We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh and delicious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kobe Stonegrill & Sushi House - CLOSED

Kobe Stonegrill & Sushi House
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I haven't eaten here for several years, but it was still as good as I remembered. The many different sushi rolls -- all invented by customers -- sounded so yummy, we wished we could have tried them all. We settled for the Casey Roll, the Lois Roll, and the Joe Roll -- spicy and so very good. I was delighted to see a Nigori sake on the drinks menu, and the red bean mochi was the perfect finale for an overall delicious meal. I don't know how they manage to produce such fresh-tasting sushi rolls in a land-locked state, but I'll be happy to go back anytime.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Balkansinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    4
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington
Level Contributor
270 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We had a chance to try this restaurant recently and what a pleasant surprise. It was early on a Friday night - not busy as we thought it might be. What was nice was a friendly greeting and an opportunity to be immediately seated. It seemed that other guests were return customers who the server immediately recognized and began conversation. Dinner was amazing. Sushi - crispy rolls were lovely. Followed by chicken and steak served on the hot stones - so good. Our only regret was we only had a short time to eat as this would have been a great place to enjoy longer conversation and more food!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank triotrois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, CA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Sushi, great service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

This was a little gem. I only marked it as average because I have had great sushi. However, this was good and I appreciated the people that work there - I assume they are owners. I'd definitely go there again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LPorterRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Wyoming
Level Contributor
113 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best Japanese Food In Lexington!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Kobe food is amazing, fresh, and authentic. But the best part about Kobe are the owners! Friendly, talented, and Kobe reminds you of your neighborhood bar in that they always remember you! When my oldest daughter moved to Wyoming, one of the top things on her "To-Do" list when she comes to Lexington is to go to Kobe and pig out! We've celebrated a lot of birthdays and other occasions here. My favorite is the Blood-Horse Roll (named for a business where I used to work). When I worked in the area I ate here at least once a week for lunch. Light, tasty, filling, and friendly. And dinner offers the stone grilled selections, too! Don't miss this! Plenty of stuff on the menu for those who don't eat the raw stuff!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlphaMareWy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kobe is always amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I had colleagues in from around the world for a strategic planning meeting and given the dietary restrictions of a couple of them, Sushi was decided on for lunch one day. Having frequented kobe for lunch myself several times I knew it to be very good. A family owned and operated establishment with so many choices for sushi and sashimi Kobe is a great place for lunch for friends, family, or business associates. Very friendly and authentic and I am picky about my sushi.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kobe Stonegrill & Sushi House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing