We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch spot”

Shakespeare and Co.
Ranked #39 of 930 Restaurants in Lexington
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed May 20, 2013

So, we arrived at the restaurant along with many other people who had just come out of a meeting at the convention center. We watched it go from empty to every seat full in15 minutes, and we knew that we needed to prepare to be patient- no restaurant can deal with that kind of a rush with no waiting. And wait we did....a very long time. But our waitress ( who turned out to be a bar tender pressed into service) kept our iced teas filled ( and the mango iced tea is great), gave us updates regularly, etc. and the food when it came was good. The three salads we had- spicy chicken, Mediterranean, and arugula with salmon, were all super. The club sandwich was ok but not loved. Would love to come back and try some of the other dishes, and just enjoy the atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kate3717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Manager at Shakespeare and Co., responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Kate,

When conventions are in town, we try hard to provide fast and good service. As you stated in your review, we can go from empty to full in a matter of minutes. Your understanding of the problems that this can cause a restaurant is appreciated. We are excited that you took the time to review our restaurant and that we were able to provide you with an enjoyable lunch.

Please visit us again, on your return to Lexington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
There are newer reviews for Shakespeare and Co.
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

540 - 544 of 621 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I have been there in the middle of the day. Fast service. Nice interior good atmosfere average food. I would recomend it for quick cnsumption in downtown of Lexington KY.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mariusz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Manager at Shakespeare and Co., responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Mariusz,

Thank you for the recent review. We are sorry to hear that the food you had was only average. Please visit us again and ask the server for their recommendations. The servers have tried everything on our large menu and maybe able to help on the selection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Visited with my family, and all three of us bad great meals. My daughter had barbeque chicken pizza, my wife had very tender and tasty short ribs while I had delicious roast chicken with mushroom gravy. The service was good, and the Victorian ambiance was delightful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Manager at Shakespeare and Co., responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Alan,

Thanks for dining with us, and also reviewing our restaurant on your visit to Lexington. The food your family ordered are my personal favorites, especially the short ribs. Please visit us again on your return to Lexington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Wasn't quite sure what to expect and didn't expect what I saw but I have to say while the decor is quirky the food is delicious and the service was fantastic!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kristy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Manager at Shakespeare and Co., responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Loveslife,

We are glad that we were able to provide you with good food and good service on your visit to Shakespeare. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Lexington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This restaurant has a nice menu selection, but the service could have been a little better. I had to get my server's attention a couple times for another drink and the food was ok. They are still a new place located in downtown. This visit was much better than our last visit actually. I believe they are working hard to make the restaurant well known for great service and food each day they are open. They do have a bar that converts to patio somewhat, along with a patio along the side of the building. There is nothing like a patio in the spring and summer seasons.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Manager at Shakespeare and Co., responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Debbie,

Thanks for your recent review. We are sorry to here that we did not provide good service on your visit. We have started new training programs for all our servers in order to provide the service we expect and also the service our guest should expect. Please on your next visit, let our managers know if the service has improved. The only way we can get better is from the feedback we get from our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shakespeare and Co. also viewed

 

Been to Shakespeare and Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing