We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the Merrick Inn”
Review of Merrick Inn

Merrick Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Merrick Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 921 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: New Circle Road exit 18
Description: For nearly 40 years, the Murray family has owned and operated Merrick Inn, located in the immaculately maintained manor house of Merrick Place; for years, one of the finest thoroughbred farms in the Bluegrass region. Merrick Inn is located on Merrick Court,off Tates Creek Road, just inside New Circle Road at the top of the hill in Merrick Place.Visitors to Merrick Inn enjoy superb signature southern cuisine and innovative American dishes, complemented by unparalleled service. Murrays' pride themselves on being the establishment of choice for those in the thoroughbred industry, area residents and visitors to the Commonwealth of Kentucky. Dinner is served Monday through Saturday at 5:30PM. Enjoy cocktails in our lounge after dinner.As weather permits, enjoy lighter fare and entertainment on weekends on one of the most attractive, comfortable and popular patios in the area.
London
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“We loved the Merrick Inn”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a great meal at the Merrick Inn. There is complimentary valet parking.
We liked the way the tables are spread around the different rooms of the old building. It has a real old school feel about it. We phoned ahead to reserve a table on a Friday evening and it was a good job we did as people without were being told to wait 1.5 hours. The cliental told you a lot about the place - mostly local families, by the looks of it.
Our waitress was friendly and attentive and helped us understand some of the unusual local dishes on the menu.
Try the Fried Banana Peppers to start! They Fried Chicken is excellent and the desserts were the last straw. We came away stuffed. Good job we don't live closer, we'd be there all the time!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janeandallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    131
    31
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great food in an interesting setting”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We really enjoyed our meal. multiple smaller dining areas. ours was a little noisey with some people having fun. not a problem for us.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, IA
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“As good as it was 30 years ago!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We had the opportunity to return the the Merrick Inn after a 30 year absence from Lexington. As good as it was back then. Food phenomenal, service attentive. And we were friends who we hadn't seen in years and had lots to catch up on. Despite being VERY busy, they did not rush us

Helpful?
Thank IowaCityMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Menu, Lovely Setting, Good Prices, Server on an off night...”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Sat outside on a lovely fall evening. Had not been to this restaurant in decades and I was pleased with everything (except the service). Nice local menu and great patio seating. From the beginning our waitperson seemed unhappy with her table assignment. Service was slow but eventually she got our meals served. Her facial expressions when we asked for refills on drinks said she would be happy when we left. I put out my hand for the check and she dropped it on the table. Hope she was just having an off night.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tjbss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Such a wonderful venue!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This place, after 20 years, continues to be my favorite in Lexington! The formal dining rooms offer a setting of sophistication and first class dining all the way around from service to valet parking. For a change of pace after a long hard day, the patio or Big Bar are a delight and again, service and food is consistantly perfect.
The grouper fingers, fried banana peppers and calamari are beyond words...The grouper dinner, fried chicken and rib eye steak sandwich or dinner are fantastic. Try the stewed tomatoes, you won't believe what your taste buds convey! AWESOME!!
Finish it off with the strawberry shortcake and a cup of PERFECT decaf and you won't go home dissapointed at all. The mixed drinks are perfect, the beer is chilled.
Try this place for a special event, company or family dinner, or just an evening to relax and enjoy the company of someone you love, or a group of friends.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lexy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merrick Inn also viewed

 

Been to Merrick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing