We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value, Food and Service”

Tachibana Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #179 of 903 Restaurants in Lexington
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
North Tonawanda, NY
Level Contributor
165 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent Value, Food and Service”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We visited Tachibana with local friends who told us it is connected with the nearby Toyota plant in Georgetown, KY, and every effort is made to make visitors at Toyota feel at home. In addition to some of the familiar dishes for Americans (Teriyak, etc) there are noodle dishes with unusual seafood -- choices which probably should be reserved for the most adventurous Americans. We were delighted with the Pork with Ginger dinner, the choice of teas, the delicate Red Bean ice cream desserts. Prices are quite reasonable with full dinners (soup, salad and main dish) in the $13-18 range.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler1037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    30
    12
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
291 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice people-medicore food”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This place was recommended by the Marriott where I stayed. The people were nice but the food was very mediocre. I had chicken teriyaki and the chicken was very dry. Two french fries (really?). Two broccli florets (really?) and two carrott sticks (really?).

I left hungry. Would not recommend this place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Al E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidWest
Level Contributor
119 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“From bad to WORSE”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Visited this location 5 years ago and had a fair experience, but nothing like this past week! Cold, impersonal waite staff; sloppy delivery of soup & salad; when our dinners were prepared there was no show, no flair, no conversation, just wham! bam! there you go eat-and-get-out.

To be fair food tasted good. But when I pay $64 for authentic Japanese I expect pizzaz and an experience, not just a greasy spoon experience. For a romantic getaway--go elsewhere, please!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank naivevictim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcellus, New York
Level Contributor
201 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Terribly slow service, sporadic delivery of food”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I went with a small group on a weekend night when this restaurant was not busy (we walked on and were seated immediately) and yet our food took forever, especially the sushi rolls! And the worst part was that everyone received their meals at different times. When you go as a group, I think it is reasonable to expect to be served that way. The first persons meal arrived at least 15 minutes before the last person was served their food. Terrible service. The worst part was watching other tables near us, who orders after we did, receive their food while members of our party were still waiting for their food. I cannot recommend this establishment unless you don't mind the scenario described above.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GracieCNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
1 review
“Very good but prices really went up!!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Love their noodles but went up from 10 to 15 in less than a month. Sadly, will not order from there again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lourdes O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tachibana Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tachibana Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing