We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jonathan at Gratz Park - CLOSED

Jonathan at Gratz Park
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: W Second St and Upper Street
Description: Regional Redefined Cuisine in Historic Downtown Lexington, Located Inside the historic Gratz Park Inn
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
1,602 reviews
832 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 515 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

This continues to be one of the premier restaurants in Lexington. Set inside an inn off Gratz Park, it is readily accessible to local hotels as well as nightly entertainment along Main Street. A menu filled with creative choices for appetizers, entrees and desserts makes Jonathan's an excellent choice for a special occasion or simply an exceptional alternative to other restaurants. The standard chicken, beef and fish dishes are supplemented with some very interesting daily specials. Save room for dessert for an exciting blend of tastes (e.g., lemon pudding and blueberry ice cream). An excellent wine and beer menu. Professional wait staff who are attentive to your needs. The dining room is delightfully intimate with a quiet hush; but its popularity means that when the second sitting has arrived, there is a bit of nervous energy among the staff about those who are lingering too long. Reservations are a must.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffl499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    24
    17
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“So wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

What a great spot. Feels like a step back in time decor wise...but the food is current and fantastic. Amazing scallops, salmon, oysters, filet, and even the green salad. Desserts also excellent. Food was top notch, presentation lovely. Service was efficient but a tad cool...other staff working that night seemed more engaged with their customers. All in all a delightful evening. Good wine and cocktail list too. Try some of the cocktails ...we'll be back next Rolex!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Babs621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food, uncomfortable atmosphere/service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Food was excellent. Atmosphere was dark and stuffy. Hostess and waitress were very awkward; nothing felt natural or comfortable. Overall just didn't feel like a good fit. If you like very traditional, Southern restaurants (think dark, wood paneling) then this would suit you well. Not particularly modern or interesting, so maybe not best for young people. Again though, food was delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TNLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Oh My....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I had dinner at Jonathan's at Gratz Park for our anniversary. It was delightful. My husband is still talking about the BBQ Quail in Blackberry sauce. The food was wonderful and the service was impeccable. Before our trip to Lexington, I did a little research on food native to Kentucky. Two of those are hot browns and burgoo. I was able to try both with an upscale twist at Jonathan's. The Sea Scallop Hot Brown was wonderful. I had a Grilled Ceasar Salad with red pepper and crispy black eyed peas and Jonathan's take on burgoo. It was something special! My review would not be complete without mentioning the refreshing Bell Breezing martini. I thought it was very good. The Spaulding Donut with vanilla ice cream in a warm sauce was absolutely sinful! The atmosphere was very intimate and perfect for an anniversary celebration!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, WV
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

A group of colleagues and I dined at Jonathan at Gratz Park while in town for a conference. It lived up to its online rating with great food and outstanding service. I ordered roasted red pepper and goat cheese bruschetta -- which was delicious. For my house salad, I opted for the lemon white-balsalmic vinaigrette, which had a refreshingly light flavor. For my entree, I had the fried chicken and garlic mashed potatoes. The chicken was cooked to perfection -- still juicy and flavorful. And the mashed potatoes were well seasoned. Dessert brought a cinnamon ice cream, and it was a perfect cap to a delicious meal. Service was professional and attentive. They were very helpful as we worked out the bill for our large group. It's tucked away in a quiet little section of town, but was easy to find for this out-of-towner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jonathan at Gratz Park also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing