We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheapside Bar & Grill

Cheapside Bar & Grill
Ranked #194 of 885 Restaurants in Lexington
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Cheapside is located in the heart of Downtown Lexington. Three blocks from Rupp Arena facing Cheapside Park & the Fifth Third Pavilion. We have been serving great food and fabulous beverages for over 30 years. Our menu features variety: great burgers, sandwiches, smoked and roasted meats, and a new and growing section of the menu featuring fresh and Modern Mexican cuisine. We feature a large selection of premium tequilas, craft beers and classic cocktails. Cheapside has long been known as a great place for outdoor dining and Happy hour on our famous Patio and the Oasis deck. Also featuring the best in local live entertainment on weekends. Come for a great dinner and stay for the party!
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We sat outside near the patio heaters. The atmosphere is very soothing and laid back. Great selection of drinks. Dave Mathews on the speakers certainly added to the Hakuna Matata. The food is typical pub grub, is priced well and varied enough that everyone should find something to their liking.
At times the wait staff is difficult to find, this does seem to be a recurring issue (I have been here before and read reviews on other sites) but it is so laid back that it doesn't seem like a big problem. But definitely an area for improvement.
I fully recommend you sit outside and not be in a hurry while there. It is such a laid back environment that if you cannot just kick back and watch the world go by, then you should probably find a drive-thru somewhere in the burbs.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank novince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    50
    33
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Why does they need to take so long to serve u? All the rest would have been better then!! I would visit again, but only for a drink at the bar...

Helpful?
2 Thank abri1ore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Okay for a drink, but don't go for the food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We went on a Saturday for lunch around noon after a visit to the farmers market and we were surprised that it wasn't yet busy, even so it took over 10 minutes just to get menus. We sat on the top level, which was very nice and our waitress, Maureen, was also very nice, but drinks and food were very slow to arrive. We were with kids and the menu was not exactly kid-friendly. Everything on the menu sounded really good, but when the food came it was very below average in both quality and presentation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amynielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Summertime Dream-Fantastic Blues and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

A great place to listen to blues on the sidewalk or deck. The bar itself is a bit small and loud but the back area and deck are fantastic. The pork tenderloin was very good. It's in a neat area downtown that has scores of other bars and restaurants many featuring live music. The area felt pretty safe too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ValuTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An average bar with decent entertainment and poor service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a decent meal, and reasonable service skip this one. Maybe alright if you're a student or remembering the good times on campus but skip the glowing glossy ads in the hotel magazines. The food is predictable bar food and the waiter said our wine was slow because they had to go "find the wine in the basement" that we ordered. Really? A bar grade Chardonnay ? If you aren't a smoker and you enjoy patio dining choose a place that doesn't seat you next to a table of smokers and not have alternate seating. 2 other couples left for this reason. It could be fun. The location is nice but nothing like the hype if you are a visitor to Lexington.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carolh352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheapside Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Cheapside Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing