We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tuna salad on a hard tomato with dried toast”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Jonathan at Gratz Park - CLOSED

Jonathan at Gratz Park
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: W Second St and Upper Street
Description: Regional Redefined Cuisine in Historic Downtown Lexington, Located Inside the historic Gratz Park Inn
Tijeras, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tuna salad on a hard tomato with dried toast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

So, trying to be healthy, I ordered the tuna salad, to be on a tomato with 'toast tips' or something like that. Well, those dried-out slivers went crack, or crunch, contrasting with the much milder tuna salad. Oh, tuna salad. Well, might have been fresh, but not exceptionally. Tasty - OK.
The tomato - very firm. Looked like if you put it in the window, it would be ripe in a couple days. One of most tasteless tomatoes I've ever tasted.
So, later that day, I had another tuna salad on a tomato at a pizza joint in Vevay, IN. The tuna salad was tastier! The tomato was ripe and tasted like a tomato! And the cost? About half. The clientele was far more interesting as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnPlaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    24
    17
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
89 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“First timer during restaurant week”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I went here for Restaurant Week because I had never been before but knew it had a great reputation in town. We did the 4-course tasting menu. The appetizers (country ham pot stickers, scallop hot brown, Makers 65 salmon) were great, salad could have used more dressing, it was slightly dry and the shiitake "bacon" mushrooms were very salty so more of the buttermilk dressing could have offset this. The beef had a nice flavor, although slightly dry. The peanut butter fudge ice cream was very creamy and indulgent. My only complaint was that we had reservations but still had to wait 30 minutes for our table and the service was very very slow.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tdottie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Must Be Southern Living”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Located in a boutique hotel. Shared the pimento-cheese grit fries for an appetizer. Looked like Lincoln Logs with Southern chow-chow and a pimento cheese sauce...But, so good! Also, loved the sauce (pineapple, arugula, corn) with the sea bass. My husband loved his beef filet, with a brandy pepper-corn cream sauce that the chef made special for him. The wait staff was so professional, in the best sense of the word, and he was knowledgable about the best wines. Great atmosphere in the dinning room, but others seemed to be enjoying their dinner in the bar. My only quasi-negative comments are that some "front of the house" employees should be more professionally attired, and the bar-staff might want to be more engaging with the other than "regular" customers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank artsletters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and wanted a special dinner for the occasion and we got it. There weren't very many diners eating here on the Sunday night we were there, but we didn't care. Our server was excellent. He knew the menu and was very easy to get information from since this was our 1st trip to Jonathan's. We liked the idea of one of their evening specials, fresh corn soup but were concerned about one of the spices. Our server assured us that the spice in question was not going to be noticeable at all - he was right, it was delicious. We had shrimp & grits & beef tenderloin. They were both cooked to perfection. We did try some ice cream for desert and the single serving was frozen solid. Our server took it back to the kitchen and softened it up so that we could get a spoon into it.
Great service, great kitchen.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank golfergeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
338 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Traditional Hot Brown Plus Fine Dining in Downtosn Lexington”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

The Kentucky Hot Brown is a delicious signature dish and the second time around was as good as the first. Three deviled eggs as a starter were very good- a little peppery, but tasty. The Fried Green Tomato BLT is a very good regional take on an old standby. This is probably the best fine dining white tablecloth restaurant in Lexington. The braised short ribs are also worth a look. A nice bar with many special bourbons.
Located in the historic Gratz Park Inn.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HazardBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jonathan at Gratz Park also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing