the sandwich selections were enticing, the sandwiches were great and the decor was fun and modern.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WeeznBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Love, love, love! Yum-yum-yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I'm loving this place! Not only the food but the atmosphere & space. Went at 1:00 on Friday w/a friend & it was just perfect. Not too packed so getting a table was easy. I also didn't feel rushed. I had the Brie sandwich & it was d-e-l-i-c-i-o-u-s. Our waitress was very nice also. Just wish I could remember her name so that I could write it here. She was blonde w/a pony tail That's all I've got! Go try this place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“my new favorite place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Limestone Blue has a variety of great sandwiches, salads, and sides. I've had their grippos mac and cheese and the Hot Brown Mac and Cheese. Both are delicious. The "hot mamma" which is pulled buffalo chicken with a blue cheese cole slaw is to die for. Breakfast is good. And i had a sandwich with turkey, brie, bacon, and apples that was fantastic. and everything is $8. LOVE

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Limestone Blue also viewed

 

Been to Limestone Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing