We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Catfish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramsey's Diner

Ramsey's Diner
Ranked #4 of 850 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Catfish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I had the cajun style catfish with mashed potatoes when I went there, and the catfish was seasoned very good. We were in a party of about 15, and other than them loosing our reservation we didn't have any issues with the food or the staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dm1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    190
    52
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best local restaurant in Lexington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Ramsey's is the best local restaurant in Lexington. There are several Ramsey's in different parts of Lexington and each one has excellent service and food. We usually go to the one off Harrodsburg Road where it has a very neighborhood feel. The many sides are delicious and the meals are reasonably priced. I love all 3 types of catfish(regular and Cajun are fried. Blackened is Blackened). The hushpuppies have corn in them and are the best ever. My wife usually gets the veggie plate and has a hard time deciding which 4 to pick. In the summer they have fresh local vegetables.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“pretty good home cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I thought the food was above average. The atmosphere was "fun" but not too loud. The service was above average. Definitely save room for dessert. The pies are the stars of their show!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cvilletrvlrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Hill, Kentucky
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Kentucky Home Cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Fun, casual diner with bar. Wait staff was friendly. Service prompt and food hot and good. Meatloaf - just ok (not like moms), fried corn (just like moms - yummm), green tomatoes (very good) was what I had for lunch. The portions were not huge but were just enough. I enjoyed my visit here - alone and won't mind to come back with my spouse or family and friends.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelmaharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Kentucky country cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Ramsey's Diner has been a Lexington staple for years and I have been going to the High Street location for an age. The restaurant is on the corner in an old building. It is not very handicapped/disabled friendly and, due to the building's "historic" status, does not have to come into code. I have a bit of difficulty navigating the tall stone steps getting into the restaurant and once inside, anyone who is unsteady should beware the uneven floors and steps to everything (including the bathrooms) design! However, once inside and eating, all is forgiven.
Ramsey's is not fancy or fussy. It is furnished with mismatched tables and chairs, the wait staff wear tee-shirts and ties, you help yourself to your silverware which is wrapped in a paper napkin and stuck in a glass on the table, and it does not serve gourmet fare but, if down home rib sticking kind of food is what you are wanting, you can't go wrong with Ramsey's.
Ramsey's has the Meat and Three offering for lunch and dinner. You choose an entrée from among such choices as: meatloaf, chicken fried steak, pork chops, catfish (several different ways) pot roast, or chicken served with three sides of your choice. The side dishes include: fried green tomatoes, sautéed spinach, mashed or baked potato, Cole slaw, fried okra, kale greens, pinto beans, and so on. They also offer several sandwiches and salads as well as breakfast items. For vegetarians like myself they offer a Veggie Plate (four choices and they indicate which vegetables have been cooked without meat products on the menu) or my favorite, the Vegetarian Hot Brown. Instead of the traditional hot brown's turkey, ham, and bacon, the veggie version layers grilled zucchini on toast with mushrooms and asparagus covered with a parmesan cream sauce, then covered with cheese and broiled. I always say "yes" to the optional addition of banana peppers - delicious! My carnivore husband typically alternates between the Chicken and Dumplings or the Meatloaf, usually accompanied by a bowl of pinto beans that he crumbles the ever present cornbread pones into.
Missy's Pies, right next door to the High Street location, provides the absolutely delicious desserts for all the Ramsey's locations. There is the standard selection of chocolate, peanut butter, cocoanut, Mayday (Derby), apple and so on and so forth pies as well as the day's featured pie. You definitely want to save room for dessert. One of the advantages of the High Street location is that you can visit Missy's to preview the pie options and also order a slice(s) or a whole pie to go home with you.
Service tends to be efficient if busy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ramsey's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Ramsey's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing