We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent sushi”
Review of Sugano Japanese Restaurant - CLOSED

Sugano Japanese Restaurant
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Kensington, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We were in Lexington for the Rolex 3 day event and were looking for a sushi restaurant. We chose this one based on the trip advisor reviews and were very pleased. It is a little hard to find, and the strip shopping center feels a little sketchy, but the food was very good. We ordered several different sushi rolls and were pleased with all of them. This is not a place you go to for the atmosphere, though it's bright and clean. But for good sushi at a reasonable price, we recommend it highly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rik54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    7
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best and Authentic Japanese Food/Sushi”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We went down to Lexington for Keeneland and decided to try Sugano after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and Yelp. It may have been the best sushi we've had in the US. We started out with hot sake and some kitchen items: crunchy fish bones, crunchy prawn heads, grilled shrimp with garlic, seaweed salad, grilled squid, flounder, and tempura. Then we ordered a bunch of sushi and sashimi. Everything was excellent! The waiter was very knowledgeable and good. The sushi chef is very friendly and nice! There were many Japanese family dining in there. It's another confirmation that this is the real deal! We'll definitely be back. One thing that you should know if you want to go: it was a bit tricky to find the place. It's on the strip behind the Shell gas station towards the end. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheStett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Could be the best sushi I've ever had”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

If you want authentic Japanese food in Lexington and don't need ambiance, you must try Sugano. The key is finding it. It is literally hidden in a seedy strip mall off circle road. However, having eating sushi in the pacific and major cities all over the world, I was really impressed. The spicey tuna roll was easlily 2 inches in diameter with a massive dealing of fish. There are also tons of options for the non-sushi crowd and just a treat for those who like sashimi and fresh sushi. If your thing is tons of crazy americanized rolls, this probably isn't the place for you. One tip and one warning. Tip: if you order a large draft of kirin, you get a free side of edamame. Warning: if you don't like wasabi, tell them as their wasabi has some serious heat and is served on many of the sushi orders. All in all, I want this sushi joint to be located here at home. My hubbie and I would most definitely be regulars.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodClanDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very small authentic Japanese restaurant with excellent food”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Sugano is the kind of restaurant you would find in a Japanese city. The building is a bit run down, and it is open only after 5:30. The paper signs and menus are in Japanese with English notes. It is sandwiched between two bars in a run down strip mall. You literally have to hunt for it, but once you find Sugano you will be rewarded by a happy chef who wants to make the best sushi, sashimi, ramen, and other traditional dishes in Kentucky. A private dining area with low tables and seats is popular with regulars. If you want a true Japanese, not an Americanized, dining experience, try Sugano as an adventure. We returned three times in one month.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulSnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Numerous options”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

With a sushi menu as long as I've ever seen, I was delighted that a friend took me to Sugano. One would not give much for it from the outside: I would have thought twice if I was not taken there. This is not at all on any up-and-coming area. It has a relatively small sitting area, but clean. This place seems transplanted straight from Japan, except for the variety of foods it serves. The waiter was courteous and helpful explaining the menu. Oh, the sushi was fresher than one would expect so far from the coast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vini00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugano Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing