We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to The Sites”
Review of DeSha's American Tavern - CLOSED

DeSha's American Tavern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: THIS LOCATION IS CLOSED. Located in Downtown Lexington across from Rupp Arena, deSha's is known for savory American entrees and warm hospitality. We have an extensive offering of beer, wine, scotch, craft cocktails and specialize in top-barrel bourbons that can be enjoyed in our dining room or The Horse & Barrel bar. It's a great place to dine, drink and gather.
South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
485 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Close to The Sites”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I'm new in town and had heard god things about Desha's from a co-worker. We were making a weekend of doing "touristy" things. It's a close in option to things like the Mary Todd Lincoln House, Altech Brewery & Distillery, and the Lexington Cemetery. Though downtown, the parking is easy in the ramp across the street with a validated stamp on the parking ticket. Paul was a terrific server, attentive and friendly and gave us some help in finding our next destination. Food was very good as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gblack7205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at DeSha's American Tavern, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for the review and glad Paul was able to be so helpful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    62
    35
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“We stop in every time we are in Lexington”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have been traveling to Lexington for many years for UK ballgames and every time we make a point to eat here... it is one of our favorites! At times it can be extremely busy but we have always had great service and love the food. Last time I was on a restricted diet and they were very accommodating. We love the all American burger, Shrimp & Grits and Hot Brown!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 563ew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at DeSha's American Tavern, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for the great review! Glad to hear you have received great service and love our food!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A+++, we were very pleased, and enjoyed a great meal and service”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our friends had eaten here before and suggested we go for dinner. We read a few reviews and were a bit concerned but we went along (Aug 2013). We were COMPLETELY satisfied, our servers were efficient and attentive, the meals we had were fantastic, and generous. We're not sure if other reviewers were having a bad day, but trust me, this place was GREAT. We talked with other friends in our group and they were eating there more than once over a few days.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dpb61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel K, General Manager at DeSha's American Tavern, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Glad to hear you had such a good experience and were completely satisfied! Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We made a pit stop in Lexington on our way home from Nashville and decided to give this place a try for lunch. Everyone enjoyed their meal. The fish and chips and coconut chicken were highlights.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jpk05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel K, General Manager at DeSha's American Tavern, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“American Cuisine in an Irish Pub”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

American food with Irish bar in bourbon country. Menu is all american..good selection at reasonable prices. Bar prices are higher than the Bigg Blue Martini in the Hilton. Relocating/closing in December....lost their lease to new building owner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erik57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DeSha's American Tavern also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing