We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dud Short on serive”
Review of Dudley's on Short

Dudley's on Short
Reserve with OpenTable
Dudley's on Short is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 901 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Located in the heart of downtown Lexington, Dudley's On Short offers award winning modern American cuisine with a wine list and service to match.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dud Short on serive”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

One of my favorite Lexington restaurants has taken a deep dive for the worst. The service has slowly gone down hill since last summer and it never revived. Hue food lacks a freshness that once differentiated itself from any other. My last three visits have been hugely disappointing. Even the bread isn't good anymore.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank pawprints8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    106
    39
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First Lexington Experience”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was recommended as a must-do for drinks in Lexington. We enjoyed drinks at the bar, split a pizza and salad just for a light dinner after a long drive into town. Neat stuff all over for fellow horse racing lovers like us, comfortable although I felt a bit of a second class citizen at the bar. Efficient service and excellent food. I'd like to come back to "do it right" for a big dinner at a table in the dining room.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dumont82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Just a great restaurant”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Where to start?
Service very very good!
Wine list deep without being silly. Particularly good European selection
Our table had Duck, lamb chops and short ribs.... All very good
Surprising to find such a wonderful restaurant in a small city

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MEMcN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dudley Do Right”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Ate here 10/22 after a cross country flight. Met my team, and hosts, and showed up at 7:30 (5 of us) without a reservation. Seated immediately. Restaurant smelled of fish (snapper), suggesting kitchen exhaust could be better, and was unappetizing...to me.

The dining room is like an old Victorian parlor, several rooms, each with several tables. Service was incredibly formal, in ways that didn't exactly make sense. Footmen everywhere, but slow. Some might have enjoyed this, but to see the "bread waiter" circle the rooms several times before stopping at ours, was just weird. Breads (rolls) are displayed on a silver tray, and there are several (clover rolls, steakhouse rolls, sourdough bread, clover roll, rye roll and...sweet berry muffins). Each person at the table is shown (Felt like Carson serving me at Downton Abbey) the platter, and picks, and the bread waiter serves them. Then, when all are served, he presented butter in little sherbert dishes. I tell you all of this not as criticism, but to let you know how affected this type of place is. This always leads to a couple of awkward interruptions of conversation by wait staff, since they are so programmed, they have to see you when they are there. A lot of stuff for show. If you like that, you'll love Dudley's on Short.

I don't, particularly.

For me it is/was about the food, and this is where the restaurant shone. Lovely Tasmanian salmon fillet, served over what is the most unique risotto dish I have ever seen: Miso-Pumpkin Risotto, perfectly cooked. I am sure there was a risotto cook in the kitchen,whose sole job (like the bread waiter) is cooking the most sublime risotto. A+. I had a prime Strip Steak, and it was just that, but served over wilted mustard green just bitter enough to make the steak extraspecialgood! I don't even remember the starch, but there was one. I also had a very nice Caesar salad, topped with two nice white anchovy filets. (My waiter actually offered to have them removed without prompting. "You want that without the anchovies, right?" Wrong.) I know anchovies on Caesar are not everybody's cup of tea, but they are authentic in a Caesar, so the question seems to reflect that the clientele has rejected them in the past. Entree's were $26-36.

We didn't stay for dessert, but will next time.

Interesting wine by the glass menus, included a 2006 Silver Oak cab, $20/glass.

It's not perfect, but I enjoyed the food quite a bit. I think you will, too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IanMaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfort,ky
Level Contributor
131 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“strange but pretty good”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have eaten in this restaurant many times over the past 7 years with very mixed results.
The restaurant is unnecessarily expensive..how about $45 for a prime New York strip? Not even the best steak houses in the midwest would charge as much.
The main courses usually come with an inedible garnish which results in a well prepared entree
tasting strange. I think that the chef might be a little too cute.
It is also off-putting when the bread waiter offers sweet muffins before the meal.
A decent place to eat, very expensive, and should be better.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank miamisaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dudley's on Short also viewed

 
Lexington, KY
 

Been to Dudley's on Short? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing