We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“classic old school kentucky”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Merrick Inn

Merrick Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Merrick Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 892 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: New Circle Road exit 18
Description: For nearly 40 years, the Murray family has owned and operated Merrick Inn, located in the immaculately maintained manor house of Merrick Place; for years, one of the finest thoroughbred farms in the Bluegrass region. Merrick Inn is located on Merrick Court,off Tates Creek Road, just inside New Circle Road at the top of the hill in Merrick Place.Visitors to Merrick Inn enjoy superb signature southern cuisine and innovative American dishes, complemented by unparalleled service. Murrays' pride themselves on being the establishment of choice for those in the thoroughbred industry, area residents and visitors to the Commonwealth of Kentucky. Dinner is served Monday through Saturday at 5:30PM. Enjoy cocktails in our lounge after dinner.As weather permits, enjoy lighter fare and entertainment on weekends on one of the most attractive, comfortable and popular patios in the area.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
160 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“classic old school kentucky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

a great venue for friends or family. terrific old school Kentucky food. some of the best fried chicken around. great friendly service, in a relaxed environment. when it's warm out, the outdoor bar is fun and lively. highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 312jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    118
    27
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
128 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Venue tops food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Friends and business associates consider this as one of the top dining places in Lexington, KY. It is true that this Manor house exudes a certain charm that unfortunately is not matched by the skills in the kitchen. The menu is Main Street USA with many familiar and hardly an original dish but uneven execution. I suspect the heavy use of prepackaged spice mixes and sauces to deliver food that is subpar to chain restaurants doing a better job in presentation. This place lives off its past glory and survives due to a dearth of cozy and good restaurants in Lexington.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Walter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Manager's Meeting Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

A awesome time was had by all 30 people! Great conversation and service! From the time that our group sat down, the servers were on top of everything. The appetizers and the meals were top notch! Would definately come back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cfrimming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“Wonderful Place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Lovely restaurant in Lexington. It's a great, intimate setting. We had a work function there for approximately 20 people, and we could not have had a better event planner, food, venue, atmosphere or service. We had a few different menu options and heard nothing but great reviews from our attendees. The food was amazing. I coordinated everything with Alex, and he was wonderful to work with and met every accommodation we needed, from meeting space, to a projector, etc. I highly recommend it to anyone else for any type of accommodation you need, whether it is family, friends, couples or on business. When I travel back to Lexington, I will most definitely be going back to the Merrick Inn!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amy14424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
“Rehersal Dinner Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We searched long and hard for an adequate venue for our wedding rehearsal dinner. Merrick Inn was on our initial list but we thought it would be way too pricey for our large group. However, we were blown away by how affordable it actually was and how awesome Alex and his team were at customizing our experience and catering to our needs. If you are looking for an amazing venue for your next event, you should seriously consider Merrick Inn—but only if you're looking for perfection!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheBlackfords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merrick Inn also viewed

 

Been to Merrick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing