We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great lunch in Lexington”
Review of DeSha's American Tavern - CLOSED

DeSha's American Tavern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: THIS LOCATION IS CLOSED. Located in Downtown Lexington across from Rupp Arena, deSha's is known for savory American entrees and warm hospitality. We have an extensive offering of beer, wine, scotch, craft cocktails and specialize in top-barrel bourbons that can be enjoyed in our dining room or The Horse & Barrel bar. It's a great place to dine, drink and gather.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
1,182 reviews
956 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Another great lunch in Lexington”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stopped here on our way to Ohio, since we always have great food and service, plus it is easy to get to and from the highway. We were not disappointed. The fried green tomatoes are outstanding and cocktails were delicious. My husband loved his chicken pot pie and my barbecued pork sandwich was smoky and tasty. Service was great. Another good stop.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank librarian73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at DeSha's American Tavern, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks for the review. Glad we can be a great destination on your way to Ohio and enjoyed your fried green tomatoes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    62
    35
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, Md.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mediocre food, good service”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Hilton staff recommended the place. I wanted to try a "hot brown," we went. The hot browns were just OK, though complimentary corn bread was delicious...Also enjoyed the Bourbon Ale, which arrived in a special glass. Burger served "raw" and fish and chips were nothing to rave about. Decent atmosphere..

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JGal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel K, General Manager at DeSha's American Tavern, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for the review!! Glad you enjoyed the delicious corn bread and Kentucky Bourbon Ale, one of my favorites! Sorry to hear that the burger and fish and chips were nothing to rave about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hot Brown”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband had never had a Hot Brown and I read a good review of DeSha's. We both ordered one and they were well worth every calorie. We cleaned our plates. I can't say how any other food was but if you're looking for a great Hot Brown, this is the place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at DeSha's American Tavern, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks for the great review! You have so many great things to say! I am glad you enjoy, hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
111 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“9 servings and a winner each time”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Our party of 3 ate at deSha's 3 times and can't say enough about the food and the service. First, the staff; everyone was pleasant and enthused about deSha's offerings. The corn bread is exquisite; moist and flavorful with a composition that includes sour cream and creamed kernel corn. The jambalya was piquantly spiced with Andouille sausage which often doesn't appear in Louisiana restaurants that frequently use a Polish sausage. The shrimp and grits had an another delishly piquant remoulade sauce. The pulled pork was juicy and well sauced. The steaks were tender and juicy And the buttermilk fried chicken is worth a journey. As to decor, it's a bar/restaurant; casual and nicely outfitted to carry out an earlier Lexington look.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The3ofus60614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at DeSha's American Tavern, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks for the great review! Thank you for recognizing our staff and food dishes. You describe the food so well! Thanks!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Close, Comfortable, Courteous”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I went because it was within walking distance. Often, the close place stake advantage of you being trapped. I was pleasantly surprised. Good atmosphere, good food, good service. Definitely give this place a chance.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mjr469p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at DeSha's American Tavern, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks for the review! Glad we were a pleasant surprise and I hope you come back to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DeSha's American Tavern also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing