We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always good. Highly recommended.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dudley's on Short

Dudley's on Short
Reserve with OpenTable
Dudley's on Short is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 885 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Located in the heart of downtown Lexington, Dudley's On Short offers award winning modern American cuisine with a wine list and service to match.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Always good. Highly recommended.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I often go to Dudley's at both lunch and dinner, and am never dissappointed. The meals - from the salads like the kale salad to the main dishes and specials - are always excellent and often creative and interesting. Very good atmosphere, but expecially on the roof garden and sidewalk tables. Service is always good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lexfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    98
    38
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pikeville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere & Attentive Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Perfect space upstairs for our Bridal Luncheon. Staff was so attentive and gracious! Tomato bisque was delicious; however, it was only lukewarm. Chicken salad okay, sinfully rich walnut chocolate chip pie!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dawn1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Many things to commend. A few shortcomings.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Really a lovely space. Hostesses are very pleasant, menu interesting and food is good to very good. Our waiter seemed a misfit for the type of restaurant. I asked for a cocktail in a short glass. When it arrived in a taller one, I was a little surprised and said, " oh, no short glasses?" Response was, " Yeah, I asked for a short one and that's what they gave me." Really? Table next to us was served with short glasses, so it appears he just didn't care. His service was similarly cavalier. I noticed other waiters who seemed more gentile and one stepped in on one occasion, and was lovely. So, perhaps just a less-than-adequate-waiter for a nice place. We would try it again, despite the one time "less than good service".

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Appaltripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholasville, Kentucky
2 reviews
“Definitely not a steak place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Dudley's is one of my wife's fvorite places, or was. Went for a Christmas dinner and I ordered the Prime Strip special, which is a $45 entree. Half of it was so tough it could not be eaten. When I spoke with the server and the manager, the manager said he could see there was a lot of "tendon" in the cut, but "that's the way it can be with beef!" Unacceptable response, and worse yet, an unacceptable solution: he offered a free dessert. Won't be on our agenda to ever return to Dudley's!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Quentin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

I had read some reviews on here which were not very complimentary. I have no idea what could have prompted those reviews. My visit last night was fantastic. The food was exceptional as was the service. Dudley's on Short is easily one of the finest restaurants in which I have ever dined. I look forward to my next visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dudley's on Short also viewed

 

Been to Dudley's on Short? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing